No backpacks and large bags in Croker.

Is the day of the big flask of tea and a big bundle of ham sandwiches gone?
http://www.hoganstand.com/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=271866

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 19/06/2017 19:19:31    2002075

That's the world we live in today im afraid. People may say no jihadist terrorist attack has happened in Ireland but I think it's best to prepared than unprepared.

I think Croke Park are doing the right thing and all grounds over Ireland should follow.

pkboher (Cork) - Posts: 49 - 19/06/2017 21:18:43    2002132

Unfortunately it's necessary. If they introduced metal detectors I wouldn't complain. Better safe than sorry.

galwayfball (Galway) - Posts: 1678 - 19/06/2017 21:31:26    2002147

I guess it makes sense. These jihadists are at war with all western culture. There's a feeling in Ireland that we're immune to the threat because we're great craic or something.

What annoys me more is buying a bottle of water in Croke Park and having the cap removed because some gobdaw had thrown a bottle at a ref the week before. Pure reactionary nonsense. If someone throws a mobile phone at a ref, will we have all our phones confiscated? Or if someone throws a coin will we need to empty our pockets before entering?

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 19/06/2017 21:52:02    2002172

For those with kids it leaves the day even more difficult and more expensive. It forces people to buy the "food" and drinks such as water and minerals inside the stadium. Sad day

Chops (Westmeath) - Posts: 775 - 19/06/2017 22:23:36    2002199

Makes sense and it's just a case of get on with it. Attending US sporting events or any event for that matter is an airport style security check. The world we now live in.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11227 - 19/06/2017 22:35:24    2002206

a bit of an over reaction in my humble opinion, just another way of screwing more euro out of the paying punter especially those with a couple of kids with them for a day out having to pay over inflated prices for the same product at less than half the price out on the town. what next? a ban on long zztop type beards that are now all the style or extra checks for those with facial hair. Would make more sense to have extra checks on the streets around the stadium instead of overkill.

bulmccabe (Tyrone) - Posts: 361 - 19/06/2017 22:51:10    2002214

Replying To Chops:  "For those with kids it leaves the day even more difficult and more expensive. It forces people to buy the "food" and drinks such as water and minerals inside the stadium. Sad day"
as yew tree says we just have to get on with it

you can still bring in some food (two or three small clear plastic bags or A4 size bags and carry water with you),or put them in jacket pockets, you need a bit of sustinence with kids and or if doing two games in a double header,

being from limerick i suspect we wont be worrying about croke park this year

janesboro (Limerick) - Posts: 1502 - 19/06/2017 23:12:41    2002234

Something happens in the UK and immediately of course ireland has to copy.
had that attack have happened anywhere else these changes wouldn't be happening that's the annoying thing.
will the same apply to thurles or every other ground?
Well for Dublin matches going into hill16 these procedures have been in place since the ground was remodelled maybe now they will apply the same searching to the stands at least.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 19/06/2017 23:19:48    2002237

This makes no sence unless they search everybody entering a stadium as most jihadist terrorists use suicide vests & will still be able to set off explosives. I feel it's just the GAA saying they've done something while forceing people to now buy food & drink inside the grounds.

SligoNSEW (Sligo) - Posts: 15 - 20/06/2017 00:09:28    2002262

Sounds more like a cynical, economic decision to me lads. There's very little risk in Ireland, likewise most countries that haven't actively or tacitly supported "the international community" (PC new spiel for The Great Powers if we're honest) in the Middle East and North Africa. You don't see many attacks in Denmark or Romania either, do you?

I saw Stone Roses at Wembley stadium last Saturday. Probably 90,000 people and plenty had bags with them, including myself (had to pick up tour t shirts for friends without tickets). In fact, they only checked/noticed 2 of the rucksack's 3 compartments.

It's like the fluid ban going through to departures at airports. That's another economic decision. Oh, no it's too dangerous to have over 100ml liquid in a single container.............until you get through to departures and, remind me of the limit on the amount of liquid you can buy there and bring it onto the plane with no further checks.....that's right, as Two Unlimited used to say "No limits"!

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 20/06/2017 07:07:45    2002274

Surely it's not beyond the wit of GAA fans to bring food and drinks in in plastic bags, or have the food and drink before the match. I never understood fans who bring these rucksacks to matches.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 20/06/2017 08:04:53    2002280

Its awkward but I agree. When you see something as harmless as a arianna Grande concert (full of children, mostly girls) been attacked by these lunatics, no where is safe. And lets not forget one of the London terrorists was living in Dublin for a while.
The world we live in unfortunately.
Good move , better to do this now, can you imagine if something happened and these measures could have prevented it. ?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 20/06/2017 08:10:24    2002284

The last two Ireland matches in Lansdowne have had this enforced. A lot of backpacks being taken the first day but not so many the second game as people knew not to chance bringing one.

Also the strange sight of Gardaí with machine guns on the approach to the stadium all around leafy D4.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 20/06/2017 08:12:25    2002286

It's a bit tokenistic alright. Like the time we were all issued with the iodine tablets against a nuclear attack. ( That threat is as real now as it was then, yet we weren't issued with new iodine tablets when the others went out of date!) I understand why it's being done but the fact is, any jihadist with intelligence would focus their wrath on the hundreds of relatively soft U.S. targets located here rather that on an event that would really only take out Irish people.

PoolSturgeon (Galway) - Posts: 1902 - 20/06/2017 08:16:42    2002288

You would swear the title was food and minerals are banned from bringing in to Croke Park. You can still bring food in to Croke Park. It's just that large bags and backpacks are banned. You can bring a small bag or do what I do bring a good strong bag for life where I'll have my corn beef sambo's and flask of tae. I will actually be there in Croke Park this Sunday for the Leinster Junior Final between Louth and Meath.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 20/06/2017 08:35:27    2002299

People complaining about having to buy food in the stadium because of this, how many sandwiches do you normally bring in that you would need a backpack for them? Calm down guys, you will still be able to bring in your sandwiches.

the_walls (Mayo) - Posts: 495 - 20/06/2017 08:39:24    2002301

Backpacks and sacks - yes ban them nothing like making your way to the loo when tripped by bag and sent hurtling across three rows of seating!! But smaller bags are still OK, I don't think (hope) it was anything to do with a terrorist threat and more to do with a general emergency and people tripping and falling over backpacks and bags in the scramble to get out. Then again they could remove the glass wall at the foot of the Hill if they are so concerned about a terror attack.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4895 - 20/06/2017 08:49:52    2002307

Get a grip folks, i dont like it either but it is the world we're living in these days, if a bomb went off in a GAA stadium and there were casualties, the same people would be outraged and banging on about the GAA being behind the times etc etc. It probably wouldnt foil a genuine attack but it will make it harder to pull something like that off

Pikeman17 (Wexford) - Posts: 22 - 20/06/2017 09:42:02    2002328

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Something happens in the UK and immediately of course ireland has to copy.
had that attack have happened anywhere else these changes wouldn't be happening that's the annoying thing.
will the same apply to thurles or every other ground?
Well for Dublin matches going into hill16 these procedures have been in place since the ground was remodelled maybe now they will apply the same searching to the stands at least."
The fact that one of the London attackers lived in Rathmines for 3 years and had Irish documentation was probably a factor also. There are Jihadists living in this country, have no doubt about that.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 20/06/2017 09:43:18    2002329