Is cluxton still the best? Certainly has been the most consistent in the last few years. Murphy from meath is right up there as well. Our lad clarke is pretty good as well i must say. Anyone else? redandgreen (None) - Posts: 691 - 15/05/2008 12:54:39 19354 Link 0 |
gary connaughton of westmeath...brilliant and quirky blackyconners (Westmeath) - Posts: 39 - 15/05/2008 13:27:49 19376 Link 0 |
samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 15/05/2008 13:36:33 19382 Link 0 |
not only is cluxton the best keeper at the moment, i honesty, hand on heart think he is the best keeper in the history of the GAA. I have never seen anyone close to him. In 5 years he has made 2 mistakes. And ya they were costly but in terms of shot stopping, distribution and especially under a high ball,. honestly, i think he is the best i have ever seen. Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8170 - 15/05/2008 13:50:34 19393 Link 0 |
A fella I always thought showed a lot of potential but didnt hang around for long was Peter Burke who played for Mayo in the late 1990's he had amazing kick outs and showed a lot of bravery in the games that I saw anyway. The Bullockman (None) - Posts: 55 - 15/05/2008 14:06:00 19412 Link 0 |
Cluxton is an excellent keeper and in my opinion the best at the moment (not just cos he's a Dub!) Other keepers I'd rate highly would be Brendan Murphy , Diarmuid Murphy , Paul Hearty & Gary Connaughton. One for the future from what I've seen of him is Micheal Savage of St. Vincents who I believe is now part of the Dublin set up. dubupnorth (Dublin) - Posts: 1897 - 15/05/2008 15:04:36 19457 Link 0 |
not only is cluxton the best keeper at the moment, i honesty, hand on heart think he is the best keeper in the history of the GAA. I have never seen anyone close to him. In 5 years he has made 2 mistakes. And ya they were costly but in terms of shot stopping, distribution and especially under a high ball,. honestly, i think he is the best i have ever seen. Loyal2TheRoyal (Meath) - Posts: 4522 - 15/05/2008 15:06:37 19461 Link 0 |
think cluxton is by far the best goalkeeper about at the minute. 3 allstars dont think he is that old is he? prob needs at least a couple of all-irelands before he will go down as the best of all time. The best goalkeeper of all time in my opinion is another dub, John O'Leary samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 15/05/2008 15:28:44 19468 Link 0 |
Legend92 (Donegal) - Posts: 752 - 15/05/2008 16:42:36 19528 Link 0 |
Paul Given Lifford gaa yous don,t know him yet but yous will some day great keeper all round sure he has it in his blood he is shay given wee brother WEE MAN (Donegal) - Posts: 128 - 15/05/2008 17:55:28 19592 Link 0 |
cluxton wins this by a mile, connaughton ain't even close to cluxton. Cluxton is what every young goalkeeper aims towards, he is the best around.. nevergiveup08 (Monaghan) - Posts: 315 - 15/05/2008 18:41:00 19605 Link 0 |
cluxton at the mment just about most of the modern keepers are too big and too bloody clumsy eg mcconnell tyrone cluxton is a footballer though but like most the old concentration isnt the best needs to forget about the glamour and do the basics penalty record is poor and flat track bull paddy bradley made him look like the greatest of all time ps paddy the easiest way to score a goal is put it to either side of the keeper and not down his throat it will only make him choke something which is your speciality reddoctor (Tyrone) - Posts: 1241 - 15/05/2008 22:06:30 19661 Link 0 |
i said mad not quirky..damn you editor!! at least say hes entertaining..not quirky!! blackyconners (Westmeath) - Posts: 39 - 16/05/2008 00:00:04 19695 Link 0 |
agree with yea legend, totally, although i do feel that cluxton is hands down the best. feel a bit sorry for savage. very good goalie, would get his game in any countie, only that he's playin for the dubs. still will have to wait for cluko to get injured ( god forbid) or retire ( will be a bit o' a wait, cluko's only bout 25) lino_de_legend (Dublin) - Posts: 816 - 16/05/2008 00:34:51 19701 Link 0 |
Cluxton + Connaughton are probably both up there at the minute but Liam come on now Cluxton is the best in history? But like even in recent times theres been better goal keepers that he has to prove hes better than, ie Shane Curran Roscommon and Micky McVeigh Down. If any best position comes up you have a dub in as number one every time there a good team but as for individuals i wouldnt say that good. North Side Gael (None) - Posts: 1076 - 16/05/2008 09:27:48 19733 Link 0 |
To be fair NSG all the great goalies have came from dublin. Paddy Cullen in the 70's, o'leary in the 80's and 90's and cluxton in the 00's. Good reason for this, they were all brought up playing soccer and doing goalkeeper in the larger soccer goals by the time they turned to gaelic at 16 or 17 because they were not good enough for soccer they felt like giants in the smaller gaelic goals. Would be like a regular gaelic goalkeeper doing nets in the astro turk seven a side nets. Couldnt squeeze a marble past him. samin10 (Armagh) - Posts: 2434 - 16/05/2008 10:29:40 19764 Link 0 |
As a Monaghan Man it pains me to say it but the best keeper in Ulster at the moment is James Reilly of Cavan. Absolutely excellent in one on one situations. Can't say he is the best in Ireland as he has not had a chance to prove himself in a big match in Croker and the way Cavan are going it ain't gonna happen too soon. Cluxton is the best at the moment. The Hunter (None) - Posts: 22 - 16/05/2008 10:56:46 19782 Link 0 |
I have never seen cluxton catch a ball over the crossbar,I think the kerry keeper and Connaughton are the best 2 footiemad (Westmeath) - Posts: 733 - 16/05/2008 12:07:11 19846 Link 0 |
lads murphy from meath is awsome!his cv backs it up. Cluxton and murphy are in different leagues to any other goalies in ireland!!Conaughton is attention seeking and is not even that good in my opinion philips (Meath) - Posts: 13 - 16/05/2008 13:41:49 19926 Link 0 |
Best Football Keepers:1:Cluxton {Dub} 2:Murphy {Mth} 3: Connaughton {Wstmth} 4: Byron {Lao} Limerick4liam (Limerick) - Posts: 37 - 16/05/2008 14:05:32 19939 Link 0 |