Capital confirm funding allocation under review

http://www1.skysports.com/gaelic-football/news/12040/9442573/gaa-dublin-chairman-andy-kettle-confirms-that-their-funding-allocation-is-under-review

GAA: Dublin chairman Andy Kettle confirms that their funding allocation is under review

Dublin chairman Andy Kettle says they will resist any reduction in their central GAA funding for next year.

Kettle confirmed that Dublin's funding allocation for 2015 is under review, and that they're the only county with a proposed cut.

They're facing a reduced allocation in coaching and games development, while Fingal will no longer be recognised for their share of national hurling league funds.

Kettle claims the county are being penalised for their own success while other counties are already benefitting from the lucrative gate receipts they create.

"Last Friday week, a document was released to counties, indicating what funds were going to come to any particular county, like the GAA do every year," said Kettle.

"We didn't get an awful lot of time to study the document, but our county secretary (John Costello) highlighted the fact that Dublin were the only county that had a potential cut.

"First of all it would be eating into our coaching and games development. And the system we have up and running at the moment, Dublin doesn't make a huge amount.

"If you look at Dublin accounts for the last number of years, it's barely breaking even. It's not as if we're building a war chest. So taking any funds from it will affect our bottom line.

Perceived success

"The Fingal figure I can give you, in that they get €11,000 from the hurling league fund. Fingal was actually set up at the behest of Croke Park, to develop hurling in the Fingal area.

"We have now 10 or 11 clubs playing hurling where previously Fingal was kind of a wasteland from a hurling point of view. We certainly feel there we're being penalised for perceived success. And again it's perceived success, because there are areas of Dublin county which are wasteland from a GAA point of view.

"We're also trying to promote the game in an area that is a fifth of the population of the country. And, from the promotional side of things, we're up against a very slick, very successful Leinster rugby brand.

"In fact, if you go back to the Blue Wave strategic plan, one of the aspirations we had is that Dublin be treated as a province from a financial point of view. Not alone has that not happened, but the GAA seem to be picking at the bit we have."

Dublin also have concerns over the annual Irish Sports Council allocation of around €1million, which Kettle believes had been specifically ring-fenced for Dublin.

"That grant is administered through Croke Park with strict parameters on it, whereby we have to give bi-monthly reports as to our progress on participation rates and our coaching programme etc, which we do.

"Now it seems they can take a little bit off that, and give it to somebody else, which I don't accept.

"And when we secured the sponsorship from AIG, one of the points I made, quite forcefully, was that this income would allow us to continue to do the job that we had been doing.

"Now, I don't disagree with the argument that weaker counties should get more help. In fact, I spoke strongly in favour of that proposal when it came up at Central Council, whereby Croke Park should be looking at funding strength and conditioning for counties who cannot afford it.

"But why rob Peter to pay Paul? To me, there could be some other areas within the Association where budgets could be trimmed a little bit to fund that, as distinct from taking away from something that is successful. So we are certainly going to fight any cuts."

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7892 - 27/08/2014 20:33:00    1643209

continued...

Gate receipts

And Dublin, added Kettle, continue to pour more money into the GAA's gate receipts than any other county, pointing at Sunday's virtual sell-out against Donegal.

"Kerry and Mayo brought 52,000 to Croke Park for one semi-final. Dublin and Donegal are bringing 82,000 to Croke Park for the second semi-final.

"I respectfully suggest to the three other counties, that regardless of which two of them would have been playing together, they wouldn't have filled Croke Park. So you have 30,000 extra people at whatever the average price of a ticket is. So the problem we have is why take from what is ours to give to somebody else?"

Kettle also laughed off the comments from Donegal manager Jim McGuinness comparing Dublin's financial resources to Roman Abramovich putting oil money into Chelsea, and the subsequent impact on the Premier League.

"At the moment, managers will try and get any little bit of psychological advantage they can. My thing is that money helps but, basically, it doesn't buy you success."

Kettle also confirmed that Anthony Daly has yet to indicate his intentions to continue as Dublin hurling manager, although the county board would be looking for at least a three-year commitment, from whoever takes charge.

"I don't think another year's extension is what's required for Dublin hurling," he said. "I think it's a three-year project.

"As far as I'm aware, Anthony does recognise it's more than a year's extension we're looking for. He's had time to think about it, talk to his family, evaluate his own personal life, and whether the road up to Dublin is getting longer or shorter."

Watch Dublin v Donegal live on Sky Sports on Sunday from 3pm

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7892 - 27/08/2014 21:00:57    1643221

if the national league gate reciepts are given to the other countys ahead of dublin as also proposed
this will mean less money for all countys
as dublin county board are hardly going to continuing renting croke park to play league games
for the money to be given to the others
so they will go from an average 25thousand gate to a maximum 7thousand gate at parnell park
which in turn will mean less money all round for all countys

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 27/08/2014 21:05:10    1643226

Fair play to Andy! Dublin do not need to apologise for anything.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 27/08/2014 21:11:57    1643233

If dublin co board r catering for a fifth of the pop of da country and hav massive support as kettle suggests then why r they so reliant central funding? Surely their club champ should have attendances of 12-15 thousand generating their own revenue 4 their use?

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 27/08/2014 21:39:13    1643249

Club champo attendances of 12-15 thousand hahahaha sure we get that at league club matches aswell hahaha.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 27/08/2014 21:54:41    1643260

clondalkin - he wants Dublin to be treated like a province - all provinces generate substantial revenue through internal games - why should this be any different with Dublin given the massive population he also references. I'm aware of a couple of Dublin clubs who generate underage membership revenue in excess of €150k per year - power to generate internal revenue is huge - there should be more focus on increasing internal funding rather than defending the handouts. eg. kerry co board sent a group of ex players to US earlier this year on a fund raising drive (brought in substantial revenue) - when was the last time the dubs did this?

blacknamber (Kerry) - Posts: 267 - 28/08/2014 08:47:23    1643275

blacknamber

but if you penalise dublin in the national league reciepts
then what do you think will happen?
do you think that will make more money for other countys?
as do you really think dublin county board will continue to rent croke park
so that the money will go to the other countys?
of course not
so they will go back to playing in parnell park reducing the capacity at league games to 7 thousand
therefore all the countys will actualy recieve less money from the national league share of the money

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 28/08/2014 10:17:33    1643309

hill16no1man I doubt Dublin can move from croke park for the next few years. I would imagine that part of their sponsorship is that they are playing infront of the big audience.

overall guys I do feel something needs to be done but the problem is the people making decision don't seem to have a clue.

I feel every county needs to put forward exact details of where all money goes to and then take it from there. Dublin have been very good with their money and that a credit to them but it is at a stage now where Dublin's facilities are so far ahead of others that it could spell disaster.

I don't know all the ins and outs but the 3 counties I'm aware of are Sligo, Leitrim and Donegal. All 3 of these counties struggle for money. Sligo had to put on hold their COE due to not having enough money. Facilities in Leitrim are generally shocking and while they are improving they will never catch the other counties unless something is done. Donegal have been trying to keep up with the trend but the money just isn't there. They are reliant on raised funds and businesses helping out. Now you may say they aren't spending money correctly but I think everything needs to be looked at and then make a long term approach.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 28/08/2014 10:32:43    1643318

dstuction.

do you think they will continue to pay money to play in croker so the other countys benifit?
you must be joking.
as for dublins facilites we were probably the last county to get club grounds up to scratch
i used go down the country in the 90tys and see grounds with their own stands and big clubhouses
while we used to play in public parks.
dublin still train in clubs

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 28/08/2014 11:25:41    1643359

So he wants them to be funded like a province? And compete as a county?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 28/08/2014 12:14:53    1643405

How much revenue do the Dubs generate?????

Everyone is ranting about the money they get but no-one is talking about how much they put in.

Do people really think the Dubs make less than the €2M they get from the GAA???

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 28/08/2014 13:13:35    1643457

1643405 So he wants them to be funded like a province? And compete as a county?

Brilliant !!

Greengrass (Louth) - Posts: 6031 - 28/08/2014 13:33:25    1643470

That is it in a nutshell Master. Funding wise Dublin want to be treated as a province with all the positives and advantages that brings YET they expect other counties to compete on with them on a level playing field which is just impossible. Now if Dublin want to be treated as a province then you must take that to the next logical conclusion and divide Dublin up into 3 or 4 counties within a county and most people would probably then have no problem with the money allocated to them. At the minute as a single unit Dublin are way out on their own and the gap just looks like it's getting bigger year by year. Furthermore Dublin shouldn't forget that it takes other counties to compete and provide opposition to them and these sides can't just be expected to roll over and play patsies for Dublin's benefit year in year out. Many Dublin fans have adapted a very arrogant, dismissive indeed gloating view towards others and that is just making the problem worse, indeed it is generating a lot of debate and anger within other counties at the perceived way the GAA is being driven to Dublin's sole benefit. That cannot be ignored and no doubt other counties will bring this to the floor of Congress in due course.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 28/08/2014 14:19:15    1643505

dublin cant expect to receive province level funding and then expect others to let them compete as a county when various counties are on their knees especially smaller 1s with barely any funding

fabio8 (USA) - Posts: 2182 - 28/08/2014 14:30:43    1643517

how many people go to Parnell Park?

valley84 (Westmeath) - Posts: 1890 - 28/08/2014 14:40:57    1643526

Ulsterman there are 50 times as many people in Dublin as Leitrim. There are Dublin clubs with as many members as Leitrim GAA. That's just the way things are. The GAA is based on counties. Until that changes couties ike Leitrim will always be at a disadvantage aginst counties with bigger populations.

Now, my question to you is do Leitrim on recieve only 40,000 a year?

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 28/08/2014 14:46:52    1643531

DUBLIN: 'Damned if we do and damned if we dont!!!'

Our money is sent to country clubs for to build big 'white elephant' club houses and facilities in the middle of nowhere so everyone can 'feel good about themselves' in these places!

Enjoy all yer 'CENTRES OF EXCELLENCE' around the place too lads that aint doing ye much good just to help ye 'feel good about yerselves'....meanwhile Dublin will just keep on training in the clubs and lifting SAMS galore!

I have yet to see a fiver or an all weather pitch or a kettlebell kick a ball over the bar!!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 28/08/2014 14:49:28    1643535

Another thing that becomes clear from the piece. Kettle states that Dublin have nothing in the bank at the end of every year. Now we already know that they get multiples of what everyone else gets, and kettle has just confirmed that they spend every penny of it. So how can people be saying that Dublin don't spend more than everyone else when they get more and always spend it all?

The thing that I had to shake my head at was the statement that they hadn't had a chance to read the proposal, yet would be opposing it as strongly as possible. So basically, they are against it before they even know what it is. It displays a mentality that is detrimental to progress.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 28/08/2014 15:13:35    1643550

witnof, that is the whole point as far as Im concerned. They don't need funding and haven't for a long time. Surely the correct approach is to take a look at the bottom line of each county and then subsidise them as needed from that point? That to my mind would be the most efficient practice the gaa could undertake.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 28/08/2014 15:18:30    1643553