Kieran McGeeney ice bucket challenge?

McGeeney has challenged Joe Brolly, Pat Spillane and Colm O'Rourke to do it? Surely Brolly has no excuse given Rachel Wyse has already stepped up to the mark?

Kildare30 (Kildare) - Posts: 603 - 26/08/2014 13:53:47    1642266

Would be great to see but can't see Spillane or Colm doing it.... I'd be very surprised if Brolly didn't do it..... Will make for entertaining viewing

ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 26/08/2014 14:09:13    1642284

Anyone else notice John Kavanagh SBG, didn't know McGeeney was into MMA?

an.mhi (Meath) - Posts: 7 - 26/08/2014 14:25:51    1642302

This ice bucket nonsense is just a load of self obsessed luvvies loving themselves even more in front of a camera and demanding everyone just stop and look at them.....loving themselves.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9702 - 26/08/2014 14:41:28    1642314

Ulsterman..... It's a bit of crack and actually is for a very good cause so lighten up a bit man......

ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 26/08/2014 14:58:14    1642323

Anyone else notice John Kavanagh SBG, didn't know McGeeney was into MMA?

He's sparred with Mcgregor and is very much into MMA.

realman2 (Kildare) - Posts: 464 - 26/08/2014 14:58:47    1642324

As my mother used to say 'it's all great fun until someone loses an eye'...

Seriously thou, seems like a good idea to raise money for charity, etc.

HenryHill16 (Dublin) - Posts: 249 - 26/08/2014 15:23:30    1642352

Apparently McGregor said he would have been well fit to be on the world stage had he started at a younger age.

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 26/08/2014 15:31:08    1642359

Some poor young lad in Scotland took it a bit too far I'm afraid, it was a bit of craic, now it's just boring.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 26/08/2014 15:42:33    1642372

Ulsterman

It has raised MILLIONS for Charity all aorund the world so i don't see any harm in it.

chriscart580 (Meath) - Posts: 376 - 26/08/2014 15:45:01    1642374

Wouldn't do it myself if nominated to be honest - not because I have any issue with throwing a bucket of water round myself, just that I have an issue with charity or peer-pressure charity as is the case. Down with that sort of thing!

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 26/08/2014 15:50:16    1642383

You may as well do it before the water rates come in.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 26/08/2014 18:25:34    1642538

Offside_Rule

Wouldn't do it myself if nominated to be honest - not because I have any issue with throwing a bucket of water round myself, just that I have an issue with charity or peer-pressure charity as is the case. Down with that sort of thing!

Agreed 100%

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 26/08/2014 21:42:42    1642719

ben1977

Ulsterman..... It's a bit of crack and actually is for a very good cause so lighten up a bit man......

I agree with Ulsterman , people can donate as much money as they want privately. The overriding motivation for the ice-bucket challenge is self-promotion, because of Facebook everyone thinks they're some sort of celebrity - well yous arent.

FairShoulder (Armagh) - Posts: 333 - 27/08/2014 14:33:03    1643003

Money raised into Charities and money given within that budget to research projects are two completely separate things. The heads of these organisations are paid very well you should have a quick look at companies house to gauge how the money raised is distributed.

Z list celebrities are lapping it up as this is free advertising and beats eating rats in the Jungle.

This current phenomenon is a bit sycophantic with every Tom, Dick and Harry out doing the other for their 15 minutes.

You want to help? get off Facebook and go volunteering with your children.

The irony of westerners wasteful use of water as the children of Gaza dehydrate!

Ah sure it's all craic......

Fiveways (Mayo) - Posts: 19 - 27/08/2014 15:02:49    1643030

Hear hear fiveways!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 27/08/2014 16:11:37    1643080

Just thought i'd post a comment which followed this article.
http://www.thejournal.ie/ice-bucket-challenge-money-1639988-Aug2014/

As someone whos family has needed the services of the IMNDA I have to point out that they are a support organisation for families and sufferers of MND. Motor Neurone Research is the organisation dedicated to researching this disease http://www.mnd.ie.
Salaries are paid by the HSE and don't come out of fund raised and they are certainly not excessive in comparison to other charties in this country. I have been unlucky enough to see first hand where the IMNDA money goes. Its spend on equipment for sufferers that is badly needed but the HSE won't provide. Counselling for sufferes and their families. Two dedicated nurses who trave the country attending every motor neurone patient in the country and liasing with HSE on their behalf. Speech computers alone cost about $13,000 each.
Normally they do so much with limited funding that I am over the moon to see them get this windfall. Families and patients alike could not cope without the amazing support supplied by the IMNDA. I just hope none of you ever need to use their services.

Do a small bit of research people before putting this effort down.
IMNDA salaries are paid for by the HSE (and aren't overly excessive in my view as well)..so all money goes towards equipment, nurses, research, further fundraising efforts etc...
It's more than a worthy cause.
Why this charity? Why not this one? It was attached to something that's a bit of craic, in a world where there seems to be nothing but horror in the news everyday.
I do agree with the point regarding peer pressure charity, but anyone can respectfully decline to be involved/donate, and should not be judged for that, as people do have charities that are closer to their own hearts.

As regards the comments about this being a popularity contest and a vanity thing, just plain cynical and disgusting in my view.
What does that really matter when you consider the 2 most important things that have come out of this (1) Money (2) Awareness.

Peace and love.

fire_in_belly (Donegal) - Posts: 59 - 27/08/2014 21:59:43    1643265

By jaysus, id hate to as cynical as some on here. Waste of water excuse c'monnnnnn? The number of times you flushed the toilet this week is prob the equivilant of what has been used in all the buckets.

HenryHill16 (Dublin) - Posts: 249 - 28/08/2014 08:19:49    1643270

If people have a problem with it just steer clear, but don't go out of the way to trash it, live and let live, each to their own. What harm are the attention seekers and posers doing anyway, especially when so much good has come out of it.
As for water wastage, get out of the shower 1 min earlier than you usually do for one day and you'll have saved the amount of water that would fill 2 buckets. This is a short term thing that will run it's course pretty soon, while people will continue to waste water on a daily basis in the coming days, weeks, months and years ahead.

fire_in_belly (Donegal) - Posts: 59 - 28/08/2014 11:12:38    1643353

fire_in_belly - its not water wastage nor people donating to a Charity that is the problem, its the fact that many can't stay clear or find it hard to as they are being berated on Facebook if they are nominated and don't do it or are reluctant to. Also, as someone else pointed out, how much of the £5er or whatever amount it is do the people on the ground actually see? Most charities say the profits go to the cause but funny they don't tell you what the administration costs are within said charity. Yes the profits might well go but when Mr CEO etc get their salaries how much of your £5er is left? You want to do some good? Next time you are walking down the street give a homeless person the money or drop it in the letterbox of someone you are aware of who is in severe financial difficulties. That way not only are you sure that all the money will be used by the person you intended it for plus you have the benefit of remaining dry and doing your bit for the environment.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 28/08/2014 13:10:19    1643455