Fair Play Tomás O'Sé

Delighted someone has spoken out about Tadhg Kenneally's 'recruitment' of young gaa players. Kenneally congratulating Mark O'Connor making his debut for the 'Geelong Cats'. I don't care what money a chap makes but surely it would be more soul satisfying to represent your native people/county, Kerry in this case, than the 'Geelong Cats'.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/toms-s-i-have-nothing-against-tadhg-kennelly-but-i-just-hate-what-hes-doing-35736839.html

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 20/05/2017 14:58:44    1988553

Replying To Laois76:  "Delighted someone has spoken out about Tadhg Kenneally's 'recruitment' of young gaa players. Kenneally congratulating Mark O'Connor making his debut for the 'Geelong Cats'. I don't care what money a chap makes but surely it would be more soul satisfying to represent your native people/county, Kerry in this case, than the 'Geelong Cats'.

Surely" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/toms-s-i-have-nothing-against-tadhg-kennelly-but-i-just-hate-what-hes-doing-35736839.html"
Surely that is up for the individual player to decide?

jamsie (Westmeath) - Posts: 443 - 20/05/2017 15:09:34    1988556

I'd say Tomas will be as welcome at Emmets as a dose of the trots after that...............

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 20/05/2017 15:20:18    1988560

Replying To jamsie:  "Surely that is up for the individual player to decide?"
An individual who has been pestered since he was 16 yrs of age. Too much pressure on a young lad.

If the game was soccer or rugby i wouldn't mind but Aussie Rules is a pretty primitive game in my opinion.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 20/05/2017 16:48:49    1988579

Replying To Liamwalkinstown:  "I'd say Tomas will be as welcome at Emmets as a dose of the trots after that..............."
I doubt that will bother Tomás too much. He won't be losing sleep!

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 20/05/2017 16:49:34    1988580

Replying To Laois76:  "I doubt that will bother Tomás too much. He won't be losing sleep!"
I'm not a big fan of tomás but fair play to him for doing that. It needed to be done and I hope other Kerry GAA folk follow suit.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 20/05/2017 17:36:29    1988589

It's all very fine and well saying that the GAA needs to do something to prevent this tapping up of young players, but how does T Se think the GAA will do it?

Gleebo (Mayo) - Posts: 2208 - 20/05/2017 18:22:41    1988598

I wonder if he'd be as vocal if it was a number of Mayo/Dublin young lads heading off?

Many counties have lost talent to other sports, soccer, rugby etc. but it's never made much noise and its accepted, if a young man wants to play a professional sport because he has the talent to do so then he should do it!

Why is it different when it comes to the AFL?

Kerry lads just can't look beyond their own nose down there and then use their favourable media positions to go whinging.

Build a bridge lads. We've all lost major prospects to professional sports.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/05/2017 19:02:23    1988607

Replying To Laois76:  "An individual who has been pestered since he was 16 yrs of age. Too much pressure on a young lad.

If the game was soccer or rugby i wouldn't mind but Aussie Rules is a pretty primitive game in my opinion."
... and football isn't?

Describing a professional sport as primitive is fairly ignorant.

It's years ahead of the GAA in terms of sports science and approach

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/05/2017 19:05:14    1988608

Replying To Laois76:  "Delighted someone has spoken out about Tadhg Kenneally's 'recruitment' of young gaa players. Kenneally congratulating Mark O'Connor making his debut for the 'Geelong Cats'. I don't care what money a chap makes but surely it would be more soul satisfying to represent your native people/county, Kerry in this case, than the 'Geelong Cats'.

You" target="_blank" rel="nofollow">http://www.independent.ie/sport/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/toms-s-i-have-nothing-against-tadhg-kennelly-but-i-just-hate-what-hes-doing-35736839.html"
You have to admit all the same that the name 'Geelong Cats' must be up there with 'Longford Slashers' as far as names go!

gormdubhgorm (Dublin) - Posts: 990 - 20/05/2017 20:19:51    1988635

Replying To jimbodub:  "... and football isn't?

It's years ahead of the GAA in terms of sports science and approach"
Mind who you call ignorant.

The game is a very unsophisticated game in my opinion. It's definitely less skillful than gaelic football. You are allowed to post your opinion on a sport without being called ignorant. But you look at everything through the prism of anti Kerry bias.

Of course Tomás O'Sé is going to feel it more when a Kerry chap is an aussie rules target. Laois losing Zack Tuohy was a huge loss to us.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 20/05/2017 20:53:21    1988646

Replying To jimbodub:  "... and football isn't?

It's years ahead of the GAA in terms of sports science and approach"
Also Lee Chin called out the amateurish preparation of ice hokey, a so called 'professional sport' with regard to alcohol consumption before games.

With regards to Aussie Rules just because a game has a more scientific approach to training, prehab, rehab etc doesn't make the game itself any better .

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 20/05/2017 20:57:05    1988647

Replying To jimbodub:  "I wonder if he'd be as vocal if it was a number of Mayo/Dublin young lads heading off?

Many counties have lost talent to other sports, soccer, rugby etc. but it's never made much noise and its accepted, if a young man wants to play a professional sport because he has the talent to do so then he should do it!

Kerry lads just can't look beyond their own nose down there and then use their favourable media positions to go whinging.

Build a bridge lads. We've all lost major prospects to professional sports."
Well said Jim, just because it's a Kerry man, it's now a problem....

It's up to the individual, if there offered the chance to live the life of a professional sportsman then who is Tomas o Shea or Anybody else for that matter to question the merits of it.... Tomas has been fairly vocal about the organisation that is the GAA, but tbh he is exactly like them as regards arrogance... I mean Imagaine, a professional team coming looking for a lad that plays an amateur sport and offer him a great life and income.... that lad should really stay at home and play with Kerry, please......

If he wants to stay then fair play... but if he wants to live the dream then who should question it or the system of them getting there....

ben1977 (Donegal) - Posts: 364 - 20/05/2017 21:10:23    1988653

Replying To jimbodub:  "I wonder if he'd be as vocal if it was a number of Mayo/Dublin young lads heading off?

Build a bridge lads. We've all lost major prospects to professional sports."
Firstly, there is no more talent required to play most professional sports than top level football or hurling. We have a habit of putting pro sports up on a pedestal.

The problem I and others i think have with this AFL recruitment is that it is totally different from losing players to soccer or rugby. If a young fella wants to play soccer or rugby he goes to a soccer or rugby club and trains for that sport. No one is choosing to play aussie rules as a kid, the aussies are just sitting back and letting GAA volunteers train up these talented players and swiping them as they are just about to fulfill their potential. That's the frustration, amateur GAA trainers are giving their time in the hope of creating a star for their club.

dahayeser (Cork) - Posts: 337 - 20/05/2017 21:38:49    1988661

Replying To Laois76:  "Mind who you call ignorant.

The game is a very unsophisticated game in my opinion. It's definitely less skillful than gaelic football. You are allowed to post your opinion on a sport without being called ignorant. But you look at everything through the prism of anti Kerry bias.

Of course Tomás O'Sé is going to feel it more when a Kerry chap is an aussie rules target. Laois losing Zack Tuohy was a huge loss to us."
Aussie rules isn't skilful?

Yet GAA players skills transfer so well to it and they are actively targeting some of our top prospects

Doesn't say much about football then does it?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/05/2017 21:45:51    1988666

Replying To dahayeser:  "Firstly, there is no more talent required to play most professional sports than top level football or hurling. We have a habit of putting pro sports up on a pedestal.

The problem I and others i think have with this AFL recruitment is that it is totally different from losing players to soccer or rugby. If a young fella wants to play soccer or rugby he goes to a soccer or rugby club and trains for that sport. No one is choosing to play aussie rules as a kid, the aussies are just sitting back and letting GAA volunteers train up these talented players and swiping them as they are just about to fulfill their potential. That's the frustration, amateur GAA trainers are giving their time in the hope of creating a star for their club."
Good post

But let me get this straight

If a GAA volunteer trains up a young lad and dedicates their time in shaping him to become the best

It's ok for the lad to leave to play soccer/rugby but not AFL?

So soccer scouts / rugby scouts sitting back and letting someone else do all the work is grand?

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/05/2017 22:13:38    1988668

If lads have the chance to get paid for playing a sport then they should take it.

Gaa doesn't put food on the table.

sponger (Wicklow) - Posts: 2897 - 20/05/2017 22:17:25    1988669

Replying To jimbodub:  "
Replying To Laois76:  "Mind who you call ignorant.

Of course Tomás O'Sé is going to feel it more when a Kerry chap is an aussie rules target. Laois losing Zack Tuohy was a huge loss to us."
Aussie rules isn't skilful?

Yet GAA players skills transfer so well to it and they are actively targeting some of our top prospects

Doesn't say much about football then does it?"
Yes. Catching, kicking, athleticism, hand to eye co-ordination are common to both games but i feel gaelic football has more skills.

Regardless of what county we are from David Clifford would be a huge loss to our game. He has the potential to be an all time great. Size, pace, skill, fielding ability, vision..etc. I for one can't stomach him being poached to Aussie Rules. I want to watch that fella play at his peak in Croke Park.

For reasons peculiar to me i have no problem with a fella playing rugby and most especially soccer. I know Aussie Rules is a pro game but i can't put it in the same ball park as soccer and rugby.

I also have a sour taste in my mouth from many Compromise Rules series, especially 2005 and 2006 where the Aussies reveled in rough house tactics. Because they were bench pressing their 120 Kg and knew they were physically far more powerful than the Irish. I remember the clothes line tackles on Phillip Jordan and Tom Kelly. I detest that culture. It annoys me seeing our talent going into that pseudo macho culture.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 20/05/2017 22:25:44    1988671

Soccer and rugby is taking a lot more of our prospects, I believe Kerry GAA's prominent positioning in the media is greatly over blowing this

It's no doubt a self serving agenda but they are using the national media to achieve it

Players are lost all the time to professional sports, but it becomes of "National" importance when a couple of Kerry lads are involved

Hmmm

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 20/05/2017 22:30:58    1988673

here is a different perspective.

Former Cavan footballer and current AFL coach Nicholas Walsh has rejected criticism of the recruitment of GAA players by AFL clubs, writes Daragh Ó Conchúir.
Walsh, who has been part of the coaching staff since the GWS Giants' inaugural season in 2012, dismisses the depiction of recruiters as bogeymen luring unsuspecting youngsters away from a purer life.
He also rejects the notion that the GAA, who he worked for as children games' development officer having previously spent five years as development officer of Cavan GAA, should be doing more to prevent players being offered the possibility of earning a living as sportsmen.

The former Breffni star's own bid for success as a player was scuppered by injuries and he returned home after three years.
"I used to watch it on TV with my Dad, every Saturday morning on TnaG (TG4) as it was at the time" says Walsh.
"I always said to myself that if I was ever given an opportunity to play professional sport, I would love it, and that Aussie rules was the game that was closest to Gaelic football that would enable me to do it.
"The players coming over, they're given an opportunity.
"I'm not saying it's for everyone because it's not. You had the likes of Seán Cavanagh, who decided not to come and he's very happy with that. He's played 15 years for Tyrone, has three All-Irelands under his belt, numerous All Stars, a good job and a lovely family. It was the best decision for him.
"Other guys came and didn't make it like myself and numerous others. And then you have maybe four or five others that have really made it since 1984. Why are people so bothered?
"Looking into it, most of the players that have gone back to Ireland have been successful enough with their counties too, bar a couple."
Only 50 players have signed contracts with AFL clubs since the late Seán Wight was recruited by Melbourne Demons in 1982. Apart from Wight, only Jim Stynes, Tadhg Kennelly, Pearce Hanley and Zach Tuohy have played more than 100 games.

Tadhg Kennelly
Stynes is the sole GAA recruit to win a Brownlow medal as player of the year and Kennelly, the only Grand Final winner.
On Saturday, dual All-Ireland winner with Kerry, Mark O'Connor became just the 20th former GAA player to play in the AFL when making his debut for Geelong.
Walsh notes that established players are taking time out in the middle of their GAA careers to pursue social or professional opportunities. Waterford hurler Tom Devine is the latest to do so, with the likes of footballers Jack McCaffrey (Dublin) and Jamie Clarke (Armagh) now returned after taking time out.
Another Dublin All Star Rory O'Carroll is missing his second season however, having gone to New Zealand, while Paul Durcan has not played for Donegal either since 2015 after moving to Qatar.
In that context, Walsh cannot comprehend the negativity surrounding young players trying their hands at the professional game.
"It's an experience. If I had a young son and I was living in Ireland, and he wanted to go to Australia or even go play soccer in England, I'd never stand in his way. People talk about the love of the club - I still love Cavan Gaels and every time I'm home I go to watch the games, but there was an opportunity for me.
"It's the player's choice at the end of the day. Ciarán Kilkenny decided that it wasn't for him and he's gone home and won three All-Irelands.
"It's very hard to make it and very few do. But I don't understand why some people view it as a threat. For a start, the stats tell you that very few make it and players return home having been exposed to a professional high-performance set-up. They also have the traveling thing done and are of an age when they're ready to step up to inter-county level.
"But apart from that, it's no different to going to America or anywhere else to get a job. It's an opportunity and most of us growing up dreamed of playing sport for a living. It's the dream."

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 20/05/2017 22:44:26    1988675