Trouble at the All-Ireland club JFC semi

Breffni39
People on this forum are saying that it's always the northern teams causing trouble and that's nonsence, northern teams have been great ambassadors to the gaa. You only have to mention great teams like Crossmaglen, St. Galls or Ballinderry. This is an isolated incident irrespective of where they are from, and the team should be punished. I was just defending the north as I'm a fan of their impact on GAA in recent history. And your right, the whole of GAA has been humiliated by this appalling incident.

changingtosligo (Mayo) - Posts: 75 - 02/02/2012 17:12:34    1104423

Derrytresk have copped most of the blame, fall out and punishment so it's a job well done for the rabid, hysterical, rent mob outside Ulster; they are patting themselves on their partitionist wee heads and full of self satisfaction. This is the same crowd that haven't said boo to ANOTHER Dublin player getting away with a shocking, dangerous tackle on a Kildare fella and they were quiet when Donegal's best player Karl Lacey was deliberately taken out by Dublin last season in the All Ireland semi final. They are nauseating, two faced with a sinister agenda. If anyone is still in any doubt that there is a two tiered GAA now should look at this week different reactions and outcomes to the Dublin player and Ulster GAA side; there is your answer.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9702 - 02/02/2012 18:15:00    1104452

GAA let the thugs away with it again. Where is the Garda investagation into the assaults?. The GAA dragged 3 of our supporters through the courts for pushing a ref but turn a blind eye again on the so called stronger counties for far more serious assaults. SHAME ON CROKE PARK

georgelee (Louth) - Posts: 523 - 02/02/2012 18:59:49    1104479

02/02/2012 18:15:00
Ulsterman

1104452 Derrytresk have copped most of the blame, fall out and punishment so it's a job well done for the rabid, hysterical, rent mob outside Ulster; they are patting themselves on their partitionist wee heads and full of self satisfaction. This is the same crowd that haven't said boo to ANOTHER Dublin player getting away with a shocking, dangerous tackle on a Kildare fella and they were quiet when Donegal's best player Karl Lacey was deliberately taken out by Dublin last season in the All Ireland semi final. They are nauseating, two faced with a sinister agenda. If anyone is still in any doubt that there is a two tiered GAA now should look at this week different reactions and outcomes to the Dublin player and Ulster GAA side; there is your answer.
02/02/2012 18:59:49
georgelee
County: Louth

1104479 GAA let the thugs away with it again. Where is the Garda investagation into the assaults?. The GAA dragged 3 of our supporters through the courts for pushing a ref but turn a blind eye again on the so called stronger counties for far more serious assaults. SHAME ON CROKE PARK

This is not the time or place for another Ulsterman anti south rant or a wee county leinster final whinge though george i do agree with you slighly in that Croke Park authorities are very hypocritical in how they run their discipline system

ormondbannerman (Clare) - Posts: 13473 - 02/02/2012 19:13:02    1104490

I wish the Kerry crowd would dry their eyes. I'm no lover of Tyrone teams or Tyrone football but the team that puts most scores on the board deserves to win and Derrytresk put more scores on the board than Dromid Pearses. Total sour grapes to go crying to the GAA about rough treatment and blaming Derrytresk for 'being the bad guys'. But after the GAA examined it they handed out suspensions and fines to the Dromid club also which proves that they were also to blame for the same shameful scenes that they kicked up such a fuss about!

In my opinion Dromid lost the game for two primary reasons:
1. They were physically out-muscled by Derrytresk (call it intimidation or whatever you want...) and
2. Dromid management were 100% to blame for the team's performance (they were out-manouvered on the sideline)

My reasoning for point 2 is that the Derrytresk players and management team knew who the Dromid dangermen were; Declan O'Sullivan (was obvious) but more so they also knew to watch Dennis 'Shine'. Which proves the Tyrone crowd had done their homework. The same could not be said of the Dromid management. They didnt know from where the danger was going to come from the Tyrone team (an arrogant attitude to the game I think).

Following on from this I think I should explain myself when I talk about 'arrogance' from the Dromid team. Having listened to the game on Radio Kerry via the internet (inflicted on me by my Kerry wife) I listened in disbelief to some of the comments made by Weeshie Fogarty on commentary. One of which included one gem which followed along the lines of "the abuse Declan is getting is terrible. Who of these Derrytresk players has captained a double All Ireland winning team?". Oh so because he's won inter-county All Ireland medals he shouldnt be tackled??? Smacks of arrogance to me.

As for the great sporting spectacle, that was the South Kerry final between St Mary's and Dromid on Christmas Eve (that I attended in Waterville), that was referred to on numerous occasions during the same commentary I distintly remember a blatant elbow to the face by the same player 'who the Tyrone boys were not worthy to tackle' in front of the referee which went virtually unpunished. A certain case of 'because he's a successful county player he can do what he wants and get away with it'!!

So in conclussion the Kerry County Board, media and Dromid club would have been better to keep a dignified silence on that Junior All Ireland semi-final and let the GAA sort it out themselves. SOUR GRAPES.

DoireCK (Derry) - Posts: 162 - 02/02/2012 19:28:12    1104500

I'm surprised Ulsterman you think an Ulster team were treated unfairly???? what a turn of events. That sways my thinking on the incident because you are always so rational and objective in your views...

Whatever happens between players on the pitch is one thing and can be handled by match officials but when others, be they subs/officials or 'supporters', come on the pitch and attack opposition players it is a completely different ball game. the GAA should have thrown Derrytresk out of the competition, as they should any team anywhere in Ireland whose members attack opposition players. The slap on the wrist handed out to Derrytresk sends out the message that this behaviour is ok

bad.monkey (USA) - Posts: 4624 - 02/02/2012 19:38:10    1104505

Arrogance from the dromid team because of the radio kerry commentary? Are you serious? First of all, weeshie wasnt even commenting on the game, secondly, none of the radio kerry people are from Dromid so you cant blame the players for the attitude of a few guys talking on the radio.
Secondly, Derrytresk had their work done thats for sure, you are correct there. Dromids best player of the first half had just kicked 2 points and had won a good bit of ball, the fight breaks out and he gets knocked out. He goes off, Dromid are wiped out in the middle and Derrytresk ease to victory. This is probably why Dromid are so sour, they feel the fight altered the course of the game and its hard to argue with them

mmcartan (Cork) - Posts: 17 - 02/02/2012 19:50:38    1104519

ormondbannerman
County: Clare

This is not the time or place for another Ulsterman anti south rant
____________________________________________________________________________________

This selective condemnation really irks me... there are countless posts on this thread which are clearly anti Tyrone/north and not a word is preached - but if something you don't wish to acknowledge is printed, yourself and others climb onto your high horse and deliver a lecture on what is/is not acceptable.

If consistency was shown I would respect your opinion - I for one am sickened by the total double standards which are so apparent.

caz (Tyrone) - Posts: 111 - 02/02/2012 20:12:11    1104527

This is an absolete disgrace.

The CCCC should hold their heads in shame

Derrytresk one of the smallest clubs in Tyrone are in an All-ireland final and they get EIGHT of their players banned for defending their officals on the back of whinging and sour grapes from Kerry and the media

EIGHT players! I would actually like to be able to follow each of the EIGHT guys on the video to see what they actually done. In the video I seen at the most 3/4 Derrytresk players striking and 3/4 from Dromid and they were doing a lot more striking! What did those EIGHT guys do to all get banned???

I listened to the backplay of the Liveline phone in that sparked this whole hysteria and the lady phoning in was laugable really. She didnt sound sane. You would have thought that the Derrytresk team and their supporters were the Mongol hoards who came down to kill rape and pillage and that they should not be let away with it.

In a way you gotta admire them: They are as dirty and sneaky as anyone on the field and then off it the media circus is rolled out of how their angelic footballers were assaulted by a whole pitch of players, bench of subs and stand of holligans. But really the reality is just disgraceful. Take you beating and go on home.

Facts of the matter are:
Dromid started a fight right in start of the Derrytresk dugout by striking a Derrytresk offical.
Most of the punches were thrown by Dromid players
No supporters were involved

The CCCC have bascially heeded the call from Kerry for Derrytresk to be thrown out because there is no way that a club the size of Derrytresk could absorb losing 8 players.

Shame on Dromid
Shame on the media
Shame on the CCCC

omaghjoe (Tyrone) - Posts: 1191 - 02/02/2012 20:38:23    1104545

DoireCK,by your logic meath deserved to win the leinster final,France deserved to beat ireland etc.It has emerged since the game that Dromids three best players were all targeted by Derrytresk players,so forget this dry your eyes crap,any team would find it difficult to cope with their three best players being assaulted.Why dont Ulsterman and his merry band of paranoid posters "dry their eyes" and "stop moaning" and accept that the punishment is justified and merited.Its true that Connolly should have been suspended too,but Northern posters cant use that to excuse derrytresks behaviour.Two wrongs dont make a right.

TheRoad (Galway) - Posts: 1339 - 02/02/2012 20:50:08    1104557

TheRoad

1104557 .Why dont Ulsterman and his merry band of paranoid posters "dry their eyes" and "stop moaning"

____________________________________________________________________________________________________

Why don't you!

Read my post
- my complaint is the total double standards on this thread, that is not paranoia.

caz (Tyrone) - Posts: 111 - 02/02/2012 21:04:09    1104567

So........

If you think Derrytresk did anything wrong then you're automatically a 'partitionist, West-Brit, revivisionist southener who in cahoots with the meeja and the GAA and will stop at nothing to undermine and cheat Ulster GAA' (Did I miss anything there Ulsterman?)

If you think that Dromid did anything wrong and should now just move on then you're from Ulster(I think you defo have to be) with a massive chip on your shoulder who is blind to anything incorrect done by any Ulster team and will defend it no matter what.

They are your only options in this debate, or at least how some people will judge whatever you say!

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13707 - 02/02/2012 21:07:23    1104571

the ccc handed out the punishments (not dromid pearses, or joe duffy as you would think by reading this!) and derrytresk are still in the final. these are the facts and no way around them. this is my first post on this but its been amusing to see the idea of "oh we re all against the north" rant being raised everytime.. when people talk about kerry i dont see the rest of munster roll in behind.. it is indeed a mans game, but subs flying in over hoardings - derrytresk, or players striking team mentors - dromid, have no place in the game. the bans have been handed down and both clubs may move on.. of course what we continue see in this "mans game" is clubs and counties using every trick in the book from it wanst in irish, we didnt get 3 days notice, my grannys aunt wasnt informed etc to get their men off the hook. in the so called soft game of soccer (i m not a fan!) at least the take their punishment generally and dont look to escape on technicalities.. whats the bets we ll see the rulebook scrutinised and thrown back at the ccc in order to lessen the punishment.. suck it up boys and move on..!

old yellar (None) - Posts: 2625 - 02/02/2012 21:21:14    1104582

Oh my good god.Where do I even start with this rubbish?
Firstly I disagree about sour grapes from Dromid.They admitted they were 2nd best.I also think they milked the whole "poor dromid" thing.
How many Derrytresk men jumped the wall?Watch the video and I would say about 8 maybe 9.Everyone of them deserved to get banned and those involved in the row on the field as well so I would say they got off light numbers wise.The Gaa cant say "oh well they only have a panel of 25 so we cant ban too many because the final is coming up".How can anybody advocate discipline and come up with that rubbish?They wont be in a hurry to jump again I'd say,once bitten twice shy.The Connolly incident has nothing to do with it.How Declan O'Sullivan did'nt get sent off in that club junior game in Kerry I'll never know,I've seen the clip.Brutal it is,absolutely flaked the lad.
Good luck to both teams in the final.
It's a shame that the biggest day in Derrytresk's history is overshadowed but deep down they know they've only themselves to blame.

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 02/02/2012 21:23:50    1104586

I do feel that the media had a huge influence in this, joe duffy couldn't care about the gaa or the north,

My mother is from Kerry, Balinahulla, near Ballydesmond, a lovely caring retired lady. I can't reason with her on this topic, ....In her opinion, Derrytresk were completly at fault, they started it, jumped the barrier so therfore Dromid are completly innocent, there was men with broken jaws, blood gushing etc..... this was a WAR....
now my dear mother has only seen the images once on tv, read the irsh independent and more importantly, listened to joe duffy, now my mother has lived north of the border since 1970, the majority of her life, but she is institutionalised, if rte says it is so then it is right,,,,. now i'm not saying that all kerry people are like this but the media played a massive part in this saga,

very few gaa anoraks could name the previous all-ireland junior club winners...... dromid and derrytresk will go down in history, and will come up again and again in pub quiz questions....

on a serious note,
if joe duffy had a whole show devoted to the reckless behaviour of a dublin player in the recent kildare o'byrne game highlighing neck injuries, paralysis, brain injuries etc......... then this player would have been suspended.......

the events looked bad but the reaction was much worse......................

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1673 - 02/02/2012 21:27:14    1104591

DT were always going to have more punishment, sure theres 3 times as many blue involved in the row. The ccc havent suspended anyone for the craic or just for a laugh. There is obviously more video footage out there that the general public havent seen. Im fairly sure on it you will find that DT started the row and have been sanctioned accordingly. Every Dromid player who looks remotely hostile has been suspended and theres not much more the ccc could do to them.

mmcartan (Cork) - Posts: 17 - 02/02/2012 21:27:55    1104592

@ fredrickwood
good sensible post

mmcartan (Cork) - Posts: 17 - 02/02/2012 21:30:24    1104596

I understand what you are saying MesAmis - I think if this over-reaction - imo - to a brawl had been more measured and less hysterical, posters, myself included, would in the main have no issue acknowledging the wrongs, on both sides, of what took place.

However the hysteria created, and then fanned by many on here, has made what occurred almost a secondary issue.

That is what is ludicrous and infuriating.

caz (Tyrone) - Posts: 111 - 02/02/2012 21:34:44    1104601

i think u have to deal with this case on its own merits, not by citing others. they have no relevance to it. whether other players got away with stuff, or not, well thats another story. on this evidence, a lot of players deserved to get suspensions. these are the facts, not the supposed kerry arrogance (they stand alone i see!) and the bias supposedly towards northern teams. theres no excuse on either side. can any of the main people areguing on either side tell me what the reckon the sanctions should have been? just curious what ye would have done here if ye were the ccc..

old yellar (None) - Posts: 2625 - 02/02/2012 21:37:02    1104607

glenhead
County: UK

Was it only players and subs who have been suspended. Can't belive "Clipboard man" has escaped sanction!

Unfortunately it appears so. The official that started the whole brawl by kicking out at the Droimid player avoids a suspension despite video evidence from two different sources. This beggars belief. Its unacceptable that any player should be subjected to this from an official not involved in play. I would rather see all eight Derrytresk players allowed play in the final and have him suspended than the situation we now have. The rules are very clear on this matter yet seem to have been ignored by the CCCC.

7.2 Infractions
The following shall constitute Infractions to which the
Disciplinary Jurisdiction of the Association applies:

(c) Misconduct at Games by Team Officials, which consists
of four Categories of Infractions by Team officials
which occur on or in the vicinity of the Field of Play
and which occur immediately before, during or after a
Game:

Category IIa
Any type of physical interference with an opposing
Player or Team official.
Penalty: