Division One 2013

OLLIE
County: Louth

Dublin to win it. Semi-finals: Dublin, Donegal, Cork and Kerry. Relegated: Kildare and Down.

Still on course for the Dubs to win it. I only got one team right for the semies and one for relegation.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 08/04/2013 08:36:28    1362749

Therightstuff.. Agreed with you there as Paidi o Se god rest him said " he always got tuned in after the cookoo ,all irelands don't be won in march are April " . Like he had a fair idea what he was talking about

topdownfan (Down) - Posts: 555 - 08/04/2013 08:47:28    1362755

Just an observation from the Down Kildare game. The Kildare "Runner" was on the pitch more often than he was on the sideline. I normally dont notice these things but this was unreal. What a nonsense of a rule to keep the manager on the sideline if his sidekick has licence to do a Michael Flatley all over the show.

ballybannongael (Down) - Posts: 547 - 08/04/2013 09:08:41    1362769

topdownfan
County: Down

Sons.of.erin ..UK .. Please tell me what County you would happen to be from ???

Tir Eoghain ! Why ?

sons.of.erin (UK) - Posts: 343 - 08/04/2013 09:17:38    1362776

A good game in Ballybofey yesterday. A draw was a fair result and it's only a pity that other results conspired against us. Relegation isn't nice but it isn't the be all and end all. No team at any stage of the league overwhelmed us in spite of injuries and our apparent lack of squad depth so I'm not overly worried. If we can get our key men back and enjoy a lucky summer injury wise like we did last year I'm confident enough that we'll be there or thereabouts.

Dublin have a serious panel of players. It's actually scary the squad they have. I was in the stand and throughout the match it was like a parade of quality footballers warming up down in front of me. Cullen, Bastick, Fitzsimons, Rock etc. Then you have the Brogans, Kilkenny et al to come in aswell. Frightening. I think Gavin's toughest job this summer will be selecting his best 15 and keeping the sqaud happy. No disrespect to some counties in Leinster but some of Dublin's toughest games early in the summer at least will be the games between themselves in training. Definitely AI favourites if you ask me at this stage.

I'm hate having a gripe but forgive me, it is Monday morning. The substitute referee was woeful. I agree with clondalkin in saying that Kavanagh may ahve been fouled outside the area but how he hasn't given a free at least is bewildering. There were a couple of other contentious decisions aswell which didn't go our way. By any chance is he related to Marty Duffy? It would explain a lot.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9134 - 08/04/2013 09:48:45    1362807

Great result for Mayo down in Cork yesterday especially after going 6 points down so early. Staying in Division 1 was the aim, a league semi is a bonus (one we could probably do without) but another run out against the favourites in Croke Park should do us no harm.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 08/04/2013 09:49:36    1362809

The 6 top contenders for Sam, according to the bookies, all played each other yesterday, one game was drawn & the other two had a one point difference. Sets things up nicely for the championship.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 08/04/2013 10:44:44    1362865

Lockjaw I agree it was 100% a free and terrible decision from the ref not to give it, but honestly your other gripes are just the same as we had gripes with some of the refs decisions aswell. It happens in every game when a bad decision goes against you you nearly think everything went against you then. Mannion for us was motm and Paddy was your best player IMO. Is there something up with Murphy just doesn't seem himself the last few games mind you Cooper had a great game on him.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 08/04/2013 10:45:02    1362866

Murphy is grand, he just didn't have his best day at the office yesterday...I agree though that the Dublin full back awas sharp.

I know it's swings and roundabouts with referees but your man Duffy yesterday really took the biscuit.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9134 - 08/04/2013 10:56:30    1362882

Donegal did exactly what i would have expected them to do yesterday in the first half. They congested midfield and put Dublin players under absolutely immense pressure. Credit to Dublin for not letting their heads drop. We where 4 points down at one stage in the first half and looked like we had no idea what todo next, Our play was rushed because of the pressure we where put under. Thats credit to Donegal. Both teams in fairness showed an immense level of fitness. It was a real championship style contest. The turn out and atmosphere was decent too.

5 wins 1 defeat and a draw against the all ireland champions in their own back yard in 7 games without even been close to what i would consider a full team is very promising, As a Dublin fan we can only take positives out of what we have seen so far. Even yesterday with some inexperienced lads we showed an unbelieveable amount of composure and heart in the second half. Draw was certainly a fair result

On a little sidenote, I genuinely hope Padraic Hughes is okay. Not nice seeing anybody carried off injured wether its one of your own, One of the opposition or in yesterdays very rare case , One of the officials.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 08/04/2013 11:01:38    1362895

Nice to get the win down in cork. Will be even nicer when we knock the dubs out of another semi... Also, I have to mention Cillian O'Connor's 2 points from 2 sideline balls, one from either side! Relegation at stake and he pulls that out of the bag, class. Lord help up is that was bernard brogan, the forum would go into meltdown! Seriously though, there were some in mayo saying he might not deserve a place in the team, geniuses one and all...

Have to say donegal were very hard done by on the kavanagh incident. Not only was it a foul it was a deliberate cynical foul on a guy in 1 on 1 with the keeper. But I suppose there is an element of living by the sword and you dying by it in there also.

Finally, joe brolly's assessment that tyrone 'totally dominated kerry once they decided they wanted to' that statement is equivalent to kerry deciding they wanted to take the foot off the gas.

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 08/04/2013 11:02:42    1362896

Our defeat yesterday was not down to the referee who gave a few strange decisions in both directions. We had the winning of the game in our own hands but missed a few easy chances, McBrearty & Wherity especially guilty, and were cleaned out in midfield for most of the second half.

Dublin looked to me to be the best side in the country & with a lot of players to come back have real depth, something we don't have. We need all out top men fit. Jim Gavin's biggest task this summer will be keeping his squad happy as they can't all play at the same time!!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 08/04/2013 11:04:16    1362900

tyroneed

1362444 Thought Marty Duffy had a great game for Kerry. Gave good protection to Cooper and Donaghy. Even intercepted a first half Tyrone pass. Also managed to blow the game up when Tyrone had a possible chance of getting an equalise

Soar grapes by you, refs don't have to give a team a chance to score when time is up, where does it show in the rule book,that they have to?

kerryluck (Kerry) - Posts: 2517 - 08/04/2013 11:10:48    1362913

From what I saw on TV - I don't think Donegal deserved a penalty. The Dublin player knocked the ball out of his hand from what I saw.

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 08/04/2013 11:29:27    1362945

yew_tree, he won the ball by dragging the guy's arm from behind. That isnt a fair tackle

TheMaster (Mayo) - Posts: 16187 - 08/04/2013 11:41:22    1362960

Yes Master I seen Cilian O' Connor's two points from the sideline. Incredible technique involved when you consider the weather conditions as well. Vary impressed with Mayo and also when you consider they were missing Keith Higgins, Barry Moran, Andy Moran and Alan Dillon as well. When is Andy Moran back from injury does anyone know?

mon (Galway) - Posts: 675 - 08/04/2013 11:45:50    1362970

Looks like a Tyrone v Dublin final to me.

No yerra-ness intended.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 08/04/2013 12:16:48    1363006

sedico

Yes but it could also be Mayo v Kildare - we owe ye one after letting ye beat us in Castlebar a few weeks ago ;)

yew_tree (Mayo) - Posts: 11230 - 08/04/2013 12:30:57    1363021

Well done the Dubs never gave up everytime donegal seemed to pull away we dug deep and came back at them. A draw would be a fair reflection on the game. Cooper was class gave murphy nothing. O,Sullivan andrews kev mac mannion all played well too. Credit too res tof the lads too. Next up mayo, C,MON DA DUBS...

DUB1 (Dublin) - Posts: 5583 - 08/04/2013 12:33:14    1363023

yew_tree

1363021 sedico

Yes but it could also be Mayo v Kildare - we owe ye one after letting ye beat us in Castlebar a few weeks ago ;)

Honestly think there is more chance of Mayo getting through than Kildare.

The whole of Kildare would like to thank you for lettingus win on Patricks weekend. Your kindness knows no bounds. Daycent oul skins is what ye are.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 08/04/2013 12:40:15    1363027