Sky Sports' GAA - I love it!!

http://www1.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/gaa/9316927/tyrone-v-down-highlights

First Sky GAA news bulletin I've seen and have to say I'm very impressed. I love the excitement Jim White shows in the Down v Tyrone match. This is such a breath of fresh air after listening to RTE being their usual negative selves on the tie yesterday.

"We are loving this"
"It's got everything this"
"they don't hold back"

Put a big smile on my face when I heard it. I can only imagine the many people over in the UK being equally intrigued by what they saw. Makes me proud to be an Irish GAA supporter! Can't wait for their coverage to get into full flow and with not much on over the summer the GAA will get loads of air time. Brilliant promotion for our games.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 19/05/2014 08:33:17    1589701

'With not much on over the summer'?

Only the World Cup.

OgraAnDun (Down) - Posts: 406 - 19/05/2014 08:51:03    1589704

British broadcaster shows an interest in a sport which his employers will be selling. How exciting for all us GAA people Jack.

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 19/05/2014 09:03:32    1589708

Ye it's great to finally see our games getting the exposure they deserve, hopefully now they get the appreciation they also deserve, RTE beware, your half assed coverage could be under threat!

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 19/05/2014 09:05:05    1589709

World Cup is only on for 4 weeks. GAA season only gets serious in July anyway.

jpcampion (Laois) - Posts: 194 - 19/05/2014 09:06:55    1589710

So a 15second report and now you are convinced??? Lets just wait and see what the live games & Coverage are like before praise Sky as being fantastic. I'm all for Sky and love the fact that they are covering Gaa but some people are really getting ahead of themselves already

chriscart580 (Meath) - Posts: 376 - 19/05/2014 09:13:06    1589713

Judging by the response on Twitter to the gaelic football on sky sports news over the last few weeks I think lads are in dreamland if they think GAA is going to explode in popularity with UK residents. The reactions vary from "rubbish Irish football thing" "why is this Irish football getting more coverage than rugby" "why are sky forcing Irish football news onto us. #desperate". Even Jim White's reports show the presenters themselves see it as a novelty. It will be stuck out on sky sports 3 and 4 with the speedway and fishing.

It will be World cup on sky sports news 24/7 for the next 2 months. GAA at a push will get 30 seconds here and there on a Monday at 57 minutes past the hour

mike03 (Limerick) - Posts: 2000 - 19/05/2014 09:19:47    1589716

OgraAnDun
County: Down
'With not much on over the summer'?
Only the World Cup

Compared ot when the Rugby and Premier league, champions league, fa cup is on it's not much. They will have loads of time for the GAA.

pdempsey
British broadcaster shows an interest in a sport which his employers will be selling. How exciting for all us GAA people Jack.
Man City player shows an interest in scoring goals in a match his employers will want to win. How exciting for all Man City fans....
Are you alwayas this negative Dempsey? you'd fit right in with rte, by your logic rte are not selling the gaa and you're prob right.

And may I add a message of support to hoganstand, don't mind those grumpy gits who over reacted to your sky sports blunder story. It's only a bit of craic and people shouldn't have been offended!

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 19/05/2014 09:24:37    1589720

mike03

Very few people think that the Gaa is going to explode in the UK or anywhere else, I don't know where you got that from but the extra exposure can't be a bad thing that's all.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 19/05/2014 09:40:43    1589736

Couldnt the same be said of michael lyster, pdempsey? You are missing the point. It is refreshing to see a game of football spoken of in a positive light. It is also interesting to see what someone who has no experience of the game has to say about it. I find all this fault-finding we carry on with quite narrow-minded. Jim White cant pronounce the names, sky got the score wrong in a game, why do these thing matter?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 19/05/2014 09:41:22    1589738

Agree 100% master. I don't know where Mike got the whole GAA blow up in the UK thing. GAA has grown nicely over the years in the UK and this along with the new london gaa stadium will be the icing on the cake. It will make growth of the sport a lot easier but that's not what I'm even getting at.

I just think it's great to see them embrace it when our own national station will bash the sport whenever possible. Long may it last.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 19/05/2014 09:49:50    1589744

From an English sky viewer today "The Gaa highlights on Skysports news is weird but brilliant. Should be fun for the summer when theyre tryna pronounce some Irish names" I can see a lot of sports fans taking a causal interest an tuning in.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 19/05/2014 09:58:29    1589748

From a self described Irish Londoner "It's interesting to see GAA now being shown on Sky sports morning news and coming before the golf news. A new era dawns for Gaelic games."

Honestly the only bad tweets I've seen from non Irish people have been from the mad unionists up north who think the GAA is something else completely.

Jack_Goff (Meath) - Posts: 2920 - 19/05/2014 10:01:57    1589755

Stephen Cavanagh scored the equalising point yesterday according to SSN this morning!!

bumpernut (Antrim) - Posts: 1852 - 19/05/2014 10:16:53    1589767

I dont understand what people mean when they refer to RTE's 'half arsed' coverage! Take yesterdays main bill, Tyrone V Down:

1. THEY SHOWED THE GAME LIVE,
2. They gave analysis on the game.

I dont understand what more people want?
....cheerleaders,
....balloons and fireworks,
....entry to the dressingroom to see the managers speech in full HD,
....over enthusiastic sideline reporters barely albe to breath they are speaking so fast.

So what does 'half arsed' mean? Does it mean not having the false glitz and glam listed above?
What more do people want? What more could RTE have done to make yesterdays coverage of Tyrone V Down better?

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 19/05/2014 10:17:50    1589769

Hopefully they do it well. Sky haven't started well, with the report on NY/Mayo and not understanding the scoring system either, but hopefully they can improve.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13703 - 19/05/2014 10:18:10    1589770

The Sky thing is about money....nothing to do with RTE adding on bells and whistles in presentation

suckvalleypaddy (Galway) - Posts: 1667 - 19/05/2014 10:26:10    1589776

bumpernut

1589767 Stephen Cavanagh scored the equalising point yesterday according to SSN this morning!!

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 19/05/2014 10:28:46    1589778

BBCs coverage of Tyrone v Down looked good yesterday. McConville's knowledge of the game is excellent. I just don't understand how people get "excited" by poor coverage of our game by Sky. I won't be watching sky, along with the vast majority of Irish people.

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 19/05/2014 10:29:50    1589780

Our own Mike Finnerty is commentator for Sky GAA games I believe....not sure who if anyone else will be though.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11225 - 19/05/2014 10:30:32    1589782