Trouble at the All-Ireland club JFC semi

What's good for the goose is good for the gander, Dromid deserve their punishment.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 20/02/2012 14:21:32    1114958

ahem

Derry_ledd (Derry) - Posts: 2093 - 20/02/2012 14:31:00    1114964

moomoo,
You just cant let this thread go!
Grow up man!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 20/02/2012 16:58:37    1115085

TheGateKeeper

moomoo,
You just cant let this thread go!
Grow up man!

Was just pointing out Dromid got a ban too thats all!

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 20/02/2012 17:12:10    1115097

This thread is an ego trip for the poster..I'd hoped no-one would take the bait..unfortunately it happened as Derry Ledd said draw a line and consign this sorry individual and his cronies to the annals of "Most deluded posters"..and there have been a few spectaculars over the years

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 20/02/2012 18:12:33    1115139

Tyronetim

This thread is an ego trip for the poster..I'd hoped no-one would take the bait..unfortunately it happened as Derry Ledd said draw a line and consign this sorry individual and his cronies to the annals of "Most deluded posters"..and there have been a few spectaculars over the years

Like i said the Ulster lads were very fast to come and say Derrytresks ban was harsh and they shouldn't have got it. Why did when Dromid get a ban they have nothing to say?

moomoo (Kerry) - Posts: 4023 - 20/02/2012 21:11:59    1115273

ANOTHER disgraceful ban on a junior team; the GAA set the tone with the 5 year ban on Derrytresk and are now trying to be even handed which just makes the entire scenario totally ridiculous. This wasn't WWIII, I have seen far far worse at underage and schools games and the GAA just look foolish. They have pandered to a hypocritical Dublin media with an agenda and mock outrage and are attempting to be the hard man BUT have instead acted in a cowardly manner by taking it out on two smaller teams especially Derrytresk. The bans on the players should have been it and the cop out on Kildare/Monaghan just makes this even more unfair and two faced. Croke Park now obviously let the media set the tone and disciplinary process and that has made the GAA look weak; a very dark time for the Association.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9702 - 20/02/2012 21:30:26    1115293

Agree with Ulsterman's comment. Individual bans enough. Strikes me that both clubs knew that some of their players were in trouble and Dromid obviously were a lot more media-savvy at getting their version of events out faster. Ultimately though, Dromid's playing the media backfired on both teams. Once a GAA incident hits the Dublin media, they don't much care which GAA team was in the right or in the wrong; it becomes an excuse to moralise about the GAA in general. I live in
South Dublin and I'm not sure if most GAA fans in either the North or far South realise the extent to which a sizable chunk of Dublin society, both their premiership-obsessives and their closet-home counties wannabes, despise anything that's "too bog Irish" with an astonishing amount of virulence; hence the near-hysteria about every GAA incident and the comparative silence if it's a soccer or rugby incident. How many people heard about the anti-Irish chanting at recent soccer matches in the North? Ssssh ... And still waiting for the Tubridy/Duffy Facebook petition to ban Man U after the recent handbags in the tunnel at half time when the cops had to separate the two teams ... GAA clubs need to look beyond their local squabbles and realise that the real enemy is not the other GAA club but the shower of tail-wagging 5th columnists in Ireland who'd love nothing better than to see the GAA cease to exist.

essmac (Tyrone) - Posts: 1141 - 21/02/2012 13:31:03    1115495

Agree with Ulsterman's comment. Individual bans enough. Strikes me that both clubs knew that some of their players were in trouble and Dromid obviously were a lot more media-savvy at getting their version of events out faster. Ultimately though, Dromid's playing the media backfired on both teams. Once a GAA incident hits the Dublin media, they don't much care which GAA team was in the right or in the wrong; it becomes an excuse to moralise about the GAA in general. I live in
South Dublin and I'm not sure if most GAA fans in either the North or far South realise the extent to which a sizable chunk of Dublin society, both their premiership-obsessives and their closet-home counties wannabes, despise anything that's "too bog Irish" with an astonishing amount of virulence; hence the near-hysteria about every GAA incident and the comparative silence if it's a soccer or rugby incident. How many people heard about the anti-Irish chanting at recent soccer matches in the North? Ssssh ... And still waiting for the Tubridy/Duffy Facebook petition to ban Man U after the recent handbags in the tunnel at half time when the cops had to separate the two teams ... GAA clubs need to look beyond their local squabbles and realise that the real enemy is not the other GAA club but the shower of tail-wagging 5th columnists in Ireland who'd love nothing better than to see the GAA cease to exist.

brilliant

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 21/02/2012 14:21:50    1115537

essmac County: Tyrone

Good post.

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 21/02/2012 14:25:51    1115542

Well said essmac. I live not too far from you in Dublin 6 and had to put up with bulls**t for years. We are GAA people and lets stand up for ourselves and bow the head to none. Again thanks essmac.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 21/02/2012 15:49:25    1115603

well said, and time to more on together

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1673 - 21/02/2012 18:05:13    1115690

Well said essmac.

Great post. It echoed Aaron Kernan's pre match comments. Obviously there was a media incentive to stoke up tension between Crossmaglen and Dr Crokes after the Derrytresk/Dromid game. It seems certain comments were taken out of context and fair play to Kernan for acknowledging that and having the good sense (something that is sometimes lacking in many individuals) not to rush to conclusions.

bennybunny (Cork) - Posts: 3917 - 21/02/2012 21:45:32    1115816

essmac

Great post. Very well said.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6342 - 22/02/2012 10:06:59    1115864

Essmac
I'm not sure if most GAA fans in either the North or far South realise the extent to which a sizable chunk of Dublin society, both their premiership-obsessives and their closet-home counties wannabes, despise anything that's "too bog Irish" with an astonishing amount of virulence; hence the near-hysteria about every GAA incident and the comparative silence if it's a soccer or rugby incident.

if your talking about the media fair enough,some of the coverage is ridiculous. if your talking about the people your way off the mark. unless you live in d4 and dont go out.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 22/02/2012 14:59:47    1116053

Put it to bed now lads, whoever wins the next Kerry/Tyrone game gets the bragging rights for now, end of, because thats what it will come down to!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 22/02/2012 15:53:40    1116094