Lay off the Dubs

I'm on the way home from one of the best days of my life.

A magnificent performance and a magnificent tactical performance, especially after a start when Dublin looked every inch of the best team I've ever witnessed. I kept saying "look, that was a great score but we have to be happy they are shooting from there" but score after score came and it started to look very ominous! When Durcan made that save and we managed to tag on a couple of scores and then the goal came it really was game on.

Our typical 3rd quarter blitz was successful again and the rest was history. As nervous as I remained for the rest of the game the writing was probably on the wall with the way we shut up shop. We were never going to give up a 7 point lead.

But above all, I'd just like to applaud the Dubs. I'm a very vocal supporter and the blood was up at times, especially in the first half. I had a couple of heated rows with Dubs around me but they all came to me at the end of the game and shook hands; it's almost overwhelming when you see people as magnanimous as that.

I'll weigh in with plenty of posts over the next few days once I sit down to watch it all on TV but I have to say, a player who I have previously said hadn't overly impressed me before - I've changed my opinion after today. Paul Flynn was absolutely magnificent and I take it all back. What a player.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 31/08/2014 18:57:27    1645440

It's the 3rd quarter blitz which quite rightly has ye as the clear favourites as well. I don't think there will be many qualms about that. Awesome performance by ye're crowd today.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7829 - 31/08/2014 19:06:41    1645463

Legend everyone in Kerry will make Kerry favourites. Ye can praise Donegal all ye want but Kerry don't rate Donegal and don't even think they play football the "proper way" i.e. the Kerry way - just wait for Weshie on Radio Kerry tomorrow...

county man (Limerick) - Posts: 1102 - 31/08/2014 19:19:48    1645480

Ah county man come off it. Donegal were awesome in the '12 final. '11 was understandable for what JMcG was building. Donegal were equally as awesome this afternoon.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7829 - 31/08/2014 19:24:10    1645487

well said county man, expect a whole heap of patronising comments coming from the kingdom, my cute hoorismometer will be off the scale by the 21st September. But they have no real respect for Donegal football, not deep down if they were honest.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 31/08/2014 19:28:02    1645494

Patronising comments will probably come from the other direction more being to the point. Sure we've all said all year that the team beating the capital will win the All-Ireland. That has not changed.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7829 - 31/08/2014 19:47:47    1645510

Donegal are favourites, no doubt about it. Kerry have already pulled off an incredible achievement in making the final with a team in transition. They aren't at their full potential yet, and are in bonus territory.

Treaty_Exile (Limerick) - Posts: 386 - 31/08/2014 20:02:44    1645522

Saw only about 10 mins of the match in Heuston on the way back from Limerick. Hope I can negotiate her indoors off the X Factor in time for the game!

Dubs in here posting big-ups in their magnificent team were just in high spirits and proud of their county as the rest of us are proud of our own. Fair play to Donegal. It'll be some final. 2 counties from tge Atlantic seaboard, devastated by emigration. Life's to short to be getting in rows online over football while some have real difficulties to face.

I have the best of time for Dublin GAA people. They'll head out tonight with their hearts low and their heads held high just as we did in Limerick last night. Anyone using todays result to gloat is being childish and unsportsmanslike in my opinion.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7337 - 31/08/2014 20:11:38    1645533

Sure everyone know that Kerry play the purist, most beautiful in the land!

mightymeath1 (None) - Posts: 50 - 31/08/2014 20:13:18    1645534

Kerry 7/4 to win it, I'm sure there'll be plenty of takers in the Kingdom!!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8586 - 31/08/2014 20:44:51    1645564

Well mightymeath1, Kerry have been involved in three classic semi-finals in the space of one calendar year. It's a positive reflection on the Kerry way in some respects. The Kerry way was not sufficient to match a Donegal team in '12 that had our measure. All counties have their championship ended at some stage unless they go on and win it. After being 5 points down last week and with the Mayo keeper lining up a free to win yesterday, it's very much great to be still in the championship.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7829 - 31/08/2014 21:19:02    1645620

Lay off the Dubs!

Jezus we love a looser! Not too much sympathy from the general public before this afternoon. I for one have enjoyed and will enjoy every moment these lads take the field. Great bunch, so difficult to retain an All-Ireland in this day and age. Just shows how great that Kerry team were.

As for Donegal - magnificent is the only word. I cant wait for the final. The only decent games this year happened when Div 1 teams met Div 1. Sad it takes so long for our primary competition to take so long to take off. Wouldn't it be great to see competitive games every week during the summer!

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 31/08/2014 21:26:55    1645628