Should they ban training camps?

I was reading in one of the national papers last night about the Donegal players and their training camps. The thing I was shocked at was that a lot of lads had to use holiday days from their job in order to be able to make these camps. I thought this was too much to expect of an inter county footballer. I know they have an all Ireland medal to show for it and might add another one this year so many will say it's worth it. But at what point do you draw the line with the expectations that are put on an inter county footballer? If I was somebody who had to give a week of my own holiday time to go and train I would want the Donegal GAA to compensate me that week's wages on top of what my work were paying me in holiday pay. This doesn't just apply to Donegal I feel this way about GAA teams across the board playing both codes. I'd view this as something that would have a negative impact on the lives of the players and sometimes it may even cause family disputes. I just think it is too much for any amateur organisation to expect of it's players. Anyone agree/disagree?

meathfan1 (Meath) - Posts: 229 - 11/09/2014 14:14:47    1650960

11/09/2014 14:14:47 meathfan1
I was reading in one of the national papers last night about the Donegal players and their training camps. The thing I was shocked at was that a lot of lads had to use holiday days from their job in order to be able to make these camps. I thought this was too much to expect of an inter county footballer. I know they have an all Ireland medal to show for it and might add another one this year so many will say it's worth it. But at what point do you draw the line with the expectations that are put on an inter county footballer? If I was somebody who had to give a week of my own holiday time to go and train I would want the Donegal GAA to compensate me that week's wages on top of what my work were paying me in holiday pay. This doesn't just apply to Donegal I feel this way about GAA teams across the board playing both codes. I'd view this as something that would have a negative impact on the lives of the players and sometimes it may even cause family disputes. I just think it is too much for any amateur organisation to expect of it's players. Anyone agree/disagree?
Is it really too much to expect off the players?
The players don't have to go to the camps if their work wouldn't let them. Does it really have a negative impact on players lives? If they were then surely players would have stepped up and complained to the media etc about poor treatment etc

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 11/09/2014 14:44:05    1650972

I wholeheartedly agree.
In fact why not take it a step further
• Players shouldn't have to wear short pants if the temperature is below 15 degrees
• They should abolish the traditional steak and pint of milk after training - in case any players have strong vegan sympathies
• The Celtic cross should be abolished as it may offend non-Christians
• All training from now on should be via Skype so that the players don't have to travel in their own time.

ruanua (Donegal) - Posts: 4966 - 11/09/2014 14:45:14    1650973

nothing wrong with a training camp if players want to do it..stop trying to ban everything

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 11/09/2014 14:54:43    1650978

I'd imagine it would be impossible to regulate. To be fair I'd say a week away with the lads appeals to a lot of players.

JP91 (Armagh) - Posts: 316 - 11/09/2014 15:29:32    1650987

Ban says ban everything - then there's no problems at all, close the forum. Take up knitting

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 11/09/2014 15:37:42    1650991

I read a very interesting column in the independent yesterday about Cavans camp in the 1950s. It was 6 days long, and was full on. So if it was going on back then, surly there is nothing wrong with it now? or both were wrong? in which case there was no such thing as the glory days of honest amateur endeavor.

If the players are willing to do it, which in our case you can be certain of, then what is wrong with it? There is a will to win, and the pressure is massive to do this too, it is exactly what it takes. I dont think anyone remembers the training camps in cavan, when you mention their glory days, but it did go on back then. I think that if a player is willing to sacrifice holidays over the camp then it is probably worth it.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 11/09/2014 15:43:40    1650995

Players know what they are signing up to at the start of a season and if that commitment isn't there then they have no reason to stay on the panel.

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 11/09/2014 16:33:32    1651023

Its up to a county how they prepare and if that means going to a camp then so be it. At this stage 13 days to go to a final every fine detail matters in trying to gain an edge.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11231 - 11/09/2014 16:43:56    1651027

Other than their partners, family and friends football is the love of these young men's lives. They don't look upon it as a chore to take holidays from work to go to training camp with their team mates. A lot of hard work but some craic and banter too, something they'd look forward to.

I'm sure a lot of supporters have taken work holidays to go to matches. I've taken a few and taken a bit of grief from her indoors to go to games. Walking around with herself and our 4 year old looking at 'interesting monuments' or getting hoarse shouting at the Green and Red? No contest.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 11/09/2014 16:53:22    1651032

Other than their partners, family and friends football is the love of these young men's lives. They don't look upon it as a chore to take holidays from work to go to training camp with their team mates. A lot of hard work but some craic and banter too, something they'd look forward to.

I'm sure a lot of supporters have taken work holidays to go to matches. I've taken a few and taken a bit of grief from her indoors to go to games. Walking around with herself and our 4 year old looking at 'interesting monuments' or getting hoarse shouting at the Green and Red? No contest.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7345 - 11/09/2014 16:57:55    1651036

A lot of people up and down the country spend a lot of their leave at the GAA and do so without the prospect of great glory, it's simply what they do and do freely. Wasn't collective training banned back in the late 20's early 30's? because of Kerry and their get togethers?

lillyboy (Kildare) - Posts: 429 - 11/09/2014 17:01:37    1651039

id crawl across hot coal to play/win an all Ireland , spending a week in lough Erne would be no problem !

HurlerOnTheFenc (Mayo) - Posts: 282 - 11/09/2014 17:17:12    1651048

I have nothing against training camps. Our hurlers have been to a variety of places such as Fota Island and Castlemartyr resort for two day work outs. Thankfully most of the lads either live in East Cork or town so they have no probs heading home in the evening. More difficult to get 'em home from La Manga. We went there too but you won't build too many 60,000 white elephants if your start paying for that nonsense. It is an amateur organisation you see...yaddy ya..

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 11/09/2014 17:19:50    1651052