Show the game

RTE would need to up there game. the amount of time during todays donegal game when play was ongoing they were showing numerious replays. Then it was on the two managers as play was going on. And then it just took the biscuit, they started to show so guy drinking a bottle of water! all this when you could hear the game going on. The ball was at the other end of the pitch and back again before they came back to the game. For the donagal missed goal chance they showed the replay 3 times when the game was ongoing. lads thats what half time analysis is for....Show the game

THE EXTRAMAN (Donegal) - Posts: 548 - 25/05/2014 21:37:19    1593354

I've been giving out about this for years.There are way to many replays show after scores and other incidents in GAA matches.I'd say the majority of quick kickouts are missed by the cameras.Better off to show only one replay of a score and cut quickly back to the action.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 25/05/2014 21:45:43    1593358

Could be wrong but I think RTE would have got their live feed from the BBC.

Sideline_View (Tyrone) - Posts: 62 - 26/05/2014 09:40:58    1593394

seriously some people will complain about anything
sure if you watch the match on tv you dont see half the action as it is
as in gaa so much hapeens around the pitch where as the camera only follows the ball

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/05/2014 11:25:09    1593449

I think sideline_view is right. The pictures came from BBC so RTE are off the hook.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 26/05/2014 11:32:06    1593453

hill16no1man

seriously some people will complain about anything
sure if you watch the match on tv you dont see half the action as it is
as in gaa so much hapeens around the pitch where as the camera only follows the ball

ridiculous comment. the original poster is 100% correct. the production team should know not to show three replays while the action has resumed. we don't need three replays. nobody has asked for three replays or nobody wants them during the game and nobody wants a close-up of the tee as the keeper takes the kick-out. producer needs to be talked to.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 26/05/2014 13:28:36    1593535

s goldrick

yeah it happened once in the course of the day hardly a repeated problem
they are humans afterall not robots working on these cameras

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/05/2014 13:36:31    1593547

hill16no1man

s goldrick

yeah it happened once in the course of the day hardly a repeated problem
they are humans afterall not robots working on these cameras

I think it happened every time there was a score. It's not like soccer where the play doesn't resume for at least a minute while the players celebrate and the ball is brought back to the centre and everyone gets onside. In GAA the game can be restarted immediately.
There is no time for 3 instant replays. the time to show them is when there is a break in play or at half or full time.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 26/05/2014 13:44:37    1593555

i only noticed it once
and id be more concerned about the different way of analysing both matches yeasterday
the football focused on choke tackles and black cards
yet the hurling never mentioned waterford cynicaly holding of hurl
or throwing the hurl when player was already yellow carded

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 26/05/2014 13:48:18    1593559

I noticed it as well when watching the game yesterday evening but this isn't down to RTE.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 26/05/2014 13:49:22    1593561

Looks like RTE only showing one game again this weekend, the hurling game Tipp v Limerick.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11241 - 29/05/2014 10:30:27    1595038

Its like those annoying super slow mo shots the networks ae fond of at the world cups, you know the ones where somebody is patting someone on the head or looking up to the sky all while the action is still ongoing!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 29/05/2014 10:44:25    1595056

Sure half the craic is trying to spot someone you know in the crowd!
Some of the game the last day was more entertaining when the camera was showing the crowd!

But there was some examples alright where the camera honed in on stuff off the field for way too long and screaming at the telly show the bloody game for god's sake!

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 29/05/2014 10:54:10    1595067