Galway referees to go on strike

I really hope the referees go through with this strike. The GAA have yet again failed to protect them from both verbal and physical assaults from players and supporters. Something has to be done, its ridiculous at this stage.

Its sad it has come to this but the lack of action from the GAA on this matter has left them no other option in my opinion.

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 10/11/2009 11:14:54    480080

Bit of background info for those who arent aware of it - it has been mentioned here but little coverage on national news. Mullagh v Loughrea in County Senior Hurling Championship. Sides are level with time just up/into injury time. The Mullagh full back catches the ball and goes to handpass it out the field. The ref blows for a free in to Loughrea which they score. Another minute or so is played and Loughrea win by a point. Mullagh fans are incensed by the decision and the ref is subjected to a tirade of abuse leaving the field. He is allegedly assaulted by three Mullagh players leaving the field. The referees report cites the players responsible and the three players are handed 48 week bans, and two mentors 4 week bans. Mullagh decide to appeal on two grounds - that the players never assaulted the referee and that the game/result should be deemed null and void as it should never have been played. The game was fixed by the board with the Galway Hurling board chairman present while he was suspended (for allegedly assaulting a Galway Senior Hurling Selector in the game v Kilkenny). The Mullagh appeals looked like it would postpone the County Final between Loughrea and Portumna indefinetly. The County board have revised their decision to suspend the Mullagh players and have reduced the charge from a grade 5 (assault) to a grade 4 (verbal assault) and imposed the mininum ban of 12 weeks. Many people in the county feel this is a compromise to get the County Final played. The referees are now unhappy as the County Board have all but ignored the referees report and are not standing by his allegation that he was assaulted. They have now allegedly/unofficially decided to go on strike. Cant see how this can be resolved. With no refs, we have no matches. Cant see how they will keep the refs happy on this one - they are not going to turn around and reimpose the 48 week bans on the Mullagh players. It may be possible to bring in an outside ref for the county final but what about every other match? Intermediates, Junior, Under21 and Minor championships still unfinished. An outside ref is also unlikely to cross "the picket line". A serious mess.

the.pundit (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 10/11/2009 11:30:52    480090

They've a tough job, especially in club games away from the cameras.

JPM1981 (Kildare) - Posts: 825 - 10/11/2009 11:35:48    480098

The referees may go on strike but what can they gain?
County Board will hardly reimpose the original suspensions.

Is it true that the referee may have named the wrong men?

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 10/11/2009 12:17:20    480173

The GAA is a farce in terms of appeals. We all know that if you throw enough toys out of the pram, you always win the appeal. If the initial reports are true about what happened, the GAA has to support the ref. Otherwise who would ever want to ref a match when the threat of assault hangs over you with no protection from the association.

Puddersthecat (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1692 - 10/11/2009 12:28:59    480193

Is it true that the referee may have named the wrong men?

I dont think so - I dont think Mullagh are even claiming that. I think they are trying to make out nobody attacked anybody. The ref would be well aware of each individuals identity anyway (it was a county senior semi-final) so that would be unlikely

the.pundit (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 10/11/2009 12:39:13    480204

the.pundit

Is there not talk of legal action because wrong man/men named?

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 10/11/2009 15:33:21    480370

News to me. Naturally, theres a lot of talk about this locally but never heard that story. Hopefully not another twist to this saga...

the.pundit (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 10/11/2009 16:29:58    480415

I hope this is just the start of it, and it spreads across Ireland. Ulster, Munster and Leinster.

This needs to happen. They are 100% correct.

AD (UK) - Posts: 29 - 10/11/2009 17:24:45    480475

As long as media icons like Alex Ferguson get away with harassing referees, well this is the future.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 10/11/2009 19:42:38    480582

So Alex Ferguson is to blame, of course he is,he and his team of anti christs baying for the blood of the ref every saturday.Sure no ref was ever abused or assaulted in dear old Ireland until the youth of the country were exposed to the diabolical game of association football.Get a grip Patrique in the name of God....

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 10/11/2009 20:01:43    480604

Hard to see how a county board can overturn a 48 week ban into a 12 week one. Obviously the referees believe that the referee in question for the game and his report have been slighted and that his report has not been acted on fully. Otherwise why would the refs be threatening a strike. At this stage it now seems that a compromise has been reached and the co board need to have the game finished and they need a Galway ref to referee the game, so perhaps this is the end of this particular dispute but not the end of the saga!

carlowman (Carlow) - Posts: 1821 - 10/11/2009 23:27:10    480722

Barnowl94

So Alex Ferguson is to blame, of course he is,he and his team of anti christs baying for the blood of the ref every saturday.Sure no ref was ever abused or assaulted in dear old Ireland until the youth of the country were exposed to the diabolical game of association football.Get a grip Patrique in the name of God....

You obviously are very young.

Refs were always verbally abused at the gAA, usually by the crowd, the players did not do it.

They were also assaulted. BUT if you did that, you got banned for LIFE, no appeal, no nothing.

That is what has changed.

Tell you what, you go and referee and let me know where.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 11/11/2009 00:27:13    480789

Patrique - I could be wrong but I think Barnowl is trying to say this has nothing to do with the likes of Alex Ferguson, that this has been prevalent in the GAA for years.

Looks like there will be no strike action this year. Rumour has it that they will go on strike next year unless the bans are reimposed and they just want to get this years championships finished. But to be honest, I would imagine thats all it is - a rumour.
http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=120263

the.pundit (Galway) - Posts: 258 - 11/11/2009 10:25:39    480900

Isnt ther referee now sending a report to Croke Park and isnt he also taking legal action against the alleged culprits. Maybe this is the way to go. If a few lads were prosecuted and dealt with that way it might make others think. Apparently one of the most vociferous of the mob is a referee himself.

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 11/11/2009 16:50:34    481299

Thanks pundit for pointing out the bleeding obvious! Patrique you are so precious, but I am not so young unfortunalely! I can recall refs being assaulted and the matter being dealt with in the grand old Irish fashion ie swept under the carpet because the offender was a star player on the county team.To blame Alex Ferguson or any other person is too stupid for words.

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 11/11/2009 22:04:48    481654

Barnowl94
! I can recall refs being assaulted and the matter being dealt with in the grand old Irish fashion ie swept under the carpet

I am from Northern Ireland. We do not enjoy that culture.

You touched a referee in Antrim, good bye.

patrique (Antrim) - Posts: 13709 - 12/11/2009 17:31:26    482318

Patrique, Spare me the 'I come from Northern Ireland' pomposity please

Barnowl94 (Galway) - Posts: 3150 - 12/11/2009 21:59:29    482550

BIG SACKS

The thing is if there was no refs they be no games simple as that and most counties refs do not get the support but the county am in at the minute the county board and refs accessor looks out for refs.

Dellboypolecat (Tyrone) - Posts: 15069 - 19/11/2009 18:55:22    488753

Dellboy.....

I am all for referees getting protection but in this case they were in a lose lose situation....... what could they gain?
The County Board were never going to reimpose the suspension and all the referees were going to get was more abuse for spoiling the county final.

If the only problem was the likes of Tarry Henry wouldnt our problems be small?

BIG SACKS (Tyrone) - Posts: 1681 - 19/11/2009 21:38:34    488938