Seanie Johnston sitting on the Kildare bench

Suncroft..

Back to where?? Look it was a good win today for Kildare,and I have said they are a good side,but ye haven't a hope of sam.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 15/07/2012 16:47:13    1217878

Yeah nice one, Atta. Cos Kildare have never had any injury problems, right?

Count_Awesome (Kildare) - Posts: 736 - 15/07/2012 16:49:07    1217884

Daith, you think Seanie has come in as a tackle-coach or something??

Count_Awesome (Kildare) - Posts: 736 - 15/07/2012 16:50:58    1217887

Daith

At least you are sensible and I respect that.I think everyone wishes the SJ thing didn't happen. As for Kildare I don't see them any nearer to sam this year,but will still be tough to beat,that's for sure.

ziggy32001 (Meath) - Posts: 8354 - 15/07/2012 17:16:42    1217910

Now that he's played and scored against his home county in Breffni Park, hopefully this whole thing can now be put to bed. Didn't think it was possible to have a more tedious saga than the 'goal that never was,' but this has taken the biscuit.

petejoeduff (Donegal) - Posts: 329 - 15/07/2012 17:35:55    1217933

Fair play to the Cavan faithful for givin Sean a good round of applause when he came on. In fairness he has givin them a lot and maybe after today's mauling they realise that he is due his day in the sun with another county. He should have moved to cork though..

I am utterly depressed with our county set up at the minute, let's face it, we're crap. If Leitrim and tipp etc can pull big results though why can't we?? No dis to the named counties. Moral victory for Westmeath.. Cue Kerry winning Sam..again..

Brolly (Monaghan) - Posts: 4472 - 15/07/2012 17:47:05    1217949

On the hoganstand report of the match it says Kildare 3-20 Kildare 1-9

Taking a player is one thing but to steal a full county is pushing it a bit far.

carlovia (None) - Posts: 1517 - 15/07/2012 17:59:59    1217969

Hahaha ;) very good carlovia.

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 15/07/2012 18:07:48    1217976

Didn't stop the Leinster council taking Galway & Antrim!

Count_Awesome (Kildare) - Posts: 736 - 15/07/2012 18:13:31    1217989

Cavan were woeful, they handed that game to Kildare, they couldn't have been any worse if they tried. Kildare played no better than they did against Meath.
No spectacular football. Cavan have no forwards, Kildare were given easy frees in front of goals, no pressure on Kildare when shooting, Cavan didn't track back and defend, amateur mistakes in general.

But Cavan have nothing to be ashamed of because they finished the game with 15 Cavan Men so well done for that.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 15/07/2012 18:31:17    1218017

Ha ha classic fruedian slip by HS there ok, brilliant!

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 15/07/2012 18:37:54    1218023

'but his homecoming was surprisingly well received by the Cavan faithful, who gave him a generous round of applause when he entered the fray with the game long ended as a contest'

Seriously, whoever wrote up this report were they actually at the match? He was cheered on by the Kildare fans, AFTER the Cavan support echoed loud boo's. It was disgusting and painful as a Cavan fan to see him come on and play in Breffni against us. So much for GAA grass roots

Breifne_Blue (Cavan) - Posts: 214 - 15/07/2012 18:43:45    1218030

Yea, it was a very sad day for Cavan football, To think after growing up and learning everything he did with his Cavan club, and then to see him play for Kildare today..very sad..

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 15/07/2012 18:49:49    1218042

Breifne_Blue

'but his homecoming was surprisingly well received by the Cavan faithful, who gave him a generous round of applause when he entered the fray with the game long ended as a contest'

Seriously, whoever wrote up this report were they actually at the match? He was cheered on by the Kildare fans, AFTER the Cavan support echoed loud boo's. It was disgusting and painful as a Cavan fan to see him come on and play in Breffni against us. So much for GAA grass roots

yes that's exactly what i taught. he was booed by the cavan fans warming up and when he came on. the kildare fans outnumbered us today and hey had a great reception for seanie and perhaps that's what confused that reporter. today is a very embarrassing day for cavan football. we love our football up here and its very hard to take that today. we need to look at ourselves realistically. we are a laughing stock at the minute and we are one of the poorest teams in the country. not good enough.end off.. on the other hand kildare were fantastic and will go a long way this year mark my words.. also fair play to the fantastic kildare support. the best in the country in my view.

asdfg (Cavan) - Posts: 316 - 15/07/2012 19:29:46    1218110

sad day all round for cavan football. i can't think of any positives.. nothing to look forward to and the rain keeps coming down .

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 15/07/2012 19:33:11    1218118

Why are Meath so sympathetic towards and concerned for Cavan all of a sudden ?.

Everyone in Cavan knows all too well how their supporters have been treated by their Meath counterparts down the years when travelling through Kells in particular en-route to Croke Park.

From a neutrals perspective this new love really stinks to be honest.

Don't be fooled, Meath don't have any great liking for Cavan, it's just that they dislike Kildare much much more.

Would love to see Kildare get back to Croke Park for another meeting with Meath.

THE_SNAPPER (Louth) - Posts: 2019 - 15/07/2012 19:49:36    1218145

s goldrick

sad day all round for cavan football. i can't think of any positives.. nothing to look forward to and the rain keeps coming down .

Well at least you had 15 Cavan lads on the pitch, so there is nothing to be ashamed of on that front.

Looking at the game today your forward play needs a huge amount of work, they should look to get in a forward coach or do something to address that. The management didn't seem to have any homework done on the way Kildare play and there was no game plan, which is frustrating for Cavan supporters.

ClassApart (Meath) - Posts: 1200 - 15/07/2012 19:58:28    1218158

Eh . . . do Meath people posting here not have bigger things to be worrying about than Cavan/Kildare football

MarkMyWords (Meath) - Posts: 498 - 15/07/2012 20:12:52    1218195

Yeah, Cavan were very poor. Came out at the start of both halves all blood and thunder but very quickly died off after a few minutes both times. Kildare were good and Alan Smith in particular was excellent though how his man was never switched off him I don't know. The forwards showed a lot more movement and interplay rather than just lumping it towards O'Connor although they were given plenty of space to do it. Still not a huge leap forward for Kildare. Steam-rolling teams in the qualifiers has never been our problem. Our game definining season is yet to come.

As for Seanie getting a good welcome, it definitely didn't come from the Cavan fans. I was surprised how warm a reception Kildare fans gave him though. But if SJ's treatment from the Cavan supporters was bad the treatment Marty Duffy gave him was far far worse. There was a straight forward elbow to his head which should of been a red card to the perpetrator but was somehow given as a free against him. And there was plenty more treatment for him afterwards which also had a blind eye turned to it, players rushing to hit him on the ground, the keeper throwing the ball at him... It got to a stage where even I, who could not by any standards be called in favour of the transfer, was happy enough for him to get his free just to show up his markers.

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 15/07/2012 20:25:31    1218230

15/07/2012 16:42:16
suncroft_abu

Ohhhh Seanie Johnston, he used to play for Cavan but he's a Lilly now!!

Hahaha come on Seanie lad, a great debut and a great result for Cill Dara!! WE ARE BACK!

Jesus your easily please. Now if you where a lady you would be a cheap date.

bluedubstar (Dublin) - Posts: 835 - 15/07/2012 21:03:03    1218320