The good heart of the Dubs.

Dublin in fairness look like a steam roller in this years championship.
They are superb athletes and i fear unless the rest of the country can match them in that respect then they will dominate for next few years.
I know alot of stuff gets said about their money and taking them out of croker and stuff but im here on a completely different theme.

While doing their lap of honour yesterday and led by paul flynn (a player i have long admired as a footballer) the team stopped and chatted with a sick young lady in the crowd. The gave her their time shook her hand and brought the cup over for her to hold. The big thing is that alot of the players seem to know this young girl which would deem to give the impression they had met her before and she seemed to be quiet comfortable with them. Leading me to believe that these amateur players have given up their time to spend time with sick children and whether you like them or loath them i think it speaks volumes of them as people

I am not particularly good on computers so im not sure i can send you on the link so you can see it for your selves but try u tube its well worth a look folks

And well done to paul flynn and the boys. I still hope we beat ye but you have gone up 1000 fols in my estimation and im sure you gave that young girl memories that will last a life time

ritchie (Cork) - Posts: 346 - 21/07/2014 10:32:22    1622570

Yeah seen the video myself yesterday evening. Fair play to the Dublin lads. They all knew this girl by name and was a great thing to see. Well done to all the Dublin team and the obvious work & time these guys give to the Sick Children in Dublin Hospitals

chriscart580 (Meath) - Posts: 376 - 21/07/2014 10:43:11    1622593

well said ritchie
flynner gave his jersey on the lap of honour after the all ireland final to a girl he visited in hospital
could be same girl

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 21/07/2014 10:45:04    1622597

The Dubs celebrated like a club team yesterday

That's what it looked and felt like as a supporter

Unified, close, celebrated with fans... a band of brothers.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 21/07/2014 10:53:32    1622616

I also know through the grapevine that ROC & his family are very involved in their local St Vincent de Paul. They do sound like a sound bunch of lads & it is almost going to be a pity beating them in a few weeks time!!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 21/07/2014 11:03:16    1622625

Saw the video clip was a lovely moment and shows the true spirit of GAA fair play to Flynn and Co

lilywhite28 (Kildare) - Posts: 68 - 21/07/2014 11:14:07    1622644

Also remember that one when, after the 2011 quarter final, a Dublin lady waited for Mickey Harte on the Hogan stand side to give him a card of condolence, thought that was a lovely touch as well

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 21/07/2014 11:29:39    1622661

I went onto YouTube and can't find it, can someone put it up

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 21/07/2014 12:13:01    1622740

I can't post the link at the moment but if your on Facebook check the hill16 is Dublin only or the gaa banter page they both posted it yesterday evening.

lilywhite28 (Kildare) - Posts: 68 - 21/07/2014 12:24:10    1622760

clondalkin

its on the irish independant or irish times website

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 21/07/2014 12:25:55    1622763

I havent seen it but I'm aware of a poor young girl called Molly McNally that the Dubs team & supporters groups are actively fundraising for. I think there is a night soon in the Gibson for her too on the 23rd August with the team (if thats the same girl as yesterday)

DNS1916 (Dublin) - Posts: 64 - 21/07/2014 12:28:58    1622771

I remember back in 2010 when we knocked Louth out of the Championship

That thousands of Dubs stayed behind to clap and cheer the Louth team as they did a lap of honor

We even gave them a rendition of Championnnesss, Championeeesss :)

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 21/07/2014 12:29:05    1622772

Yeah saw that, lovely moment, fair play Ritchie for posting, you're usually giving out about us :)

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 21/07/2014 13:10:20    1622861

The girls name is Molly, And here is here story (Taken from mollymcnallymiracletrust.com)

Part 1

People say having a birthday on the 08/08/08 is good luck, maybe for some it is, not for Molly. She was born at 2.11pm on that day and from the second we saw her we were hooked, that was it, our family was complete, she was the last piece of the jigsaw, a baby sister to Stephanie, Jill and James and we never thought for a second we would experience what was to lie ahead. As a mother when your is child is born you go through all sorts of emotions but you also look to the future especially when your child is asleep and you gaze at them with all your love, you think of their first words, what will it be, please God it's not "dada", their first steps, starting school, holy communion, confirmation and finally seeing them walk down the aisle. Unfortunately for Molly we just about got to starting school and that was it, she was robbed, the nightmare had started. Molly had started to feel unwell just as she had started school and like any parent she was brought to the GP. There she was treated for constipation and had routine blood tests done which showed that she had low iron levels. We were given suggestions on how to alter her diet and that was that. But the constipation continued and continued and after 3 trips to A&E in the Lourdes, Drogheda, she was admitted. For the next five days she had countless blood tests, a pelvic ultrasound, x-ray's, keyhole surgery was suggested as she had starting limping, the doctors were baffled. Finally, one doctor suggested that she have an abdominal ultrasound and once that was done a CT scan was ordered immediately. At 4.20pm on 22nd October 2013 Molly was diagnosed with cancer.

How do you react when you are told your child has cancer, you don't, you go into shock. We were transferred from Drogheda by ambulance to Our Lady's Children's Hospital Crumlin on 23rd of October after a very long sleepless night. I have never been so scared in my whole life and Molly was the same. We stayed in a general ward that night and Gerry had to go home, he wasn't allowed to stay. Fortunately for us we were sharing a room with another family and their little girl who happened to be the same age as Molly. As long as I live I will never forget the kindness that was shown to Molly and me that night by those people, it helped us get through the night. The following day we met our Consultant and we were told Molly had stage 4 Neuroblastoma, a cancer that develops in the nervous system. It sneakily and aggressively creates a tumour that originates from one of the adrenal glands and at stage 4 it had spread to Molly's bones, bone marrow and the lymph nodes in her stomach. Neuroblastoma is one of the most common forms of childhood cancer but when it progresses to stage 4 ( i.e. Approx 1 in 200,000 kids) it not only becomes incredibly hard to treat but can also be fatal. I've heard of parents saying that they are on a journey and I think to myself "what?", it's not a journey, a journey is something nice, planned, you know where you started and you're damn sure you know where it's going to finish, this is living hell, a cul-de-sac that you don't know how you're going to get out of.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 21/07/2014 13:23:21    1622884

Part 2

As the next couple of days passed Molly had a lot of procedures done including a Hickman line been inserted and was really tested to the limit. After 5 nights we were transferred to St.John's Ward, the thing we dreaded most. Anyone who has been to John's will know it is the longest walk you will ever take, it's in the depths of Crumlin hospital and when I saw the sign "Oncology" over the door, the realisation of what was ahead sunk in. I'd watched the documentaries on the telly, seen the clips on the news but never for one second thought that cancer would ever knock on our door, but it did. The next few days were spent with consultants, nurses, specialists, dieticians, social workers, all of whom bombarded us with information, none of which sunk in at the time, Gerry felt angry that this had happened to Molly, his little pet and I just wanted to cry all the time. But we had to pick ourselves up and focus on her and her treatment, so we started to listen and ask questions and we got our heads right. Molly started treatment on 29th October and has since completed 8 rounds of highly intensive chemotherapy, 2 rounds of TVD chemotherapy, bone marrow aspirates, MIBG scans, CT scans, she has had that many blood transfusions we've lost count, endless nights in hospital between routine visits to Crumlin and unplanned ones to Drogheda with sickness, temperatures, mouth infections, ulcers, weight loss etc which resulted in an NG tube been inserted and through it all she has had a smile on her face and has never complained, not once , not even when I have to inject her every night with artificial white cells, she just says "Mammy do it quickly".

We don't know what the future holds for Molly other than her protocol which still includes more chemotherapy, surgery, bone marrow transplant, radiotherapy and immunotherapy, but we do know that we will do anything to make sure she gets the best chance of life. In order for us to be able to give her that chance we need to be able to give her the best treatment. Crumlin and Our Lady of Lourdes hospital in Drogheda are doing amazing things for Molly and the treatment she is receiving is world class but we might get to a point where she'll need more. We have every faith in the world that Molly's treatment will work and she will get the "all clear" but we also have to be realistic and be prepared for the future. We are, as parents, hoping that you good people will help us and we will be eternally grateful to you all. We just want our little girl to grow up, be happy, healthy and live life to the full.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 21/07/2014 13:23:55    1622885

Video available here

http://www.joe.ie/gaa/gaa-news/video-dublin-players-take-time-to-celebrate-leinster-win-with-ill-five-year-old-super-fan/

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 21/07/2014 13:42:43    1622908

There are a lot of decent people involved in GAA in all counties. We should be proud of them all.

I have to say I love this Dublin team. Some of what happened under previous regimes was embarassing. I don't mean the results, I mean some of the showmanship and acting the bollix. They have become a great football team, but more importantly they play and behave as a proper Dublin team.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 21/07/2014 14:20:45    1622957

Paul Flynn and Dublin i salute you.

Belclare1 (Galway) - Posts: 1626 - 21/07/2014 14:28:56    1622970

heart-breaking story.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 21/07/2014 14:37:01    1622982