Division One 2013

Yeah the Donegal v Cork was a bad game last night. Cork were ulta defensive, and thats what you have to do to beat Donegal. Watching Cork last night I couldnt help but be reminded me of Donegal 2 years ago. If they continue playing in the the same vein they will be extremley hard to beat come the summer as they will be getting used to this style of football. They have the quality of players to excuete this type of game plan also. They will need O'Neill and Sheehan fully fit.

DLlegends (Donegal) - Posts: 503 - 17/03/2013 13:08:20    1350822

Not having a go, but it was funny reading the live score updates last night, I think it was around half time and the update said, "Cork 0-3 Donegal 0-5 I think the last score was around 1914"

Ha ha

lilypad (Kildare) - Posts: 1363 - 17/03/2013 13:11:19    1350824

TheGateKeeper

Shouldn't the money spent flying the Donegal team to Cork
have been better spent on finishing Mac Cumhaill Park in time
for the championship meeting with Tyrone?! Just a thought.

I know this might come as a huge shock to you GateKeeper but it is possible to do both at the same time.

The guys doing the work on the pitch are not the same fellas flying the plane. I thought you would have figured that out.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 17/03/2013 14:38:07    1350880

I can't see Tyrone getting within 6 points of us, were way ahead of Tyrone at the minute. Not a cocky post just my honest opinion.

Conndalkin

Every time I read your assessment of Donegal's performances, something you do a lot of, I read posts like the one above & have a little chuckle to myself.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 17/03/2013 14:45:23    1350885

I was talking about money not time muckross,
but it obviously went over yer head lad! Have
a wee read it again, you'll find it is quite clear.
Happy St. Patrick's day. Tir Eoghain abu.

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 17/03/2013 15:06:39    1350896

Muckhead I should have said if Dublin play the same team that played against Kildare then they would win by 6+, well done again to Tyrone on a well deserved victory.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 17/03/2013 15:15:43    1350901

TheGateKeeper

If you read what I said again Muckross (See above), I was
obviously talking about the money being wasted, not the time!
Its an easy mistake to make on your part, so no harm done.
Happy St. Patrick's day. :)

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 17/03/2013 15:17:12    1350903

MuckrossHead

TheGateKeeper

I know this might come as a huge shock to you GateKeeper but it is possible to do both at the same time.

The guys doing the work on the pitch are not the same fellas flying the plane. I thought you would have figured that out.

made me laugh , still looking forward to the Ulster Championship game where ever it is . Tir Eogháin abú.

fortyfive (Tyrone) - Posts: 5929 - 17/03/2013 15:21:18    1350908

Muckhead I should have said if Dublin play the same team that played against Kildare then they would win by 6+, well done again to Tyrone on a well deserved victory.

That's an obvious problem with trying to do a Mystic Meg on it.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 17/03/2013 15:29:06    1350912

TheGateKeeper

If you read what I said again Muckross (See above), I was
obviously talking about the money being wasted, not the time!
Its an easy mistake to make on your part, so no harm done.
Happy St. Patrick's day. :)

I know what you meant GateKeeper but I couldn't resist it!!

We have stacks of money in Donegal so don't worry.

A happy St Patrick's Day to you too!!!

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 17/03/2013 15:31:43    1350916

dubbydave.

MuckrossHead

what happened last night very bad display by your lads poor scoreline also ???

Not one of the classics I concede, but keep remembering the championship is eight weeks away. Everything we do is centered on that.

I would also have to say that Donegal like Tyrone are more than prepared to win a championship ugly if that is the way it has to be done. The league is preparation, nothing more.
If you were talking to Jim Gavin, Mickey Harte et al they will say the same thing.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 17/03/2013 15:38:50    1350924

A result last night that no-one could have seen coming given the performances of both teams last weekend. Tyrone put in a good shift last night and deserved their win. If someone had brought their shooting boots with them we could have won by much more.

Defensively, bar McCrory who got took to the cleaners by McManamon in the first half, we were otherwise pretty comfortable. For once we probably dominated the midfield area for a half, with Dublin's kickouts very very poor putting them on the back foot the majority of the time. Sean Cavanagh was back to the form he had been showing and Stevie O'Neill took some nice scores too. Our subs also helped bring fresh legs at the right time. I was also pleased to see us close out the game when we had big Joe missing in the back line. So on the whole, a good night for Mickey and the team.

I said last week that no Tyrone supporter should get carried away by one defeat. Nor should any of us get carried away by one victory. This was a Dublin B/C team in reality. But, another step forward and it should guarantee a semi-final spot which will help bring our younger players on more.

EnolaGay (Tyrone) - Posts: 653 - 17/03/2013 16:23:04    1350956

So what are you saying muck? That we shouldn't give predictions?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 17/03/2013 16:26:22    1350959

TheGateKeeper

Heard chat on Highland radio that the flight costs of the team was covered under an sponsorship deal with either Carrickfin airport or an airline operating out of there. Not sure of the full details, as I just caught the tail end of it.

GaryMc82 (Derry) - Posts: 3017 - 17/03/2013 17:33:13    1351020

benjyyy

Hill16 - no harm but watching on Setanta a yellow card looked harsh for that. In fact it was Ryan who came in high

HARSH!!! he closelined him around the neck and he didnt even have the ball,its a straight red card end of story.
the same thing happened today when leahy off ballymun high tackled the brigids player around the neck and also only got yellow but the stupid thing was he gave elliot reilly a yellow at the exact same time for a tackle before hand that was in no way near as dangerous how can they both get same punishment?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 17/03/2013 19:18:12    1351123

fortyfive

now now hill16no1man we'll have none of that nonsense on here, a great result for Tyrone the hill must have been a bit subdued what with the Man u match still on ) a Great start to St Particks weekend .

theres a such thing as a bad winner and you certainly seem to be one,as i have no interest in english soccer.
seems to be the players and supporters in tyrone enjoy sledging

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 17/03/2013 19:19:29    1351124

Surprise surprise Donegal involved in another horror show. Well done Tyrone on a great victory for you's last night. For us the Down game is a very big game now cause we don't want to be going to Donegal looking for a win.

Horror show? You would swear Donegal were bothered about the league.

Rebel.Og (Cork) - Posts: 519 - 17/03/2013 19:29:26    1351129

First of all well done to Tyrone last night. They whole heartedly deserved their win. What a very impressive display.. Stephen O'Neill and Sean Cavanagh havent lost it anyway. Fantastic individual performances there.

As for the Dubs .. This result could be the best thing for us. I think after 4 wins in a row and especially after hammering Kildare last week, A few people in the media where starting to get a bit carried away with themselves in predicting that dublin are unstoppable. Yesterday just served a little reminder to those people that this is still very much a work in progress. Its still very early days under this new regime, Maybe now certain people will see this side is not unstoppable and we can be beaten.

Before i give my opinion about what happened on the pitch however, I'm going to talk about Jim gavins decision made ore match. Where they right ? Well ultimately the result will suggest it wasn't. Leaving out Rory, Johnny Cooper, Bernard Brogan and Michael Darragh seemed to have disjointed the sides consistantcy. Jim was obviously resting a few players while giving others a chance, Thats perfectl fine but in an ideal world you would do that when you have qualified for the semi finals. Instead of taking care of Tyrone yesterday and guaranteeing a league SF spot, We instead lost and heaped more pressure on us to beat Down if we are to qualify before our very difficult trip up to Donegal in 3 weeks time. But sure look. It's done, If Bernard and co run amuck next week it will not matter.

Now to matters on the pitch, I thought our defending was far far too shaky, The class of the Tyrone forwards shone through every time for me, The only thing that kept us in the game in the first half was the fact they hit some poor wides but the way they moved the ball was lovely to watch and defensively they did everything we didnt do. They got around our lads like flys around sh1te.. Typically brilliant Tyrone defending, When we did have chances alot of the time we didnt take them. We where outclassed in midfield until Mac came on in the second half, Won a bit more then.. I see people critisizin Shane Supple , Completely OTT in my opinion. I thought he was very good last night , Clearly improved in dealing with the high ball bar one instance towards the end of the second half. His kickouts werent fantastic but Hill16no1man would fail to acknowledge that his kickouts where actually decent it was the winning of the midfield battle that was poor and if your midfield arent performing it doesnt matter who is kicking the ball out.

In terms of individual performances, I thought Jack McCaffrey had another decent game, As did Denis Bastick. Kevin Mc was alright , Got through alot of work but i said it again and i will say it again, He doesnt have the same impact on games when he starts, Its as simple and as straight forward is that. I hope Paul Flynn's hamstring injury isnt as bad as i first feared when i saw him going off, If its torn he will be out til june at the earliest one would imagine. Ciaran Kilkenny looks like he just picked up a dead leg.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 17/03/2013 20:17:00    1351164

Heard chat on Highland radio that the flight costs of the team was
covered under an sponsorship deal with either Carrickfin airport or
an airline operating out of there. Not sure of the full details, as I
just caught the tail end of it.
garymac82
Derry

Fair enough Gary, still a wild waste of money though!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 17/03/2013 20:56:41    1351192

TheGateKeeper

1351192 Heard chat on Highland radio that the flight costs of the team was
covered under an sponsorship deal with either Carrickfin airport or
an airline operating out of there. Not sure of the full details, as I
just caught the tail end of it.
garymac82
Derry

Fair enough Gary, still a wild waste of money though!

come on will ye, we want our sport to be recognised and get tv coverage , but a team that won the allireland shouldnt get a flight sponsored to take team to a match.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 17/03/2013 21:32:32    1351229