Seanie Johnston sitting on the Kildare bench

Meath the fockers on the sunday game hillarious!

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 16/07/2012 19:41:36    1219669

To see SJ with a white jersey was gut wrenching.i have zero respect for the man,will it actually mean anything to him if he wins something with kildare.i hope he enjoyed his 10 mins in breifne beacause he will never be back.maybe kildare might win something now but i hope to god they dont.

kanu (Cavan) - Posts: 181 - 16/07/2012 19:55:22    1219696

Get over it kanu I dont mean to be harsh but you have the likes of hyland there today saying seanie is no all star and he was dropped can you blame the man when you have the likes of hyland saying that!
Finally good to see seanie in the white jersey and the kildare 10,000 travelling crowd after a loss to meath is some great support an absolute credit to the county lets keep it going kildare fans.
CILL DARA ABU!

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 16/07/2012 20:04:59    1219715

lilywhitemagic and kildare30 thats bull we have every right to feel aggrieved losing one of are best players we dont need ye shower of poachers rubbing it in. if the roles where reversed ye would be the exact same (but ye won't admit that). anyway Seanie will win the same with Kildare as he would with Cavan nothing. he will just get a couple more outing each year!

Mike_Clitoris69 (Cavan) - Posts: 230 - 16/07/2012 20:09:34    1219725

How are we rubbing it in?
You will do well to remember it was the likes of cavan management that said seanie was too old for the game their strategy was to go with the under 21's and seanie was too old do you think cavan mangement including hyland have no blame at all?
I was bascially saying you should get over it now because you will be seeing him more in the white its something that your going to have to get use to seeing. Just like we did when we saw larry tompkins win an all ireland for cork I can still hear canning say the kildare man taking a point for cork but look move on its done now.

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 16/07/2012 20:16:53    1219739

the supporters could do nothing about him leaving.it was a management decision that we have to live with it.you mightnt understand in kildare but loyalty is important in the gaa.so if sj wants to play for another team so be it but dont expect us to be happy about it.it was funny no one else wanted him though.
kildare are running out of division 4 teams to run a big score on.but hey ye have limerick in the next round so good times but when you meet someone decent you will have no answers as usual and be shown up

kanu (Cavan) - Posts: 181 - 16/07/2012 20:29:02    1219756

Cavan are the county who have lost out in this debacle, the dignity of Cavan gaa is still intact though!
The whole thing reminds me of:

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 16/07/2012 20:38:32    1219781

kanu wishing something to happen won't make it so. We'll beat Limerick and so on and snipers/begrudgers will keep saying "you have beaten nothing yet". Thankfully we can take all that s***e.

OntheWhiteSide (Kildare) - Posts: 452 - 16/07/2012 20:40:50    1219790

Mike, if you cant read my post properly, especially the last line, then im afraid there is nothing i can do about that.

Kildare30 (Kildare) - Posts: 603 - 16/07/2012 20:47:03    1219804

Cavan are the county who have lost out in this debacle, the dignity of Cavan gaa is still intact though!
The whole thing reminds me of:
www.youtube.com/watch?v=EI7S6kq17jY

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 16/07/2012 20:59:48    1219826

16/07/2012 20:16:53
lilywhitemagic

How are we rubbing it in?
You will do well to remember it was the likes of cavan management that said seanie was too old for the game their strategy was to go with the under 21's and seanie was too old do you think cavan mangement including hyland have no blame at all?
I was bascially saying you should get over it now because you will be seeing him more in the white its something that your going to have to get use to seeing. Just like we did when we saw larry tompkins win an all ireland for cork I can still hear canning say the kildare man taking a point for cork but look move on its done now
it was rubbbing it in. Pure and simple. Its was Geezer sticking his two fingers up to everyone and anyone that has dared challenge him over this. Kildare CB and Geezer could have chose not play him especially when they where winning by a cricket score.

And if you are so naive to believe previous and current Kildare management where going with youth and thats the reason why Sj was not selected well then theres no hope fo ya. Yis have your man. Lets see what else happens with SJ in the next year because I am pretty sure that this saga is not over ;). Lets see then if all involved with this has been whiter than white but it won't change your opinion sure as the songs says 'Living is easy with eyes closed, Misunderstanding all you see'/

Admin please let this post go through.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 16/07/2012 21:10:58    1219848

bluedubstar

Confused? What progression are you talking about? You guys are exactly in the same position you have been in the last four years. Was progression not winning a Leinster title?

I mean as in progression to the later stages of the Championship. Where we've consistently got to over the past 5 years.

cilldara13 (Kildare) - Posts: 261 - 16/07/2012 21:20:30    1219869

Bluedubsstar....the reason you say the whole SJ issue in not over is simply because you dont want it to be over. You really dislike Kildare so you want it to go on and on. The only problem with this is most people in GAA circles have accepted it, whether they approve or not, and have moved on. Did you not hear Kieran Whelan on the Sunday game last night? Im sure youll reply back to this post saying you will never accept it and Kildare will get nowhere and all the rest. Perhaps its time you looked forward to youre game with Meath and looked forward to something for a change instead of always looking back.

Kildare30 (Kildare) - Posts: 603 - 16/07/2012 21:24:25    1219878

I found this post on kildare forum
This will be my last post on this subject. It is from a true gael. And one I am sure all true gaels even the ones in kildare can agree with.

16/07/2012 21:04:20

gaelsarebest

I`m sad. I am getting old. I am angry. I consider myself a Gael. I tell the truth. Kildare were great to watch yesterday and beat us well. Cavan are well behind. Seanie Johnston is my neighbour in Cavan town. A talented young man, I watched him grow uip here and with our club. I am sad. He is still my neighbour. He still lives beside me. He teaches out the road. He wears a white shirt now. What kind of leadership in Kildare allowed this talented lad from Cavan play with them. Why was he not told nicely to go home and sort things out. This is not what GAA should be about,pride in our own area,thats what I always believed. If Seanie wins an all Ireland with Kildare ,what will that do for him. His neighbours won`t celebrate. We will wish him well but it wouldnt mean anything to us. The great John Joe O Reilly lived in Kildare and played club football there with the army.We always liked Kildare,still do. I am sad. My neighbour has walked away from his own and still lives among us. If there are any honest genuine gaa men in kildare they should tell Seanie,thanks but,,you don not pick your county,it picks you. This is a sad sad event.Kildare didnt need Seanie,they have enough talented men without him. I`ll go up to the park tomorrow evening and watch our local young lads in action.I hope and know they will restore my very hurt gaelic spirit.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 16/07/2012 21:33:54    1219895

16/07/2012 21:24:25
Kildare30

Bluedubsstar....the reason you say the whole SJ issue in not over is simply because you dont want it to be over. You really dislike Kildare so you want it to go on and on. The only problem with this is most people in GAA circles have accepted it, whether they approve or not, and have moved on. Did you not hear Kieran Whelan on the Sunday game last night? Im sure youll reply back to this post saying you will never accept it and Kildare will get nowhere and all the rest. Perhaps its time you looked forward to youre game with Meath and looked forward to something for a change instead of always looking back.

yeah another lazy answer, 'accept it' and move on, yawn. I'll clear up a few things here. I have no more dislike for Kildare GAA than I do burgers (and I like burgers so theres no confusion). I do dislike some of the gick answers some of the Kildare supporters who post on this thread regarding the whole saga as if they and Johston are the victim when this could not be further from than the truth. Geezer and the KCB had choices in all of this saga. The farce with the hurling, the Div 2 final and playing Jonston yesterday. But Geezer always lilkes to win, even if that win is distorted.

So if one faction of the argument are going to make statements that Johston was the victim when its not entirely accurate well in the interests of fairness I am going to respond.

But you make a valid point and I have taken note, enough time and energy has been wasted. But methinks history won't judge Sj harshly rather the people who wheer in a more senior posiiton. And that is all I am going to say on this matter.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 16/07/2012 21:44:08    1219913

16/07/2012 21:20:30
cilldara13

Confused? What progression are you talking about? You guys are exactly in the same position you have been in the last four years. Was progression not winning a Leinster title?

I mean as in progression to the later stages of the Championship. Where we've consistently got to over the past 5 years.

Okey doke, wasnt trying to be smart on the previous post, just didn tundertand your point.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 16/07/2012 21:47:26    1219918

No attempt at re-opening this tired subject, but I was just looking at the Mackey/Ring caption competition on this site and some of the entries. One of my favs has to be, Mackey says to Ring "Did you hear about Seanie Johnston?" ha ha.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8585 - 25/07/2012 14:32:12    1228681

Does anyone think the whole Seanie Johnston saga backfired massively on McGeeney? I would imagine that at least some of the Kildare panel must not have been overly happy to see him joining the panel in the first place. And then Seanie lining out for a game of hurling the night before the match with Meath must have distracted the Kildare team in their preparation for the match.
And if McGeeney was so desperate to add Seanie to his panel why did he not start him against Cork? Did he realise after poaching him from Cavan that Seanie was not actually as good as he orginally thought?

Breffniman1 (Cavan) - Posts: 25 - 07/08/2012 13:56:40    1240762

Oh lord god get over it breffiniman you will be still going on about it next year seanie actually got to play in croke park for the first time ever sunday against the best something he would have never got had he not transfered and he will be playing in division 1 football next spring again against the top sides in the country and that bitterness will still be there from you when your watching him do that get over it.

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 07/08/2012 14:12:00    1240789

Breff I think the rumors about discontent within camp have been proven to be true and if as seems to be suggested by kmcg in star that co board are considering his future. What will happen to seannie.?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 07/08/2012 14:14:57    1240796