Tipp want a bigger piece of the pie

Funny is it not how counties don't get the point of the GAA. So basically Tip should get more revenue because they bring in more revenue.
So does that mean counties like Carlow, Wicklow etc.. should get less and forever be stuck in bargain basement?
Seriously if we go by the ethos of the GAA its the little guys who should be getting the bigger slice. The likes of the teams mentioned and others are at a huge disadvantage and are the ones who need help most.
The Dublin fans have been crowing on about this a lot in recent years too and now Tip are jumping on the band wagon.

Nick (Wexford) - Posts: 1100 - 10/09/2014 09:57:12    1650426

And yes there is a financial burden but 50K?

Nick (Wexford) - Posts: 1100 - 10/09/2014 09:58:59    1650427

Nick our county board had serious financial difficulty 2 years ago after funding the preparation of a team for three all-Ireland finals in a row followed by a semi final appearance. The only good thing to come out of our early exit last year is it gave us a chance to sort out our out big financial deficit.

Its cost at least 1.2m to fund a tilt at an all-Ireland so an extra 50k to fund a three week extension of our season is peanuts. Clare and Cork got a dig out last year and I'm sure it was the same for Kilkenny and Glaway two years ago.

You should get your facts right before making wild statements. Should our county board go broke in the middle of a recession so you can have 2 hours amusement on a Saturday night at the end of September.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 10/09/2014 10:15:32    1650440

Good post Killarney.87

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 10/09/2014 13:33:07    1650562

These are debates which are becoming quite common, finances were always a big thing but nowadays they are becoming thee big thing. I have no problem with teams in an All Ireland replay getting looked after but again it's the overall payment and grant structure in the GAA that needs looking at, counties that aspire to be like Tipp and Kilkenny need money to help their cause but they frequently have to fight for the crumbs off the big boys table so I can understand certain angst over what Tipp want. Tipp are a big county with big support, they must have outnumbered the Cats 3 to 1 last Sunday, and I'm sure their debt could be reduced significantly by some innovative fundraising initiatives especially if they take Liam away with them, which as half a cat I hope they don't.

Richieq (Meath) - Posts: 3734 - 10/09/2014 13:45:16    1650576

The Green Eyed Monster roars loudly in Wexford

Burnsey (Down) - Posts: 561 - 10/09/2014 13:48:48    1650577

There are actually quite a few schemes in Tipperary designed at raising funds for the county training teams outside of the normal Skoda sponsorship and whatever other sponsors attribute to the county cause.This was decided end of 2012 in respect of County AGM proposals.

However you cant really expect the public to make up the difference within your own county a lot of Tipperary people are in the county draw 100 euro per year or even 200 in my case as involved with club as well. While we are still in a recession its hard to come up with that money with all the taxes and day to day spending we do.

This brings back the debate should finals be decided on the day to avoid all this un-necessary twoing and frowing. The GAA HQ want to make as much as money as possible and give back very little in return. I'm delighted Tipp Co Board have asked for this as for too long we have been quite in the boardroom and not asking for what we should be entitled to.

Tipp were in serious debt at the end of 2012 and even at the county board AGM that December it was highlighted as a serious issue. 2013 was a blessing in disguise that no Tipp team made it out of Munster bar the Minor Footballers that costs so much associated with training and travel into Late July , August & September were a burden off the county board. There was even a rise somewhat in the club championship attendances as people would not be going to Croker 2 or 3 times so some serious money was saved.

In my opinion if you don't ask you don't get. GAA don't do donations. As I said before we are an amateur organisation but being run in a professional or commercial way.

I'm sure any other county would ask for the same if the finances are not in the black. This is not about smaller counties v bigger counties its about the cost of training a team for an extra 3 weeks to be properly prepared for a replay. If the GAA was to turn professional you wouldn't have this crack as county boards would be able to commercially raise funds and be viable.You could get some of the Arab's into GAA!!!!Imagine!!

WildPundit (Tipperary) - Posts: 1709 - 10/09/2014 14:25:59    1650610

Thanks Way

good post by Richie too that builds on my one and addresses Nick's point about overall funding.

We had a night at the dogs in Thurles Greyhound stadium on Saturday to help raise funds. It would be difficult to ask fans to dig deep into the pockets against especially when they have all the costs associated with attending the replay.

This money bags impression of Tipp is a myth. We have a good supporters club that will bring in about 100k a year. Skoda deal is probably is worth 200k a year. So the county board is left with about a million to come up with each year we make a final. On a bad year you are still talking about at least 500k.

With the footballers improving the tab for the county board seems to be getting bigger and bigger.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 10/09/2014 17:38:56    1650693

Apologies that should have read thanks waynoI.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 10/09/2014 18:10:30    1650706

This is a difficult topic.

First of all nobody wants to see an amateur organisation going broke-not Tipperary, Offaly, Kildare, Mayo or anybody else.

I guess the GAA is 'shamateur' rather than amateur. It costs tip €1.2 million to organise their team. They prepare for games. They have played 14 games this year between league and championship. That is €86,000 per game approx.

I am simplifying here an awful lot. I realise that. My point is, are we spending too much as an organisation on intercounty teams.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 10/09/2014 20:39:04    1650757

Has anyone in the country played as many matches as Tipp between Hurling and football this season? I seriously doubt it. Our county championships are massively held up. There are huge costs involved in running county teams these days- training gear, equipment, sliothars, footballs, hurleys, transport for games, accomodation for games, expenses for players (30+ x 2) and coaches it all adds up and it has been a long year.

Let's face it, Tipp don't seem to have done anything too extravagant with that 1.2 mill either. The lads on the Mayo forum believe Horan nearly walked in 2012 and 13 over finances, so Mayo with their big outlay seem to be restricted compared with even Donegal who can afford two 5 night training camps who in turn are jealous of Dublin's funding. As for Kilkenny... must be nice having only 1 team to worry about

On the flip side I share the opening posters concerns regarding smaller counties being left behind financially. I agree with Andy Kettle from Dublin that money ought to be spent bringing weaker counties up to speed, allowing their players compete on an even footing with everyone else, but he's not willing to let Dublin suffer for that so why should another big dual county like Tipp suffer?

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 10/09/2014 21:27:11    1650780

Think ye are well entitled to it to be honest.

All Ireland final - 82,000 at (50,000*80 = 4mill) + (22000*40 = 900000)
Total = 4.9 mill direct revenue. And this before you talk about Sky, Corporate boxes etc.

So even though ticket prices are reduced somewhat seeing as going to a replay now asking for 50K out of that pot is a pittance really.

MaigheoAbu (Mayo) - Posts: 343 - 11/09/2014 09:22:26    1650812

Fair play Maigheo Abu, some other posters here can't seem to see the bigger picture and just want to make fuss where there is none. I'd love to see them running an inter-county team or county board. It would be easier run a small business.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 11/09/2014 20:01:57    1651105

Killarney.87
County: Tipperary

1651105 Fair play Maigheo Abu, some other posters here can't seem to see the bigger picture and just want to make fuss where there is none. I'd love to see them running an inter-county team or county board. It would be easier run a small business.

To be compettitive now requires serious money, everyone is getting paid bar the footballers or hurlers, money can be spent pretty quickly.
Tipp are a dual county so its going to go quicker.
Dublin have the senior team in football and hurling , the u21s and the minor team getting to finals in recent years in football , we also had minor hurlers reaching the final . Senior hurlers in semifinals twice. Thats a lot of money being spent on keeping teams going, just day to day.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 11/09/2014 20:32:45    1651118

Tipp and Kilkenny,should be well compensated,for providing such entertainment.If it was me id give each of the panel a 5000e holiday voucher.Also give the county boards a nice few bob.Afterall,they are bringing huge money into the GAAs coffers.

cuederocket (Dublin) - Posts: 5084 - 11/09/2014 20:53:48    1651129

Agreed Athcliath. Any physio or external help is going to cost a small fortune because your are not going to let some bone cruncher or horse doctor anyway near your players, especially of
They are carrying a knock.

Travel expenses are huge. For Tipp Eamon O'Shea and Gary Ryan and commuting from Galway to Thurles for any training sessions. James Barry is coming from Cork. That's only three of the set up. I've no idea about the rest. Hiring buses for matches, food for team and management and accommodation all adds up.

Tipp will drop at least 3k a night for accommodation on the weekend of the replay ( 100 x 30)

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 11/09/2014 20:56:24    1651134

http://m.tipperarystar.ie/news/your-community/letters/expenditure-on-hurling-team-training-1-3706583

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 11/09/2014 20:59:51    1651137

Everyone is entitled to their opinion and I usually don't get upset with views contrary to mine. But I have to say this begrudgery over a badly needed 50k has really got under my skin.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 11/09/2014 21:02:12    1651140

Killarney.87
County: Tipperary

1651140 Everyone is entitled to their opinion and I usually don't get upset with views contrary to mine. But I have to say this begrudgery over a badly needed 50k has really got under my skin.

Hahha, try being a Dub. At least 5 threads every other day being put up about us, usually begrudary and negative. Though in fairness usually 3 of those are put up by our own lads ;)

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 11/09/2014 21:25:25    1651165

AthCliath it's easy to imagine cos we are the Dublin of hurling. Kilkenny are the Kerry of hurling and Cork are eh well the Cork of hurling ;)

I usually pay no heed to them but it must have been the straw that broke the camel's back. After such an outrageously good final we are taken to task about such items.

Killarney.87 (Tipperary) - Posts: 2513 - 11/09/2014 21:33:29    1651178