Longest Unbeaten Records v Other Counties

Following on from the other thread, interesting to see how long unbeaten stretches v other counties go. In hurling , Dublin haven't beaten Cork since something like 1927. In football before 2011, we hadn't lost to Mayo in 95 years since 1916. It must be something similar with the likes of Kildare and I don't know if we have ever lost to likes of Tyrone and Armagh. Obviously, given the nature of the championship many counties will have never met or only rarely and have to exclude records against real minnows but there must be some other long standing records of note out there (Kerry have never beaten Down for instance).

KeyserSoze (Cork) - Posts: 363 - 07/02/2014 13:02:45    1542722

Is it championship only?

In relation to Dublin v Cork yes 1027 was our last win but we have only met 8 time since, 4 times in an all ireland final and didnt meet at all between 1952 and 2007! Hopefully well meet more often over the coming years and w can try and even out the balance of results a bit (11-2 to Cork and 1 draw)

Brianmac78 (Dublin) - Posts: 1168 - 07/02/2014 13:22:44    1542737

Had Cork ever beaten Dublin in Cork before 1989? Don't beleive they had. And only once since.

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 07/02/2014 13:33:09    1542745

Well they've only played 3 times since 1989 so 'only' winning 1 of them is hardly earth shattering. Cork didn't really establish themselves as a football force until the 1940's at a time when Dublin's fortunes took a comparative dip until the 1970's so I don't know how many times they actually met in that period.

KeyserSoze (Cork) - Posts: 363 - 07/02/2014 13:50:24    1542759

Dublin beat Cork in four finals before 1989 and 4/5 semi finals. So record is 10/11:2 for Dubs. Nearly the same as hurling the other way :-)

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 07/02/2014 13:57:59    1542764

Westmeath have never beaten Meath in the Championship. Louth have not beaten the Dubs since 1973 and Meath since 1975.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 07/02/2014 14:04:12    1542769

OLLIE
County: Louth

Westmeath have never beaten Meath in the Championship. Louth have not beaten the Dubs since 1973 and Meath since 1975.

Indeed Ollie was going to say that myself. Same province and all. Meath have never lost a senior championship match to Westmeath. Amazing

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/02/2014 14:29:46    1542787

Royaldunne hard to believe that. Westmeaths best chance was in that period 2001-2003. I say Dessie Dolan is still having nightmares about that miss.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 07/02/2014 14:44:43    1542796

I'd say we've a fantastic unbeaten record against a good few counties.... in the O'Byrne Cup.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 07/02/2014 14:44:50    1542797

Just so long as you don't take any pleasure in it royaldunne!

Last year saw Dublin's ridiculously long record of defeats by the Cats in championship come to an end after 71 years!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 07/02/2014 14:46:54    1542801

Slightly not what the thread is about but Leitrim have never beaten Roscommon at home in the championship. Considering we both take part in Connacht this is a startling record, any wins we have against them have all been in Roscommon and we have never beaten mayo away, we have drawn there and beat them at home though.

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 644 - 07/02/2014 14:52:16    1542809

Kerry have never beaten Down in the championship.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 07/02/2014 15:04:58    1542815

Portumna went 4 yrs without been beaten in any competition some achievement by a club with limited resources

ashguard33 (Galway) - Posts: 84 - 07/02/2014 15:34:16    1542834

Ollie I would know a fair few of that Westmeath team and to the man that miss still haunts them. One said that he would gladly hand back his Leinster medal for that ball to go over the bar.
Hurling living and working in Westmeath for along while now so I am very guilty of taken pleasure in it :). Its always a great way to stop lads going on and on. Ask any of my neighbours or friends :)

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/02/2014 15:55:45    1542846

Royaldunne its still hard to believe that he missed it. It just shows that even the best of them can bottle it at crucial times. Your on about Dolan saying that he would swap his Leinster medal if he did not miss that free. Paddy Keenan would gladly swap his all-star for a Leinster medal. By god does that chap deserve one.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 07/02/2014 16:18:18    1542852

I'm pretty sure Wexford have never lost a game of hurling to Donegal at senior, under-21 or minor level. Ever.

icehonesty (Wexford) - Posts: 2550 - 07/02/2014 16:21:17    1542854

Kerry went unbeaten v Cork in Championship for 8 years in a row from 1975 until 1982, playing 9, winning 8 and drawing 1.

Also went 9 games unbeaten v Dublin in Championship between 1978 and 2009, playing 9, winning 8 and drawing 1.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 07/02/2014 16:31:38    1542858

Cute Kerry Hoor

That is a proper good record. In the period 1970 to 1986, Cork football was actually in a very healthy state. In that period we won 10 All-Ireland titles at either minor or under 21 level. The fact that we could lost so may times to Kerry just shows how great that Kerry team were. While I believe that the best team ever is yet to come, that team is on its own in terms of being the greatest we have seen thus far. They have no equals or anybody that comes even close. Dublin won three All-Irelands in that period beating Kerry twice. It is a pity that we did not get a chance to get out and play them more often. We can't rewrite history but in Cork football history our best period coicndided with years and ye won.

We probably have a long record against Waterford and Tipp in the championship - not against Limerick or Clare though as we lost to them in the last 20 years.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 07/02/2014 17:29:25    1542889