The one handed hurler...

I was talking to my Dad earlier and he was telling me about a fella from East Limerick who hurled but only had one hand.

I said I'd put it on the main forum because he said he played county intermediate but doesnt remember his name or anything.

Did anyone ever get a shock at an intermediate game seeing a fella with one hand playing against them?

miketyson (Limerick) - Posts: 2748 - 12/01/2012 20:49:03    1092840

I went into the thread thinking you meant someone who could only use one side.......that is extraordinary though. Fair play is all I can say

doyoumrjones (Meath) - Posts: 31 - 12/01/2012 21:02:35    1092848

I'm genuinely interested in hearing more about this if anyone knows.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 12/01/2012 21:10:21    1092854

I never heard about him. But I remember being at the Joe Cooney school of Hurling in Galway when I was playing for Cavan U-16's. I think it was around 1998. Anyway, the Cavan panel were there for a week with the Antrim panel (God knows we needed it) and it was clear to see that Antrim were light years ahead of us. Well they were at the start of the week anyway. A week of pure hurling for us Cavan lads brought us on so much it was not funny.

Anyway, there was some very talented lads on the Antrim team, but who I remember is one of the Antrim selectors/coaches/waterboy or whoever he was (he wasn't a player with the U-16's). We didn't know what it he had, but he had a hanging stunted left arm, it was possibly polio or something now looking back at it. This obviously left things hard for him to play hurling, but he perservered and learned how to throw the sliothar with his weak arm and then strike the sliothar with his two hands on the stick. It meant he had to swing the hurl very close to himself. Because of his weak arm, it looked very odd, but boy could this lad hit the target, and with power too. I played in goals at the time and he never gave me a chance most of the time when he took shots on me.

It always stuck with me how this lad was able to play the game, but I think it gave him an extra dimension, as he was hard to read. I always thought fair play to the lad, and it was great that he was able to play the game he loved.

Loughduff Lad (Cavan) - Posts: 2383 - 12/01/2012 21:15:04    1092857

Not sure but i think there was a lad from Clare who only had one hand, it was during the 90's not sure if he played with Clare though remember reading it in the paper a few years back. There was a lad from Mid Kerry who played underage football a fewyears back

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 12/01/2012 21:15:22    1092858

I don't know about that but there was a lad playing underage football in North Dublin who had a prostetic arm.

It was fairly sore when you got a belt off it!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 12/01/2012 21:20:24    1092861

http://www.independent.ie/sport/hurling/its-just-second-nature-to-me-2392406.html

Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 12/01/2012 21:24:15    1092864

Yea moomoo you are right. As far as I can remember his father was plenty well known within Clare GAA.

I've a personal interest in this so I'd love to here more of these stories if possible.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 12/01/2012 21:24:25    1092865

Incredible story on that link, quite heartening and uplifting.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4896 - 12/01/2012 21:41:47    1092878

born in kilkenny no wonder he played they eat drink and sleep hurling ;-)
all joking aside fair play too him brilliant story.........................

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 12/01/2012 22:02:20    1092889

great thread miketyson, this is the kind of interesting story people should be posting.

Tom1916 (Armagh) - Posts: 2001 - 13/01/2012 09:06:53    1092901

I remember a Lad from Clara in Offaly who only had the one arm. The stump was at the elbow im sure. He played up to minor and I cant remember seeing him after that. Used to play midfield and was constant torn in the rhode teams side. A fit man. It'd be easier to play football than hurling though but still a great achievment.

Rhodejim (Offaly) - Posts: 2888 - 13/01/2012 09:22:00    1092906

Loughduff Lad -

I think this may have been the legendary Mickey McCullough, you speak of. Also known as 'Mickey Wing'. I think he is a hurling development officer in Ulster now.

Suas Sios (None) - Posts: 1550 - 13/01/2012 09:46:07    1092917

i believe the lad from antrim youre on about is micky wing as they called him , mickey mc cullough from st galls i think. Think he made senior for them.

DownAndOut (Down) - Posts: 344 - 13/01/2012 10:21:35    1092938

Suas Sios

1092917 Loughduff Lad -

I think this may have been the legendary Mickey McCullough, you speak of. Also known as 'Mickey Wing'. I think he is a hurling development officer in Ulster now.

Yeap that's what Mickey Wing was at the last time, also he transfered from Rossa to Dungannon, he also lined out for Tyrone a few times. I don't know if he's still playing?

ShowsFair (Fermanagh) - Posts: 292 - 13/01/2012 10:24:48    1092939

If any of ye know one of these players/ex players, Id be interested in getting in touch with them.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 13/01/2012 10:29:38    1092941

The limerick player ye refer to played with Doon in the 80's.
I played soccer against him, he was a tough bit of stuff. I cant remember his name now, but I will post when I get it.

Clubgaa (Limerick) - Posts: 879 - 13/01/2012 11:29:05    1092973

He was a Richardson lad from Doon. I think he works in Limerick County Council. I played against him a few times. He was hard as nails and very skillfull.

fattimmy (Limerick) - Posts: 392 - 13/01/2012 11:48:06    1092995

12/01/2012 20:49:03
miketyson
County: Limerick

1092840 I was talking to my Dad earlier and he was telling me about a fella from East Limerick who hurled but only had one hand.

I said I'd put it on the main forum because he said he played county intermediate but doesnt remember his name or anything.

Did anyone ever get a shock at an intermediate game seeing a fella with one hand playing against them?
12/01/2012 21:02:35
doyoumrjones

1092848 I went into the thread thinking you meant someone who could only use one side.......that is extraordinary though. Fair play is all I can say
12/01/2012 21:10:21
sedico

1092854 I'm genuinely interested in hearing more about this if anyone knows.
12/01/2012 21:15:04
Loughduff Lad

1092857 I never heard about him. But I remember being at the Joe Cooney school of Hurling in Galway when I was playing for Cavan U-16's. I think it was around 1998. Anyway, the Cavan panel were there for a week with the Antrim panel (God knows we needed it) and it was clear to see that Antrim were light years ahead of us. Well they were at the start of the week anyway. A week of pure hurling for us Cavan lads brought us on so much it was not funny.

Anyway, there was some very talented lads on the Antrim team, but who I remember is one of the Antrim selectors/coaches/waterboy or whoever he was (he wasn't a player with the U-16's). We didn't know what it he had, but he had a hanging stunted left arm, it was possibly polio or something now looking back at it. This obviously left things hard for him to play hurling, but he perservered and learned how to throw the sliothar with his weak arm and then strike the sliothar with his two hands on the stick. It meant he had to swing the hurl very close to himself. Because of his weak arm, it looked very odd, but boy could this lad hit the target, and with power too. I played in goals at the time and he never gave me a chance most of the time when he took shots on me.

It always stuck with me how this lad was able to play the game, but I think it gave him an extra dimension, as he was hard to read. I always thought fair play to the lad, and it was great that he was able to play the game he loved.

the lad you are talking about is indeed mickey wing, a great hurler and a great guy, met him once a couple of years ago out in owenbeg, i think he was working with the derry hurlers at the time

pig.ignorant (Derry) - Posts: 655 - 13/01/2012 11:55:12    1092998

you can find Mickey McCullough's contact details on the Ulster Gaa website link below.

ShowsFair (Fermanagh) - Posts: 292 - 13/01/2012 12:04:22    1093008