Black card rule to commence on 1 January

Tomsmith here

The black card shambles will commence on the 1st January for all adult games.
I just pity the first few referees who use it.
It will be great fodder for the so called TV pundits who will have a field day dissecting the merits of
No1 ! red card
No2 a yellow card
No3 black card
No4 a tick

God help the first few referees who sends wee Mary or Paddy off on a black card
We will just have to wait and see,

tomsmith (Cavan) - Posts: 3857 - 04/12/2013 10:51:04    1520384

I've heard rumours of certain referees in Tyrone who plan to ignore the rule altogether.

GetOverTheBar (Tyrone) - Posts: 1388 - 04/12/2013 11:04:35    1520390

shambles...that is all

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 04/12/2013 11:05:15    1520391

I applaud Eugene McGee and co's efforts to come up with ways to try to stamp tactical fouling out of the game but the black card will fail miserably. The sin bin for yellow card offences would have worked better in my opinion.

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 04/12/2013 11:21:27    1520398

Is the blackcard not just a return of the shambles of a yellow card rule they had in a few years ago?

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 04/12/2013 11:38:57    1520402

I don't know about the new rule being a shambles. I think it's a positive attempt to stamp out an aspect that's now prevalent in the game but has been brought to widespread attention by the Sean Cavanagh "tackle" and subsequent reactions to it. This was the most high profile instance that will result in a black card but in every game there are dozens of instances of body checking an opponent, for example, to prevent them running on to receive a return pass. If referees are strong and implement the new rules consistently then players and managers will have to adapt and the game should be better for this. Ultimately, managers will come up with alternative tactics to circumvent this or even make it work to the benefit of the teams but I'm prepared to give it a chance and see how it works out.

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 04/12/2013 12:01:08    1520407

The GAA can't win.

They get slated for allowing or being soft on cynical fouling. They try to tackle the issue and they get slated again.

Some of yis here like nothing but a good moan. Give it a chance at least before yis slate it. I think it'll work if it's implemented correctly.

THe main reason why it may not works is that players/clubs and counties won't bother to learn or the new rules. Thus taking their frustrations and laying the blame on the refs ccc's and everyone else rather than looking at themselves for a change.

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 04/12/2013 12:05:00    1520409

Let the farce begin!!!

"Lads, there are 10 mins to go and we have used up all our subs so start with the cynical fouling and we can get loads of fresh legs on to replace ye!"....."Yahoo, I love this black card lads, we will use it to win every game in this manner, its great!"

And so on Jan 1st 2014 the ruination of football begins!!

'The Black Card = A cheats best friend'!!!

Q: Who will win All Ireland 2014 / 2015 / 2016......
A: The manager who best abuses the black card system!!!!!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 04/12/2013 12:14:50    1520414

Snufalufagus
You obviously dont understand how the black card works, if u have used 6 subs and someone on the team gets a black card then they are taken off with no replacement, so not a great strategy that u mentioned there

Mayofc (Mayo) - Posts: 95 - 04/12/2013 12:22:21    1520421

Is there a banning system in place? As in if you collect 3 black cards you will receive a suspension?

header90 (Mayo) - Posts: 38 - 04/12/2013 12:27:15    1520425

Yellow card = 10 minute sin bin
2 x Yellow = 1 RED
1 RED = OFF

Only trouble with this is the need for an extra official at club level to implement it.

Don't see how this could not work.

shea (Kerry) - Posts: 409 - 04/12/2013 12:47:46    1520436

04/12/2013 12:14:50
Snufalufagus

Let the farce begin!!!

"Lads, there are 10 mins to go and we have used up all our subs so start with the cynical fouling and we can get loads of fresh legs on to replace ye!"....."Yahoo, I love this black card lads, we will use it to win every game in this manner, its great!"

And so on Jan 1st 2014 the ruination of football begins!!

'The Black Card = A cheats best friend'!!!

Have a read of this and then make judgement gaa.ie/rules

daytona11 (Kildare) - Posts: 4012 - 04/12/2013 12:48:50    1520438

Snuff, If all your subs are used up and a player gets a black card, there is no replacement. I personally don't like the Black Card.Prefer the Sin Bin, but I'll wait to see it in action to give it the thumbs up or down.

donegaldouble (Donegal) - Posts: 310 - 04/12/2013 12:49:04    1520439

Is there a banning system in place? As in if you collect 3 black cards you will receive a suspension?

It's on the way.

Also coming into force next year is that if you get two yellows and a red, twice within 48 weeks you get an automatic two week suspension.

donkeyford (Limerick) - Posts: 119 - 04/12/2013 12:53:16    1520440

GetOverTheBar

I've heard rumours of certain referees in Tyrone who plan to ignore the rule altogether.
\\

Thats not going to help the cause of the team in 2014 when they go out and play outside the county. I think that there are going to be some referees better at this than others. But it is an impossible game to ref in the first place. There are h8uge ambiguities in the rules that if were implemented to the letter of the law, would involve about 4 minutes out of 70 in actual play.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 04/12/2013 13:05:32    1520447

Is there a minimum timeframe for it? Can it be brushed under the carpet for 2015 once everybody has realised what a joke it is?

Hank_Scorpio (Meath) - Posts: 60 - 04/12/2013 13:17:36    1520456

Snuf is wrong in how it can be cheated but he is right in that it will be cheated.
Think of the forwards nowadays that hold a defenders arm and fall to ground to win frees. It happens in every game. or the players who lower there bodies going into a tackle so it appears high.

Now think of a defender running out from defense. They will fist it and run into the first opponent in their path and then hit the deck. The ref who is follwoing the ball will in turn give out black cards to the "sinner".

as much as it will get rid of the 10 tackles a year that deserve a red IMO it will also give way to a much more cynical aspect of the game.

Make no mistake it will have 3 outcomes
1) Failure and will quickly be removed
2) Failure and will be toned down so its only for very cynical tackles
3) Failure and the powers that be will refuse to do anything

I look forward to the coming season but I reckon I will be carded a few times with players running into me as at club level this will be seen alot.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 04/12/2013 13:48:56    1520467

Thats not going to help the cause of the team in 2014 when they go out and play outside the county. I think that there are going to be some referees better at this than others. But it is an impossible game to ref in the first place. There are h8uge ambiguities in the rules that if were implemented to the letter of the law, would involve about 4 minutes out of 70 in actual play.

I agree, it's just rumours to be honest but they come from fairly reliable sources as far as that sort of thing goes. It's going to be an absolute minefield, how many game minutes are going to be wasted due to the added 'admin' of referees going through the rules, explaining it, showing the card etc.

I just hope that this new rule coming in does work, and we don't have a team potentially losing an all ireland/provincial championship over it, to be honest, I wouldn't want any team losing any game over it. But by the time summer comes we'll all be far better off with regards to predictability and consistency...I hope.

GetOverTheBar (Tyrone) - Posts: 1388 - 04/12/2013 13:58:47    1520473

I agree with Shea, the rules need to be simplified for the benefit of the officials, players and the fans of course or we risk the game getting bogged down in the detail.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 04/12/2013 14:04:53    1520479

Replace 'black card system' with 'absence of proper rules around cynical fouling' and you have described the 2011, 2012 and 2013 championships.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 04/12/2013 14:07:06    1520481