Six Dgl backs plus Durkin to decide Donegal fate

Tomsmith here

In the battle of the giants I feel that Kieran Donaghey. s contribution will decide where the Sam Maguire cup will stay for the next year. The high fielding Donaghey verses Neil or Eamon Mc Gee will be the Highlight of the All Ireland. I feel that James o Donohoe will tear Donegal apart after he is fed knock downs and off loads from Donaghey

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3858 - 16/09/2014 10:30:19    1652536

Which set of 6 backs are you referring to!?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 16/09/2014 10:43:45    1652547

Three words to lighten the heart of every HS Regular for years at this stage

"Tom Smith here" ............

a boy Tom !

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 16/09/2014 10:56:08    1652555

He wont tear Donegal apart because there will be 13 Donegal players surrounding the man everytime he gets a touch

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 16/09/2014 11:01:04    1652560

We better stay at Home this Sunday then........

How do you think Kerry will handle murphy as he will be stationed close to goal for most of this game....... the Kerry full back line struggled to handle a couple of high balls against mayo then their well be mayhem in their come Sunday

ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 16/09/2014 11:06:00    1652562

16/09/2014 10:30:19
tomsmith

1652536 . Tomsmith here
In the battle of the giants I feel that Kieran Donaghey. s contribution will decide where the Sam Maguire cup will stay for the next year. The high fielding Donaghey verses Neil or Eamon Mc Gee will be the Highlight of the All Ireland. I feel that James o Donohoe will tear Donegal apart after he is fed knock downs and off loads from Donaghey

I think we all know your here tom :)

HandyMoran (Roscommon) - Posts: 327 - 16/09/2014 11:18:19    1652569

tom I tend to differ greatly from what you think. I don't even think Donaghy will start or if he does he wont be on the square all day. If Kerry do that then I feel they will be beaten and beaten easily in all but the score board.

Do you think He would have caught that ball in the first mayo match if that had been Eamon McGee beside him. The answer is no. It would have been punched away from goals and then the shield would be up. Obviously Star did score a goal in 2012 but that when Donegal were well on top and came somewhat against the run of play.

I actually think Kerry will look to the old guard to compete this All Ireland. I see Declan o Sullivan as Kerrys top scorer. Now he is a player Id be worried about. JOD is a great player but I don't think he will be allowed anytime on the ball. He will have been analysed to death and is there a better man than Neil McGee to stand up to that task.

Midfield will be interesting. I actually see Kavanagh going up against Moran. Whichever team wins this area will most likely win the game.

I am confident that Donegal will win but I don't think it will be an open game of football. I think Donegal will hold Kerry goalless and will score 1 themselves (money on McLoone).

In saying all that I don't understand how Donegal are favourites for this game. This is Kerry we are talking about. I think it should be a very even game where a goal against the run of play, a mistake or a red card (hopefully neither of these) could have a massive impact.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 16/09/2014 11:33:26    1652580

It is Donegal's forwards that'll decide the game. If they're on form and clinical then Kerry could have Micky Sheehy, Pat Spillane, Gooch and Mo Fitz in their forwards and it wouldn't save them imo.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 16/09/2014 11:39:23    1652581

Donegal don't play with six backs. If they did the McGees would be roasted by O Donaghue. Donaghy won't start as he would be meat and drink for Neil McGee. The McGees are vulnerable to speedy forwards. It will be all about O Donaghue for Kerrys attack and Donaghy in for the last hurrah.

Kerry will also flood their defence but they will be in serious trouble under the highball as they have no fullback. Mayo exploited this in the semi. Watch for Donegal repeating the tactics of the 2012 final.

tirawleybaron (Mayo) - Posts: 1109 - 16/09/2014 12:19:42    1652607

Disagree mesamis. Armagh didn't have those lads up front, and they nearly beat them. Kerry play a very cagey game themselves these days, people seem to be forgetting that. Over-committing too many bodies forward when they aren't needed isn't something that Kerry prescribe to, and there wasn't a time over the entire 2 games against mayo that they didn't have the area around no.6 blocked up like a dam. This will be a very different game to the semi v Dublin.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 16/09/2014 12:19:44    1652608

Mesamis did say if the Donegal forwards are clinical. We kicked 15 wides against Armagh, that wont be good enough against Kerry.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 16/09/2014 12:43:55    1652628

I think Dublin showed how to beat Donegal in semi-final, the only pity for them was that they didn't learn from themselves.
paul Flynn and Dermuid Connolly showed that kicking points from distance was the way to beat Donegal and dublin actually had the men to do it. however they got nervous when Donegal got the goals and started to work the ball in closer which was meat and drink to Donegal.
coupled with the fact that Dublin (cluxton and B. Brogan in particular) missed scorable frees that they would normally put over.
If they were winning the game (or believed that they would win the game) those frees would have been scored. Now I think Bryan Shehan could be crucial to Kerry in this regard, Johnny Buckley and David Moran are hit and miss from distance-frees. O' Donoghue and P. Guiney only seem to take the close in ones so unless Sheehan is playing Donegal will have no qualms about fouling around the 45-50m mark. If Sheehan does play then Donegal will have to be more careful. Sheehan hasn't been fit all year. I wonder will he be ready.
also darran O' sullivan, what is wrong with him, he would be someone who would have the low centre of gravity and speed to run at the donegal defence and draw a few fouls. Is he fit ?

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 16/09/2014 13:12:37    1652639

IF they are clinical then I don't see Kerry getting the requisite scores to win the match against that mean Donegal defence.

I agree though that Kerry won't afford them the space that the Dubs did.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 16/09/2014 13:31:23    1652645

I wouldnt be surprised to see Lacey given a man marking job on JOD, its a tactic we have used before, he may have lost that wee bit of pace needed tho.

joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 217 - 16/09/2014 13:38:07    1652650

joeteor

I wouldnt be surprised to see Lacey given a man marking job on JOD, its a tactic we have used before, he may have lost that wee bit of pace needed tho.

I wouldn't think so. Mayo had their best man-marker on him and he still managed to engineer 2 penalties for himself and also a few scoreable frees along with 4 points from play (in the replay).
so I would imagine it will be a collective effort.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 16/09/2014 13:53:30    1652666

benjyyy

Mesamis did say if the Donegal forwards are clinical. We kicked 15 wides against Armagh, that wont be good enough against Kerry.

Our shooting against Armagh was indeed very poor but our scoring percentage of nearly 70% against Dublin was superb.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 16/09/2014 14:04:01    1652670

I wouldn't think so. Mayo had their best man-marker on him and he still managed to engineer 2 penalties for himself and also a few scoreable frees along with 4 points from play (in the replay).
so I would imagine it will be a collective effort.

Oh yeah, he wouldnt be left to cover him alone, but given the primary task with the rest giving support as is customary for us.

joeteor (Donegal) - Posts: 217 - 16/09/2014 14:11:40    1652671

Id wager the mortgage it will be one of two on JOD, Neil McGee or Paddy McGrath and the other on Geaney...

beidhmeanseo (Donegal) - Posts: 137 - 16/09/2014 14:17:21    1652674

Without a shadow of doubt in my mind it will be Neil on JOD. Neil has the strength to repel him when he puts the head down and tries to burrow past you. He wont give the lad a seconds peace.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 16/09/2014 16:43:07    1652772

Tomsmith here

I do not agree that Geany or James o Donoghue are the big treats alone.
I am of the opinion that Ciaran Donoghue will tear the Mc Gees apart that is he gets s fair play from his marker and from the referee. In the past Referees tended to favour Donegal ( remember that tackle on the Kildare player 2012 should have been a penalty against DGL). Refs tend to favour any team that is up against Kerry. I know that for a fact when we played them in Gaelic Park in the 1947 all Ireland (which we won ) a opinion was floated around that that Ref favoured Cavan.

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3858 - 16/09/2014 17:59:19    1652810