Anybody but Ciarraí?

Kerry have 36 football All Irelands to their name out of 124. That is close to one in every four. I think that is reason enough to want Kerry to be beat in every game they play but it is a very hard thing to do because of the natural and talented footballers they continuosly produce year in year out and because of the beautiful style of football identified with them. Also, I was very impressed with and admired how gracious they were in defeat aganst the Dubs. Where do you stand regarding Kerry. Do you wish for them to be beat or do you stand back and admire them and not begrudge them. It will be interesting to hear what Cork, Tír Eoghain and Dublin folk have to say about this compared to folk from other counties. Wher do you stand on this?

Personally, and despite what I said above, I always shout for who ever is playing them - except if its Mayo when I stay neutral. One of the reasons for this is I feel Dublin have an opportunity, because of their young squad and the underage success over the past few two years, to win one or two more All Irelands over the next decade and close the gap on them regarding All Irelands won.

Where do you stand?

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 13/01/2012 18:36:57    1093280

Will you stop bitchin about the 2006 Semi-Final it was nearly 6 years ago and ye have won the All-Ireland since!

killer_88_ (Mayo) - Posts: 2040 - 13/01/2012 18:50:23    1093287

I'm sorry man. I cant get over it. My wife is Galway woman and even she thinks I'm going to far with it!

Culann (Dublin) - Posts: 2306 - 13/01/2012 18:53:14    1093289

I have to say I admire them. They're the team to beat. It will be the same this year IMO.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 13/01/2012 18:53:32    1093290

I wouldn't be an anybody but Kerry person. I always liked the way they play. Yes some of their supporters think they have a devine right to win All Irelands but these are n the minority. In fairness most Kerry supporters on here don't go on and on and on when they win an All Ireland. Maybe its becuase they are so used to it.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 13/01/2012 18:54:19    1093291

I don't begrudge them but I'm tired of people building up the myths about them:

- Their late 70's/early 80's team was a great great side but the way people talk about them you swear the game had no history apart from them and the way some of them seem intent on waffling about their own legacy gets up my nose
- The do not play especially beautiful football, they play as defensively as everyone else
- They handpass as much as everyone else
- The are not afraid to foul or waste time as much as anyone else

None of this has anything to do with the team themselves of course, just the way people talk and write about them. They're still a top side with some great great players. If a Dub had achieved what Darren O'Sullivan did this summer they would have almost certainly won footballer of the year. They also did win the Under-21 AI in 2006 so I'm not sure how much Dublin will close the gap on All-Irelands won over the next while. And no, I don't cheer against them more than anyone else, in fact since I've probably backed them to win I'm usually cheering them on.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 13/01/2012 19:04:02    1093297

The Kildare boys getting there dublin digs in as per usual. I know culann that mayo game still gets to me to this day. Kerry are the greatest always have always will be. Doublehop your talking rubbish. No other county has produce such naturally talented forwards like Kerry.if we don't win I love to see Kerry win.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 13/01/2012 19:20:09    1093312

I probably would root for almost anyone else against Kerry,but thats a compliment to kerry really.I still would have liked to see Kerry get one over the Tyrone boys though.

TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 13/01/2012 19:20:18    1093313

Its a love hate thing.One things for sure they have,nt got all those all irelands for nothing...

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 13/01/2012 19:29:30    1093321

Doublehop your talking rubbish. No other county has produce such naturally talented forwards like Kerry.

Where did I say this wasn't the case?

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 13/01/2012 19:49:34    1093341

well said dub1 also regardless of who they play win lose or draw they deserve the upmost respect,if im watching them all depends who they are against most times i remain neutral though dont cheer for or against them,but one other thing il mention when there in full flow there a joy to watch....................

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 13/01/2012 19:55:43    1093348

Who mentioned the Dubs?

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 13/01/2012 19:57:25    1093353

Always the team to beat if you want to win the All Ireland continually setting the standard in Football .

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 13/01/2012 19:58:29    1093354

Culann....

The Question on everybodys lips ? What is it .. About Dublin versus Kerry? Is it Hill 16 on sunny days in June, Or Fitzgerad stadium with the green and golden bloom ? , Is it Heffos heros or jackos fumin , is it paddys day and september dreamin ?, Is it U2 or Tom Crean , Is it Bernard Brogan or Bryan Sheehan? , What is it , About Dublin versus Kerry ?, Is it Kevin Moran or Colm Cooper? ,Or when paddy Cullen made a blooper ? Is it pints of black or Kerry gold , Is it fortunes made with tickets sold ? , Is it Molly Malone or Bogy the Dolphin ? , Is it ballybunion for the golfin ? What is it , About Dublin versus Kerry ? Is it Gay Byrne or the rose of Tralee ? , Is it the bomber Liston or the I.F.S.C , Is it brendan Bean or John b Keane , Is it Daniel o'Connell or Stephens green , Is it Michael sheehey or Ciaran Whelan ? , Or Grafton street with Bustlers screaming , What is it , About Dublin versus Kerry? Is it Brian Mullins or Paudi O'Se , Is it the Listowel races , Or the dart to Bray. Is it Rural Urban City Country , Is it Pat Spillane or Eamonn Dunphy ? What is it about Dublin versus Kerry ?

Its a special fixture and game to me man. There is something about it first and formost - Beating them in an AI final really is like winning two. Not cause of hatred , Through respect and awknowledment of how great they are

In regards to the Kingdom from my own personal point of view. If Dublin dont win the all ireland , Kerry are the team i want to do it. I have the utmost respect for Kerry and i believe that most Dubs feel the same and the respect works both ways. I feel i'm right in thinking the feelings you have for an opposition team are feelings that may have been passed on by your parents or grandparents before you. I know as a youngfella growing up i always went to games , And my grandfather always told me about the likes of Pat Spillane , Bomber Liston and so on and he insisted Kerry are a team you feel its a privalage to be playing, They are the best.. So in my lifetime of almost two decades , I always respected Kerry except for the 70 minutes of game time when , Off the pitch i find their fans to be phenomonal. So magnaminous and gracious in both victory and defeat. I've only got great things to say about them.

For me , Playing Kerry is as big as it gets. Simply no other sporting game on the planet compares to it in my own opinion. It means everything playing and beating them and nothing hurts more than losing to them. The only positive in losing to Kerry is that they are they best and most successful football team. I feel its an honour been able to watch the two teams take to the field and i always clap Kerry onto the field when they play Dublin. Its a totally different feeling than the feeling we get against Meath , no disrespect to the genuine Meath lads here , But playing Kerry , Is about playing the best team out there , Playing Meath and the attitude towards Meath is chalk and cheese

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 13/01/2012 20:03:59    1093364

I like Kerry, admire them a lot in fact and if they go on and win another 36 AI's its because they have done it on merit, simples, we all want to be like Kerry, some people just hate to admit it.

brendtheredhand (Tyrone) - Posts: 10897 - 13/01/2012 20:19:44    1093387

Thats FUNGI the dolphin Wayno1

TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 13/01/2012 20:23:22    1093392

My bad

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13654 - 13/01/2012 20:33:40    1093396

No harm done.I still have that epsiode of the Sunday game recorded.I saw fungi once actually.She must be gone by now.

TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 13/01/2012 20:41:56    1093404

Let's be fair the best always gets the hate..

As a Meathman I know we have had more critics whenever we won something,to be honest I would love that hatred to return lol

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 13/01/2012 21:07:17    1093425

The lad from Tyrone is spot on,we all want our counties to be as successful as Kerry.G.A.A is fueled by jealousy. For example(even before 2010) Louth
have a serious problem with the successw of Meath(compared to their own county),but why don't Meath have a problem with Louth?..

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 13/01/2012 21:18:48    1093433