Kildare v Mayo

After watching Kildare and mayo yesterday I can only say that this stupid black cars should be black carded itself. Neither player deserved to go and if they did under current rule then why did number 12 from Kildare not go In the second half. It was a clear pull down. Magee and co. are making a joke of our game.

Crossgaa (Mayo) - Posts: 553 - 03/02/2014 12:43:21    1540498

No.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 03/02/2014 12:52:49    1540510

I'd have to disagree with you. Both men deserved to go. The black card freed up the game, cut out the pulling and dragging and as a result 4-37 was kicked, mostly from play. That's the type of football I want to watch.

Daith (Kildare) - Posts: 1171 - 03/02/2014 12:56:48    1540515

Referees, players and managers need to be given a few months before they'll be comfortable with the black card rule. It will benefit our game in the long run and people need a small bit of patience to get used to how it works. If Mayo were good enough they would've won yesterday.

pdempsey (Mayo) - Posts: 1313 - 03/02/2014 12:58:34    1540519

the game is full of contradictions in enforcing the rules. It is not the fault of the ref, it is down to interpretation, and it always has been a balancing act of sorts. The black card gives the ref new freedom to either enforce a yellow or a black rather than no card at all, which is not the way to ref a game. we will see.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 03/02/2014 13:01:19    1540524

I also agree that both players deserved to go, under the current rules. I still think 10 minutes in a sin bin would be a more appropriate solution, though.

football first (None) - Posts: 1259 - 03/02/2014 13:02:10    1540526

No way was AOS a black card IMO.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 03/02/2014 13:03:47    1540530

I only saw the first one but it was a clear cynical trip, exactly what the black card was brought in for. Nothing to see here, just another guy looking for excuses to complain about the black card...

CaisleanCnucha (Dublin) - Posts: 1379 - 03/02/2014 13:05:45    1540534

Agree with most posters here, the black card worked, both were cynical. O'shea puled the man down, he didn't pull himself down, definite black card, same with the first one. The cards and the ref contributed to a great game of football. OK consistency will never be fixed, for every 2 black cards given , 2 more will be let go in the same game, thats just the way its gonna be.

switec (Kildare) - Posts: 525 - 03/02/2014 13:16:01    1540552

A O Shea made no effort to play the ball. He played the man. I've seen it replayed and looks like fair call to me. Cribbin was more clear cut. Knew exactly what we was doing. It was still a great game of football. Espically for early Feb. Really enjoyed it.
A

Aido69 (Dublin) - Posts: 381 - 03/02/2014 13:29:37    1540581

The black card based on what I saw yesterday looks to be working.Defenders looked nervous and are only going into tackles with 100% focus on getting the ball (the way it should be).Yesterdays match was a great game of football and how anyone can complain about it is beyond me.Hopefully the more open football will continue and proper defending will prosper and forwards will be given a better oppurtunity to play rather than being dragged to the ground.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 03/02/2014 13:56:20    1540605

I don't understand why so many are against the black card. In my opinion it cuts out the cynical fouling and it doesn't matter whether a player is clear on goal or it happens out the field it should still be the same as players in the past were pulled down out the field to allow defenders to get back and cover off. I'm 100% behind the black card as it will lead to more scores and better games.

OntheWhiteSide (Kildare) - Posts: 452 - 03/02/2014 13:58:51    1540610

pdempsey

Referees, players and managers need to be given a few months before they'll be comfortable with the black card rule. It will benefit our game in the long run and people need a small bit of patience to get used to how it works. If Mayo were good enough they would've won yesterday.

Well said. I didnt see the AOS tackle but last year he was one of their "best" players at slowing up the game high up the pitch.
It will take time but may free up the game in the long run. Personally I think it will suit the likes of Kerry and virtually all the Leinster teams as they have always played "nice" football. Having said that, it will play into Dublins hands most.Who are going to stop there pace and power without pulling them down!! The introduction of the rule will have a much bigger impact than people think. We will be able to watch football again! The art of defending properly might be seen a bit more often now

tiobraid (Tipperary) - Posts: 4119 - 03/02/2014 14:07:53    1540622

I thought cribbin was a pretty obvious one, he tripped the guy with his hand. As regards AOS, if he got black carded for that then the kildare guy should have gotten the same, as they were both holding on as much as each other. For my money it was more of a small skirmish than a cynical foul, therefore I see how it can be a black card offence. I would say that come the championship that wont be a black card offence. Or at least I hope it wont. The black card is about removing deliberate cynical acts, not sanitising every bit of physicality in the game. There are going to be pushing and shoving, grappling and coming together, and most wont be the least bit cynical. The prevalent attitude at present seems to be everything is a black card, but the black card is for a very particular type of foul, yet we are seeing more black cards than yellows...

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 03/02/2014 14:15:52    1540629

Everyone focuses on players walking but ignores the times when fouls have been prevented. Eoighain O'Flaherty's goal is an example where last year he would almost certainly have been cynically pulled down for a foul.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 03/02/2014 14:41:34    1540659

Slowly seems to be a more balanced view of the black card emerging now from the doomsayers. Of the games I saw over the weekend there were very few black cards but there can be no doubt the ones issued were correct, and I thought the referees done well considering it is very early days. It was noticable that the standard of defending for a lot of teams is quite poor when they can not resort to pulling and dragging around the middle of the field to get additional players filtering back. So despite being told by those opposed to the black card that we werent watching negative football and instead these games were defensive masterclasses for the past few years, early days with this suggest there were a lot of bad defenders hiding their deficieencies in a negative system as suspected. Despite some managers saying the high scores are because defnders are afraid to tackle, I would suggest it is because many defenders now dont know how to tackle. The black card might also signal the end of the player who spends most of his time in the gym and very little time with the O'Neills, as it was shown in Celtic Park on Saturday that the ability to stick a shoulder in a lads chest off the ball will from now on get you a black card rather than hero status.

Soma (UK) - Posts: 2630 - 03/02/2014 14:42:12    1540660

doublehop
Everyone focuses on players walking but ignores the times when fouls have been prevented. Eoighain O'Flaherty's goal is an example where last year he would almost certainly have been cynically pulled down for a foul.

Im not convinced of that. I got the impression that guys were afraid to make a genuine attempt to make a tackle, in case they got it slightly wrong, as they see that black cards were being dished out for any coming together earlier on, and it was particularly evident on that occasion. As horan said after the game, tackling is a skill in football also.

Finally, come championship time and the guy will still be pulled down in that situation. A guy will take the line and be replaced rather than concede a goal late in a tight game. Fair enough in my book. The actual issue with cynical play up to now wasnt the play itself, it was the fact that there was no punishment recognised for the offence.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 03/02/2014 15:32:15    1540716

Ref got it spot on. AOS was simply playing ot last years rules and didn't want to allow Chalky turn inside and lay the ball on the overlap for a counter attack, hence a cynical foul. He made no attempt to tackle the ball and chalky made sure the ref knew it.
I'd agree that Hurley could have gone in the second half if the half forward was'nt charging looking for a foul.
All in all the black card is working well and AOS and others have to cop on to it or he will get the same in the championship.

jonno (Kildare) - Posts: 260 - 03/02/2014 15:35:55    1540721

Both black cards were spot on and both players should have known. Kildare showing some strength in depth and scoring freely from play and another semi final spot would be a good NFL for them. As for Mayo we'll learn more about them against Tyrone next Sunday 1-4 from play from their starting six forwards is not good enough for a side that is suppose to be a top five team.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3344 - 03/02/2014 15:46:44    1540732

Black card is good in theory. Application needs to come right, AOS a bit unlucky to go, Lee Keegan probably fortunate not to get one and a number of Kildare players were walking a thin line as well. I still think a sin bin for the black card rather than taken off and substituted would have been better.

Still- definitely helped contribute to an open game

roundball (Tipperary) - Posts: 2514 - 03/02/2014 18:15:39    1540852