All Ireland u21 football 2014

who do people think will be the teams to watch

rhudson (Galway) - Posts: 1478 - 18/12/2013 17:48:19    1525029

Tipp.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 18/12/2013 18:51:24    1525067

Dublin should have a decent team with Jack McCaffrey,Paul Mannion,Ciaran Kilkenny, Emmet O'Conghaile & Cormac Costello as key players

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 18/12/2013 18:51:57    1525069

I'd say Kerry could give a good account of themselves this year, under Darragh O'Sé's guidence

Horsebox77 (Kerry) - Posts: 5491 - 18/12/2013 19:51:51    1525088

Tipp and Dublin are strong going from minor 3 years ago. I think the west will be weak!

SamMaguire3 (Mayo) - Posts: 21 - 18/12/2013 20:13:34    1525099

3 strong sides in Munster with Kerry and Cork meeting in Tralee in first round, really looking forward to that, last 2 meetings have been humdingers.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 19/12/2013 10:03:33    1525174

27/09/2013 15:33:44

I personally can't wait to see this team in action next year; Kilkenny , Mannion, Mccaffrey , Emmett , Costello , Ivory, Carty, Byrne , Small, lowdnes, Scully etc.... People if this team doesn't win the all Ireland next season then I give up, I'm calling it the Dream team from now on.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 19/12/2013 13:49:58    1525276

I'd say Longford would take that Dubs team again.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 19/12/2013 14:27:23    1525303

On paper we are strong , some with senior medals , also as proved this year paper means nothing . Not every county can manage senior and 21s as cohesively as Clare this year .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 19/12/2013 14:39:16    1525311

Very early to say. But I would say the usual suspects. Mayo, Cork or Kerry, Dublin and Tyrone. What a change it would be to see Sligo, limerick, Fermanagh and Longford that really would be something.

bullring (Longford) - Posts: 204 - 19/12/2013 18:58:09    1525437

In Roscommon,Mayo,Galway Connacht has three All Ireland contenders and the winner of Connacht could very well add to Minor,U21 titles won by Connacht sides this year.

Mr_Pundit (UK) - Posts: 677 - 19/12/2013 20:55:21    1525459

19/12/2013 18:58:09
bullring
County: Longford

Very early to say. But I would say the usual suspects. Mayo, Cork or Kerry, Dublin and Tyrone. What a change it would be to see Sligo, limerick, Fermanagh and Longford that really would be something.

I'll give you Dublin who should win Leinster however Cork,Kerry have to overcome Tipp who have the pick of their 2011 AI minor team. Mayo haven't reached a Connacht U21 final since 2010 and Tyrone haven't won Ulster U21 title since 2006.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 19/12/2013 21:00:07    1525461

Tyrone could do well this year, there has been a refocus witnin the county towards the u-21s and the Tyrone minor teams are strong every year so the players being fed through should be all of a high standard.

geoff (Tyrone) - Posts: 377 - 20/12/2013 08:23:57    1525493

Very early to say. But I would say the usual suspects. Mayo, Cork or Kerry, Dublin and Tyrone

Galway have won 4 U-21 All-Ireland's in the past 12 years.

Mayo, Kerry and Tyrone combined have won 2 during the same time.

Cork and Dublin have won 5 combined.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2215 - 20/12/2013 13:51:10    1525610

Do ye guys follow the Cadbury's All Ireland U-21 Championship at all ?
Not a word about Cavan ?
2010 - Lost the Ulster Final to Donegal narrowly !
2011 - Ulster Champions
2012 - Ulster Champions
2013 - Ulster Champions.
they've got to be in with a shout this year, notwithstanding the difficulty of getting out of Ulster in the first place !

5allirelands (Cavan) - Posts: 90 - 20/12/2013 18:30:56    1525719

do ye guys follow the Cadbury's All Ireland U-21 Football Championship at all ?
Not a word about Cavan ?
only won three in a row Ulster Titles and narrowly beaten by Donegal in the 2010 Ulster Final !
surely they've got to get a mention ?

5allirelands (Cavan) - Posts: 90 - 20/12/2013 18:41:28    1525723

Galway have something like 12 starting players from last year playing this year and the only forward they are missing is the Full-Forward Adrian Varley so they are definitely in contention for the All-Ireland

boot_it_in (Galway) - Posts: 124 - 20/12/2013 19:35:57    1525740

True, Galway have a lot of last year's All-Ireland winning team back but the few players that won't be there are important ones. Both midfielders O'Curraoin and Tom Flynn and Varley at full-forward are all overage. They will still have a very good team if they can get decent replacements in at midfield but not easy to replace lads of that quality.

Marooned (Galway) - Posts: 2215 - 20/12/2013 21:34:45    1525775

Gaa_lover
County: USA

I'll give you Dublin who should win Leinster however Cork,Kerry have to overcome Tipp who have the pick of their 2011 AI minor team. Mayo haven't reached a Connacht U21 final since 2010 and Tyrone haven't won Ulster U21 title since 2006.

GAA lover, what exactly is the basis for your 'Usual Suspects Assertion!?' Have you something against Galway?!

Mayoforever (Mayo) - Posts: 142 - 21/12/2013 14:31:24    1525811

Read back Mayoforever it wasn't me but bullring from Longford that said that.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3347 - 21/12/2013 18:34:20    1525865