Can you "declare for another county"

Ok, how best to ask this

My Nephew through marriage lives in County A. Having been born in County B, he lived there to the age of 2 when the family moved to County A. His Dad is from County C, his mother is from County D. You with me??! 4 diff counties here, the one he was born in and lived in until he was 2, the one his dad is from, the one his mam is from and the one they all live in now with all his brothers who were all born and raised in County A.

Ok, the prob is this. He is a phenomenal hurler and at the age of 15 has played representative schools/underage hurling for the county he now lives in, County A
But, he was raised by his father to support and love County C. All his life he has supported County C and as a result of which, he has a GENUINE dislike for county A !! So despite playing for them at underage, he has no loyalty atall to them and atively shouts against them at IC Hurling!

A call up to the intercounty minor, 21 and eventually senior panels are genuinely inevitable but he has literally no gra atall for this county and doesnt actually WANT to hurl for them. But, the county he loves and supports have no idea of his existence as he doesnt hurl in their county. How can be make them aware of his allegiance and has he a leg to stand on in wanting to play for them or not atall.
He literally wont play for County A, where he has lived all his life since the age of 2 ! Does he need to transfer clubs? Be a shame as he loves his club, just not his county and County C is miles and miles away, and he is only just 15.

To be honest, its his auld lads fault and he needs a root up the hole if you ask me!! :)

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 05/06/2014 15:54:33    1598698

to clarify, the counties are in 2 diff provinces

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 05/06/2014 16:01:09    1598704

WTF Liam?

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 05/06/2014 16:01:41    1598705

He is entitled to play for the county he was born in aka address on the birth cert.

freetaker1 (Limerick) - Posts: 754 - 05/06/2014 16:05:15    1598709

Liam, we are FULL!!!!!!!

witnof (Dublin) - Posts: 1604 - 05/06/2014 16:10:06    1598710

its not Dublin lol
its nothing to do with Dublin
I dont want to name counties as it would be VERY obvious to anyone who knows him then who i am talking about

Arent you entitled to play for the county of your parents?
Do u need to play club in that county tho??

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 05/06/2014 16:20:18    1598712

I can't stand that bloody County A meself, horrible shower!

Ah no, ye daddys can cause a lot of problems when it comes to which county their children support, to answer your question I suppose you would have to move clubs.

Your post got me thinking though, Daddy's around my area have cause a lot of division, Dubs make up the vast majority of blow in around where I live and I reckon their children are split like this = 1/3 support Dublin, 1/3 Meath and 1/3 don't really care. There's a lad from Donegal (son supports Donegal), Galway (son supports Meath) plenty of land commision families (most descendants support Meath), Kildare (daughter is an avid Kildare fan) but mammy supports Meath (and so does other daughter).....it's like civil war in that household and when we're playing they sit well away from each other!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 05/06/2014 16:21:04    1598715

The first thing Liam is I think is that your nephew would have to transfer to a club in his favourite county. To do this obviously he would have to live or study there. After that presumably he would have to await the attention of the selectors of the county team.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2990 - 05/06/2014 16:27:55    1598719

You can play for another county as long as you have some assocaiton with it as far as im aware,

I have seen lads play with Mayo (hurlers) under the parents rule , but then again there were some special expemtions for the weaker counties at the time

HurlerOnTheFenc (Mayo) - Posts: 282 - 05/06/2014 16:55:18    1598731

Liam,
First off, I agree with you about his father & one root would be nowhere near enough in my book.

As I understand the rules he is stuck as an underage player with where he is. When he gets to move "habitual residence" then he can apply to transfer clubs & counties.

Seanie Johnston would be a good man to talk to!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 05/06/2014 17:09:34    1598739

Jaysus Liam - reading that has brought me back almost 30 years to the 11+ and their questions, the ones you needed a page and a diagram to see who lived beside who and had the green door. I am now going to retreat to the corner of the room where you'll find me huddled up rocking back and forward.

My answer is send him to County B - as long as its Antrim.

Offside_Rule (Antrim) - Posts: 4058 - 05/06/2014 17:22:12    1598746

Liam, no you don't have to play club in the county you want to represent.

Look at young Deegan playing club in Ashbourne and playing for the Dublin minors....

Although are Ashbourne and Ratoath not County Dublin now....??? ;o)

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 05/06/2014 17:29:39    1598749

Apart from possibly Geographical reasons, there would be nothing to stop the lad to continue to hurl for his club and play for the county of his birth.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 05/06/2014 17:40:56    1598756

Fionn: "Look at young Deegan playing club in Ashbourne and playing for the Dublin minors...."

How can that be Fionn? Under what transfer rule does this apply? Is it due to the fact that the was born in Dublin and his family moved to Ashbourne?

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2990 - 05/06/2014 17:59:04    1598764

you can transfer ,without question, to either of your parents home counties.

Baxter (Laois) - Posts: 282 - 05/06/2014 18:04:41    1598769

lilywhite1

1598764 Fionn: "Look at young Deegan playing club in Ashbourne and playing for the Dublin minors...."

How can that be Fionn? Under what transfer rule does this apply? Is it due to the fact that the was born in Dublin and his family moved to Ashbourne?

Deegan situation is similar to what Liam is asking. Deegan was born in Dublin and lived there till about 8 I think, but moved to different county and plays for club there. Its only if you have no affiliation to a county like Seany Johnston that you have to transfer clubs.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 05/06/2014 18:08:57    1598774

Thanks for clearing that up Ath Cliath. Obviously a player would transfer clubs as in the case of Liam's nephew since he is a good distance from the county that he now resides in.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2990 - 05/06/2014 18:17:15    1598779

Liam I feel your nephews pain, I was reared in a county 100s of miles for Kerry.
I was brainwashed as a young lad, kids now are put infront of Toystory I was put watching the Golden Years!
Years of abuse in school & club didn't make me change my mind.
Now in my thirties I travel up and down to Kerry, had a season ticket and every top/jersey going.
The hardest thing is my accent I get abuse from opposition fans and very strange looks from the Kerry boys.
Once last year I met Tom O Sullivan in Killarney prior to the Munster final he thought I was taking the mick.

Fair play to your nephew if his heart is county C then so be it and xxxx the begrudgers

westkerry (Kerry) - Posts: 1250 - 05/06/2014 19:25:50    1598815

we have lads from rathoath and the previously mentioned ashbourne who have manged to either under age hurling or football
for meath and then dublin its a farce and a disgrace

psychomick (Meath) - Posts: 42 - 05/06/2014 20:46:59    1598846

Just to clarify lads, its not the county he was born in he wants to play for, nor the county he lives in, its the county of his father. The problem is, his Da is from a huge rival of the county the lad now lives and was raised in!

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 06/06/2014 08:48:14    1598891