Hurling bigger than football last year!

Should sicken some anti-hurling people on here:

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 04/02/2014 14:04:21    1541223

Brillant. Long may it continue. Not surprising though regarding the quality of some of the Hurling Matches last year compared to the standard of the Football. Maybe the tactics/cynical fouling by teams have been putting people off going to watch them.

martinprince (Tyrone) - Posts: 187 - 04/02/2014 14:18:44    1541238

I dont think this will sicken anyone, will it??

But for the record, let it be noted that for the first time in a long time, Cork were there to the end, let it also be noted the final went to a replay and that almost all Rep of Irish cities have a top drawer hurling team ie Cork, Dublin, Galway, Waterford, Limerick, Kilkenny and Galway

I fail to see why anyone would be shocked by this keeper?

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 04/02/2014 14:22:33    1541240

And yet there are those who will continue to criticse 'fussy' refereeing 'destroying' the game. Let hope we can bury all the ridiculous calls to go back to 1978, ignore the rule book, and use common sense. The refereeing this year was the best that it's been in ages, and it definitely contributed to the spectacle.

Culchie (Cork) - Posts: 799 - 04/02/2014 14:37:52    1541244

Jaysus; I'm well and truly sickened! ;)

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 04/02/2014 14:40:58    1541246

For a start, there are less matches in the hurling championship. For example, there are just 2 hurling quarterfinals - 4 in football. Also, hurling plays second fiddle to football to a large extent in the northern half of the country. So yeah, those figures are surprising.

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 04/02/2014 14:46:14    1541251

So why start your thread with such a provocative comment, are you deliberately looking for the football fraternity to have a pop so that you can say 'I told you so'? You could easly commend hurling for pulling in the numbers, no need for the sideways swipe.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 04/02/2014 14:57:54    1541260

I won't sleep now ...

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 04/02/2014 14:58:22    1541261

Well it is a much better game afterall, so why would figures not be higher?

frankbhoy77 (Antrim) - Posts: 1300 - 04/02/2014 15:02:03    1541266

I fail to see how this was possible seen as the allianz national football league had record attendances which obviously had more then the hurling league.
then the football championship had a bigger overall attanedance then the hurling championship.
if the football all ireland series came to 365 thousand and the hurling all ireland series came to 325 thousand
then throw in the provincial finals the fact theres four in football against two in hurling which obviously amounted to more attending the football finals.
to add more to it you can look at provincial championships and theres again four in football with far more matches amounting to more attending then the hurling.
then to finish it off there is alot more games in the football qulaifiers then the hurling qualifiers.
so unless im mistaking the hurling tickets must cost way more then the football tickets.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 04/02/2014 15:33:55    1541292

It will sicken some of those Meath lads keeper. Wouldn't sicken any normal football follower though

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 04/02/2014 15:37:15    1541295

I think football will reclaim top spot this year now that the black card is giving us good high scoring games.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 04/02/2014 15:39:57    1541299

It never lost top spot. Far more interest in the football championship. Football played competively in all four provinces.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 04/02/2014 15:55:27    1541316

Hurling replay of course helped this. There can be no doubt of this.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 04/02/2014 15:55:55    1541317

I find this really hard to believe. Ok, we had a final replay. And ok, the semi finals were the best attended in years. But apart from that, attendances weren't massive (people weren't that interested in this years championship until after Kilkenny got knocked out).

And given that there are far fewer hurling games than football, I find this a bit difficult to understand. I mean, the attendances in the Ulster and Connacht football championships alone are not replicated in hurling. Hmmmm.

Marlon_JD (Tipperary) - Posts: 1823 - 04/02/2014 16:14:24    1541332

The prestigious ulster hurling final played in 2014 with a 100 or so family members and girlfriends of players supporting the teams probabaly sealed the deal for us hurling followers.
forget about promoting hurling in most counties. There is a much bigger appetite for it in the States and Europe if marketted correctly

Fishermantom (Limerick) - Posts: 569 - 04/02/2014 16:33:24    1541348

12m. AI final replay surely gated 4 million minimum. So without the replay there was roughly a 4 million gap between the two codes?

DLGael (Donegal) - Posts: 111 - 04/02/2014 16:41:58    1541357

Brilliant hurling championship but final replay skewed the figures

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 04/02/2014 16:55:00    1541369

It couldn't have dlgael, if the AI was worth 4 million, then all the other matches put together would be less than that, not possible. Your point is valid all the same

flack (Dublin) - Posts: 1054 - 04/02/2014 17:08:50    1541383

Didn't know they were giving out prizes for the best code in the GAA? Nothing to gloat about. Agree with an above comment, you've more of a chance promoting hurling in USA than you do Ulster. Needs to be taken out of the ulster council's hands anyway. Don't seem to have any interest in it. Now that i think of it they're the exact sort of people this thread was aimed at.

RebelCork (Cork) - Posts: 789 - 04/02/2014 17:11:23    1541386