Saturday evening all Ireland final?

Lads any of ye that know me will know I'm a traditionalist and hate change but I really think changing the all Ireland finals from Sundays to Saturday evenings would be a great idea, I mean you could hurtle up to Dublin after work on a Friday go out on the lash have a grand day tearing around Dublin before the game and after the game either head home for the big slug or stay around Dublin and still have Sunday to recover and no need to take time off work, I remember the all Ireland final replay of 2000 it was class and the replay against Armagh the same year, what ye think ?

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 15/08/2014 21:23:54    1637467

no way
your only looking at it from a drinkers point of view
sunday championship matches is far better
atmosphere on saturday evening championship is very poor
league games work on saturday evenings as they spice them up
but championship and especially all ireland semi fina;s and finals should be sundays

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 16/08/2014 13:19:28    1637567

what about match of the day?

Miler (Mayo) - Posts: 1015 - 16/08/2014 13:40:29    1637580

no way

Such a statement to come out with.

GetOverTheBar (Tyrone) - Posts: 1388 - 16/08/2014 13:44:03    1637582

Think its a great idea. BUt I reckon it mightn't suit a lot of people in the country who have to work on Saturdays, particularly farmers etc

avonali (Dublin) - Posts: 1974 - 16/08/2014 14:16:09    1637599

No way Sat evening Finals...I thought Clare v Cork last year didnt have the same feel to it.

I like it on a Sunday as it's the build up all weekend and then you have the day off the following day to celebrate or commiserate

shea (Kerry) - Posts: 409 - 16/08/2014 14:28:22    1637601

Hill
I know I'm looking at it from a drink point of view but even for people who don't drink I mean it would be 10:30 to 11:00 before we'd be home after a simi or a final and for some of my fellow county men and women it would be longer and cork people longer again, then have to face in to work the following day, it would be nice to have option to stay above or chill out the next day after .

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 16/08/2014 14:29:28    1637602

Ahhh good ol drink, the 'legal' drug. Don't care what day it's on, once we win it :)

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 16/08/2014 14:55:50    1637612

GetOverTheBar

well its true isnt it
he mentions going on the lash and drinking as one of his main reasons

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 16/08/2014 15:05:39    1637613

Actually it would make more sense to have it on a Friday night, then you can take all sorts of stuff including alcohol and then have TWO days to come down, I mean recover :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 16/08/2014 15:20:09    1637620

No can't agree with saturday games, too many people work saturdays and what time would you arrive home at after a game, most trains leave Dublin at 5 or 6 o'clock and anyway those car clampers operate saturdays, at least on Sundays some streets have Sunday parking. 3.30 3.45 on the 3rd Sunday in September is the correct time, weather is usually dry and sunny, sunnier than august bank holiday anyway

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 16/08/2014 16:16:34    1637648

Agree with this idea. It means people who work on Mondays (which is most of the working population) don't have to look for a day off work/ go into work tired. For a Galwayman, heading to Croker is an all day job. Also, Sunday afternoons tend to have premier league games, often including teams like Man U. A Saturday evening all Ireland final would face very little competition for attention.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 16/08/2014 18:05:40    1637691

It's bad enough you's come up on a Sunday and rob all our women now you's want to come up and rob our Friday and Saturday women aswell jaysus.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 16/08/2014 19:04:41    1637707

Robbin' our women? I wish :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 16/08/2014 19:13:58    1637710

Think Saturday would be a great day to have it were in the twentyfirst century now lets move with the time Saturday final Saturday session back to school Monday great idea

monkstownrebel1 (Cork) - Posts: 351 - 16/08/2014 19:33:47    1637714

no way

hill16no1man
---------------------------------------

HS quote of the year, hands down!!!!.....Brilliant!

Could only be a Dub could come out with such a class line!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 16/08/2014 20:09:53    1637722

Ah now lads, are you saying KingdomBoy1 has a bit of a habit? :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 16/08/2014 20:39:36    1637726

After being at last years hurling final replay I would be totally for it.

Finals all over the world do this so any obstacles people see with the idea can be over come from a supporters point of view.

Its change though and people will always find problems with change - nature of the beast, but it take courage to see an idea through

Ban (Westmeath) - Posts: 1415 - 16/08/2014 20:56:33    1637737

One thing is for sure, tradition is NOT a good enough reason to keep the finals played on a Sunday. Im all for respecting tradition, but not when it gets in the way of what people want.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 16/08/2014 21:08:41    1637748

A BIT of a habit realdub? Ha ha :-) I didn't leave the pub till 4 this morning , our barman blew the dust off a few old DVDs and we watched the Galway Kerry quarter final from 08 what a game Meehan destroyed Marc o'se and Tom O'sullivan and gooch and donaghy had a very wite game ,well marked, Declan O'sullivan was deadly though. But lads Saturdays would be great for finals IMO it would be good for Dublin as well as people would stay the extra day and ye know ye love taken the culchies money :-/

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 16/08/2014 21:18:09    1637756