Exiles hit back in emigration debate

The Dubs started this themselves with their suggestion that Dublin be a Province.

There is a very easy way of doing a split: County Boundaries------- Fingal, Dublin, Douth Dublin, Dun Laoghaire,

Now if that were to be done the question would have to ve asked: Tipp is made up of 2 actual Civil Counties !!!!!

Dont see it happening any time soon, as Colm O'R said, but why are Dub posters so fired up to have a go at people who are discussing an idea that they themselves created ?

KELF (Kildare) - Posts: 775 - 07/03/2013 20:59:11    1345054

but why are Dub posters so fired up to have a go at people who are discussing an idea

That is the thing KELF, I dont understand for the life of me why there is such a level of resistance to even discussing it. There is a lot of room on this subject for good debate also, but we just are not being allowed to do it. For instance, you could go further and discuss why people think that dublin have never managed to dominate like they probably should have thus far. And what changes have made them start to come to life in the underage grades etc. There is a whole subject matter here, but people cant get beyond this 'you arent splitting up my county' bit. If everyone took that attitude when the subject matter happened to be about their own county then there would be no debate on the forum.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 08/03/2013 10:00:06    1345163

Dublin looking for a change of status has nothing to do with splitting the County into 4 KELF

Please explain to me how you came to that conclusion?

The Dublin CB has never suggested splittng the county into 4 or 2 or 3 or 5 or whatever... so what are you talking about?

We've never made this suggestion. It's been demanded of us by people with little or no knowledge of Dublin GAA... Which I see KELF you may just be a new member.

This debate was over long ago... yet those who just cant accept that because they were pretty much shown up...

Have to keep it going to try and save face...

I mean the GAA has announced that there's nothing in this... our so called "domination" (more culchie hype) was shown up in Parnell Park the other night by an excellent Longford performance

Yet... the same bloated opinions continue. Build a bridge lads...

Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 480 - 08/03/2013 10:34:32    1345195

KELF

Show us where in the blue wave report that it suggests that Dublin be split?

Cork, Tipperary, Waterford, Limerick, Galway all have administrative splits.

The Master keeps saying that the Dubs have a resistance to discussing this issue which is laughable. Asking the questions of how and why is discussing this issue but he doesn't think it is because he can't adequately answer the questions.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 08/03/2013 10:36:35    1345198

MesAmis, you refuse to talk about anything other than the exact, physical specifics of the split. But nobody has come on claiming that they have the the exact way to split up dublin and that it cant be done any other way.furthermore, the thread isnt called 'what are the exact borders for the 2 teams in dublin'. Start a thread on it if this is the subject that interestes you. Surely for the purpose of this argument, we can assume that it is done the fairest way possible? If someone said to me, as an example to split up mayo, put north and west together, put south and east together, and then add/remove bordering towns to balance the population of each section, I would say fair enough, indeed, any fair minded person would. All this nonsense you are pushing is just a smoke screen. A way of disengaging and ultimately derailing the debate. But if everyone took that approach when the topic of conversation happened to concern their own county, there would be no forum. Now you can keep up this pretence if you like, but the above is true. You know it and I know it.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 08/03/2013 11:14:47    1345239

Also, mesamis, in case you missed it, it was kelf that pointed out the resistance to debate, I simply agreed with him.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 08/03/2013 11:15:51    1345240

MesAmis, you refuse to talk about anything other than the exact, physical specifics of the split. But nobody has come on claiming that they have the the exact way to split up dublin and that it cant be done any other way.furthermore, the thread isnt called 'what are the exact borders for the 2 teams in dublin'. Start a thread on it if this is the subject that interestes you. Surely for the purpose of this argument, we can assume that it is done the fairest way possible? If someone said to me, as an example to split up mayo, put north and west together, put south and east together, and then add/remove bordering towns to balance the population of each section, I would say fair enough, indeed, any fair minded person would. All this nonsense you are pushing is just a smoke screen. A way of disengaging and ultimately derailing the debate. But if everyone took that approach when the topic of conversation happened to concern their own county, there would be no forum. Now you can keep up this pretence if you like, but the above is true. You know it and I know it.

I've posted on the two most important things in this issue. The how and the why.

You've not liked me doing so but until they're both explained there is nothing to debate. They are the only things to debate and discuss in this issue.

There is nothing else to talk about in the discussion but the how and the why. Thus far you've offered no explanation of them.

I've asked you for an explanation of how it would be done and you've failed to respond.

I've asked you for an explanation of why it should be done and you've changed your answer round and round and ultimately made no sense.

Yet I'm the one who is resisting debate? Good effort Master, your planned destruction of Dublin GAA has no support around the country, it was an overreaction to a bad Carlow U21 team, it has no support in Dublin. It'll never happen, deal with it.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 08/03/2013 12:08:43    1345288

Yet I'm the one who is resisting debate? Good effort Master, your planned destruction of Dublin GAA has no support around the country, it was an overreaction to a bad Carlow U21 team, it has no support in Dublin. It'll never happen, deal with it.

+1

Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 480 - 08/03/2013 12:40:06    1345313

This thread has brought the culchie hype machine to all new levels...

Well said Mes Amis

I can't believe this thread has gone on for so long...

As I said... build a bridge lads. Your pointless crusades and calls for "debate" on a nonsensical topic are over.

The lack of knowledge displayed on this thread is a real eye opener as to the mindset of those calling for Dublin's split.

They have no interest in fairness. Only their own personal agenda's… and that let me tell you will never come into existence.

1 DUBLIN 1 TEAM and until WE change our mind... you'd want to accept it.

You'd think you'd be use to the idea by now…

Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 480 - 08/03/2013 12:48:06    1345322

I have told you the how and why. Your response is for more and more specific detals until such point that the plan is ready to go ahead this evening. There is no requirement for such detail, these things can be worked out with due process, and your insistance on it at this point is a smoke screen. Furthermore, the reality is if dublin cannot find an even split, which is nonsense, because they have already done so with their development squads, then really that is their issue. It doesnt mean they can continue to have an advantage over everyone else. If mayo started last saturdays game with 16 men, and said, well we cant decide on 15 so we are playing 16, Im sure you would have enough to say on the matter. So in reality, no matter what way you want to spin this, your point holds no water. Also, you never gave an explanation as to why you feel that dublin need 10 times the average to be competitive.

Also, you are fully aware that this debate was started before the game with carlow. You decide to purposely lie for some reason.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 08/03/2013 12:59:13    1345333

The Master

Furthermore, the reality is if dublin cannot find an even split, which is nonsense, because they have already done so with their development squads, then really that is their issue. It doesnt mean they can continue to have an advantage over everyone else. If mayo started last saturdays game with 16 men, and said, well we cant decide on 15 so we are playing 16, Im sure you would have enough to say on the matter. So in reality, no matter what way you want to spin this, your point holds no water.

1. If the rest of the country cannot find a way to compete with us all conquering Dubs, then really that is their issue as you say.

2. Mayo had an extra man last week and we still beat you so I would not fear 16 or 26 of ya's :) .

3. In reality no matter what way you continue to spin (your self proclaimed debate) the split will not happen and what happens internally within Dublin Gaa is of no concern of yours.

Bluewave (Dublin) - Posts: 552 - 08/03/2013 13:21:59    1345356

I have told you the how and why. Your response is for more and more specific detals until such point that the plan is ready to go ahead this evening. There is no requirement for such detail, these things can be worked out with due process, and your insistance on it at this point is a smoke screen. Furthermore, the reality is if dublin cannot find an even split, which is nonsense, because they have already done so with their development squads, then really that is their issue. It doesnt mean they can continue to have an advantage over everyone else. If mayo started last saturdays game with 16 men, and said, well we cant decide on 15 so we are playing 16, Im sure you would have enough to say on the matter. So in reality, no matter what way you want to spin this, your point holds no water. Also, you never gave an explanation as to why you feel that dublin need 10 times the average to be competitive.

Also, you are fully aware that this debate was started before the game with carlow. You decide to purposely lie for some reason.

You gotta love it! You claim in your last post that there's no requirement for you to provide details of your points! The arrogance man!

When did this debate start? In 2002 when it was completely shot down?

And resurfaces after all those years after Carlow fail to prepare properly for an U21 match.

The Master is allowed say what he wants but no one is allowed to ask him any questions about it and he doesn't have to give any details of his mad schemes! As he pointed out in his above post. I mean do you want people to debate with or just flat out agree with everything you say, no matter how absurd?

I frankly shock that you've not being able to defend your argument at all. You seem to genuinely believe in it yet haven't put any thought into it whatsoever.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 08/03/2013 13:22:36    1345358

You gotta love it! You claim in your last post that there's no requirement for you to provide details of your points! The arrogance man!

No that isnt what was claimed at all. There was enough detail provided for the debate to carry on. But keep running, hiding, refusing to address things put to you. Frankly, I thought you had a bit more substance

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 08/03/2013 13:49:45    1345386

1. If the rest of the country cannot find a way to compete with us all conquering Dubs, then really that is their issue as you say.

We are finding a way. That way is making things fair. Hence the debate. If dublin were to be all-conquering after this occurred then I would say fair play to them. They won it on an even playing field. Do you not think they can win on an even playing field?

2. Mayo had an extra man last week and we still beat you so I would not fear 16 or 26 of ya's :) .

A nonsense point, which hides from the real issue. I could go down the line of semi-finals, but then that is just a petty way to go about things. An advantage makes things unfair. End of story.

3. In reality no matter what way you continue to spin (your self proclaimed debate) the split will not happen and what happens internally within Dublin Gaa is of no concern of yours

What does that matter? Simply saying 'this isnt going to happen' over and over is beside the point. My point is about the interest of fair play, and what should happen. Whether it is going to happen or not doesnt change whether it is fair or not.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 08/03/2013 14:02:57    1345394

No that isnt what was claimed at all. There was enough detail provided for the debate to carry on. But keep running, hiding, refusing to address things put to you. Frankly, I thought you had a bit more substance

Again it's somehow my fault that you cannot back up his absurd idea.

I asked some questions, how and why.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 08/03/2013 14:07:49    1345404

It was backed up to the level necessary for this debate. 'How' and 'why' can you not understand that?

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 08/03/2013 14:26:33    1345424

themaster you're some laugh

Arrogance that a Dub would be proud of…

Fair play to you... you'd want to sharpen the shovel because that's some hole that you're digging...

Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 480 - 08/03/2013 14:52:51    1345454

The Master

You've not backed them up.

You've given a very vague and loose idea of your split. First in four then in two then back to four. .....

Your idea of why it should happen has veered between your fantasy of Dublin domination of football, hurling and Camogie at underage and senior levels, something you've no evidence to back up, to population levels which haven't produced dominance thus far in the history of the GAA.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 08/03/2013 16:27:30    1345542

The only fantasy on here MesAmis, is you thinking that people cant see through your stance on this subject.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 08/03/2013 16:48:53    1345569

This thread needs to renamed to the

"I'm a better debater than you... no you're not.. Yes I am..." Thread

But we all know themasterdebater around here

Beelzedub (Dublin) - Posts: 480 - 08/03/2013 16:50:02    1345571