Congratulations Wexford!!

Fair balls!! Thoroughly deserved!! Of course I am disappointed but I never thought for a second Clare were going to put back to back titles together with such a young team and being from a county where success is so seldom tasted. Wexford are back!! And that is good to see. But Clare have not gone away ;) just taking a breather. AND I think they will rectify the situation somewhat a little later, in the under 21 championship.

On a side note, I cannot see this as being anything other than Kilkenny's year (Shefflin, Walsh, Delaney - and probably Cody - to finish the fairytale proper), although a JMB- inspired Cork might harbour other notions.

MiAmigaVERONICA (Clare) - Posts: 300 - 12/07/2014 19:24:25    1617895

Fair play MiAmigaVERONICA, A touch of class there.

Also agree about Kilkenny. They WILL win their trophy back.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 12/07/2014 20:02:45    1617948

Not sure if Id agree that Kilkennys virtual monopolization of the championship for the best part of a generation can be described as a fairytale MiAmigaVERONICA.
If someone beats them, then we might have a fairytale, but I agree, theyre looking good.

joncarter (Galway) - Posts: 2692 - 12/07/2014 20:06:28    1617951

Two great games, with extra time in each. I think many people were hoping to have a Davy Fitz interview afterwards just to complete the entertainment.
I'd say the cats are confidently purring right now.

jerryp (Cork) - Posts: 104 - 12/07/2014 20:19:54    1617963

Can't say i feel sorry for Davy Fitz to be fair.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 12/07/2014 20:25:42    1617971

Great win for Wexford we needed a big scalp we got it. Waterford will be just as tough they have some great players and they will be well rested and ready to go.

A lot of stuff here about he ref favouring Loch Gorman. Think this is way off the mark. Both sending offs were totally legit.
Davy saying that there were other similar incidents from Wexford. Cannot think of one. We got a couple of yellows and I'd say that was a fair reflection. Clare's ill discipline let them down again today(something that usually has been a Wexford failing over the years). Across the regular time I would go as far as to say Clare definitely got the rub of the green and the refs whistle.
One of their goals Wexford fullback was clearly taken out of play by a push, the disallowed goal for MacDonald, the 65 that was never. Also I believe after sending off the Clare players the ref definitely gave some soft frees to Clare in front of goal. All a Wexford man seemed to have to do was put a hurl over the shoulder or an arm around the Clare player for a second. Have to admit though he did make a couple of decisions in the second half of extra time that seemed to even things out. As they say generally these things even eachother out across the game. I like Clare and I wish them well for the future and I don't think any of them would begrudge Wexford a win although obviously they will be disappointed. Until next year and hopefully we can dish out some good entertainment again.
I'd also question the ref in relation to the second sending off when he didn't action it himself straight away. It was obviously something that had to happen and the lines man had to put him right.

Nick (Wexford) - Posts: 1100 - 13/07/2014 09:50:59    1618090

Tony Kelly taken out cynically in extra card in extra time.McGrath/Cunningham fouled in front of goal referee chose to ignore.McGrath pulled down 4/5 times by his man,only one yellow given.I wonder if a Kilkenny/Cork lad would of got a red for what Bugler done?

HandyMoran (Roscommon) - Posts: 327 - 13/07/2014 12:00:32    1618155

A great boost for Wexford hurling with the win last night. Great to see Wexford win after 2 serious jousts with Clare. After winning consecutive under 21 Leinster wins , things are looking good for Wexford.

Clare really dug deep but just could not get over the young and strong Wexford team. It will be another difficult assignment next weekend against Waterford but a big hurdle was overcome last night. Good to see Liam Dunne in the winning side!

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1821 - 13/07/2014 13:44:11    1618206

Indeed well done to Wexford. I didn't think they would do it, mainly because I thought Clare's touch and concentration was awful last week and that they might improve. Well Clare id improve, but they still didn't win!

In Lee Chin, Wexford have a mighty player. I saw him down in the league against Cork this year and I was very impressed. Yesterday, he was the rock that Clare broke upon.

Midleton (Cork) - Posts: 643 - 13/07/2014 14:45:21    1618233

Roscommon

I suppose you would know

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2661 - 13/07/2014 15:56:13    1618289

I didn't want to get into this

Denied a perfectly good goal. The only Clare defensive tactic was foul McGovern as often as possible. A Wexford shot was 2 foot inside the post and waved wide. A 65 that.never was to.level it.

In Ennis Clare came back from ten.points down by being handed frees every time somebody lost their balance.

Over the two games the best team won. Get over it

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2661 - 13/07/2014 16:00:09    1618294

A lot of whinging about the ref. The better team on both days won through, all be it with a considerable amount of wides. I'm sure Liam will have the lads down practising the shooting as tough physical drills in between a packed calendar might be asking too much. Anyway fair play to Clare for keeping it lit despite being men down on both days. BRING ON the Deise. Loch Garman abú.

wex... (Wexford) - Posts: 253 - 13/07/2014 16:29:33    1618321

Great post Nick and like I said good luck to Wexford

Doyler steady yourself no one form Clare disagreeing with you. The other opinions are from NON Clare people.

Wexford won a very close game yesterday and fair play, but we did have 13 v 15 for 25mins and weren't beaten which is incredible in hurling. Until Bugler deservedly got set off, I was sure we were going to win. I doubt it would have been achieved the other way around 13 v 15. Yes the first day in Ennis you were the better side Doyler. But again for 35mins we played with a man less and still didn't lose. Came back from 10 points down. No arguements about any of the THREE red cards. As good as Wexford were Clare contributed massively to their defeat and draw the first day with stupid ill disapline. That's our fault not Wexford. In the end the game was decided in extra time, a couple of frees given and a couple of frees not given. Simple we move on. Wexford have shown they're a serious force to be reckoned with. Clare will bounce back I'm sure of that. We will learn plenty from this year.

I love hurling and for that reason I'm happy for Wexford. Good luck against Waterford.

BannerBoy2013 (Clare) - Posts: 325 - 13/07/2014 16:59:08    1618356

BannerBoy2013

I assure you my friend I have nothing against Clare.that post wasn't directed at you. Our counties have a lot in common and there are no vendettas here. Thank you for two wonderful weekends

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2661 - 13/07/2014 21:56:55    1618628

Goodman Doyler ;) all the best

BannerBoy2013 (Clare) - Posts: 325 - 14/07/2014 09:15:36    1618661

Fantastic game by two great teams.. Great to see Wexford winning a county that hurling badly needs to see doing well and also great to hear "dancing at the crossroads" blarring out after the game :)..

Wexford Fans, does Liam Griffen have input on the current set up? I went down to the match on Saturday and was in the Clonard Terrace. At Full time before extra time stated a man in a Wexford tracksuit and a cap appeared from behind the Clonard Terrace trying desperately to get into the main stand, it was Liam Griffen. When the steward copped it was him, he immediately open the gate and Griffen proceeded towards the dressing room area..

MURPHB33 (Dublin) - Posts: 166 - 14/07/2014 09:49:48    1618693

Congratulations to Wexford - fine young team. Steady up on your shooting and your will be hard to beat. Clare young lads owe us nothing after a great year last year. However, the big problem is ill discipline and this will not be addressed with the current manager. If a teams manager is constantly challenging the referring decisions,moaning and jumping on the sideline, and adopting an attitude 'the whole world is against us', eventually this filters down to the players, even the best of them. Jack Browne should have been taken off after the 1st yellow card, this was Davy Fitz direct mistake. Clare may have survived with 14 but not 13 - this eventually made the difference in terms of tiredness in extra time. If we can get a good, level headed manager who can instill discipline, this great bunch of fine young hurlers will be back at the top again very soon,

SMB (Meath) - Posts: 25 - 14/07/2014 09:52:24    1618696

MURPHB33, Liam Griffin is indeed involved with this Wexford team. I dont think he would be described as a selector, but he is involved with the setup.

Liam Griffin would convince you that you could go through a brick wall and the players would probably do it for him. Him and Liam Dunne have instilled a stubborn dogged determination into this team. It has been a given with top teams for years, it wasnt for Wexford. But now it is.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 14/07/2014 12:01:45    1618838

MURPHB33

Dancing at the crossroads part was my favourite :)

My daughter is 5 and hurling mad. She attendeds all games with me all over Ireland from January to July in all grades. It's tough work sometimes but with two minutes to go in extra time I was standing on my seat with her on my shoulders and she belting out the chorus of cualchulans son.which has been her bed time song since she was a week old.

When she embraced lee chin. Her favourite player who teaches them drills for pe in.junior.infants he thanked her for cheering. It made her day and she reckons he scored his cracking point because he heard her. It's het first big day like. That and it meant eveverything to me that we got to experience it. She and I will cherish it forever.

My brother in law was on the quay almost 2 miles from the park and the cheer at full time rang clear throughout the town. It takes me back. It was beautiful. That's hurling.

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2661 - 14/07/2014 12:18:02    1618853

Delighted for yourself and the little one Doyler. Great days.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 14/07/2014 12:29:08    1618859