Senior Football Championship 2014 - Lack of Upsets

Seems to me that there has been a distinct lack of upsets this year.
So much so people were/are already mapping out the semi's before the quarter-final had/have begun.
Is it a case of a dominant 'Big Four'- the provincial winners - being way ahead of the rest?
A second Big Four of provincial runners up behind them?
Do teams know each other better these days? esp with counties taking the league more seriously?

Can only think of Longford beating Derry in Derry, or the margin of provincial final wins in Leinster and Munster, as actual surprises...
Not shocks thou.

HenryHill16 (Dublin) - Posts: 249 - 07/08/2014 14:56:28    1633016

HenryHill16
Seems to me that there has been a distinct lack of upsets this year.
So much so people were/are already mapping out the semi's before the quarter-final had/have begun.
Is it a case of a dominant 'Big Four'- the provincial winners - being way ahead of the rest?
A second Big Four of provincial runners up behind them?
Do teams know each other better these days? esp with counties taking the league more seriously?

Can only think of Longford beating Derry in Derry, or the margin of provincial final wins in Leinster and Munster, as actual surprises...
Not shocks thou.

Don't worry Henry, Monaghan will address that on Saturday! :)

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 360 - 07/08/2014 15:04:40    1633024

seanfinn

Armagh & Monaghan Double on Saturday?? 54/1 Double with PP

chriscart580 (Meath) - Posts: 376 - 07/08/2014 15:23:39    1633034

chriscart580

seanfinn

Armagh & Monaghan Double on Saturday?? 54/1 Double with PP

All in hand Chris. You read my mind. Its a steal!

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 360 - 07/08/2014 15:30:48    1633037

54/1 for a reason lads, wont put more than 50 cent on that one.

HenryHill16 (Dublin) - Posts: 249 - 07/08/2014 15:34:19    1633041

The biggest upset this year was my stomach after the burger on Sunday!!!!!

ExiledinDublin (Mayo) - Posts: 131 - 07/08/2014 15:39:20    1633044

HenryHill1 Ah sure its worth €2. Can't see it happening myself.

chriscart580 (Meath) - Posts: 376 - 07/08/2014 15:40:38    1633045

Ah here Henry....you cant put any cash on that. It wouldnt be right.

seanfinn (Monaghan) - Posts: 360 - 07/08/2014 15:44:19    1633050

Great idea for a username... henryhill16

Martin Scorsese would approve ;)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 07/08/2014 15:44:44    1633051

54/1 for a reason lads, wont put more than 50 cent on that one.

Sure its the shock you wanted. I wander what the odds were on Fermanagh beating Armagh and Mayo beating Tyrone 10 years ago were.

Up Armagh & Monaghan, literally can't wait for it to get started.

On the subject of shocks, there have been few real shocks, but plenty of surpises. Derry and Longford being the obvious one. But nobody thought Clare and Tipp would be as competitive as they were, we were written off against Monaghan and Tyrone. Suppose the biggest shock of the year would be seeing Dublin get beat, I've a feeling they won't win the All Ireland this year, 3 tough games to do it. If they do win then they thoroughly deserve it.

JP91 (Armagh) - Posts: 316 - 07/08/2014 15:49:38    1633053

It's been like that for a while, these periods come and go. Since McGuinness and Horan took over their counties in 2011 Donegal, Mayo, Dublin, Kerry and to a lesser extant Cork have been dominant. Apart from Monaghan in last years Ulster final these counties only lose when they play each other.

Hopefully this will hold true for the first game on Saturday!

Alvin (Donegal) - Posts: 218 - 07/08/2014 15:50:43    1633054

*wouldn't not won't

damn typo...happening more often the older i get

HenryHill16 (Dublin) - Posts: 249 - 07/08/2014 15:51:05    1633055