Seanie Johnston sitting on the Kildare bench

royaldunne

I'm just tired of this he will half to win his place if he is permitted he will play end of. At cost to native kildare player

End of?

Well that certainly settles it lads.

Regardless of training performances, challenge matches and injuries, Seanie will play no matter what.

Thread closed...

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 28/05/2012 19:07:37    1182251

The latest is the cccc is meeting tonight and they either will rubberstamp the transfer or appeal the cac's decision in other words they are going to go against a body that is higher than them for the first time so the cccc has to appeal to the DRA (disputes resolution authority) funny how its changed from johnston having to go to the DRA now to the cccc having to go to them serves them right for messing around and delaying anyway i agree with doublehop everyone will just have to 'suck it up ' and get on with the championship sooner rather than later!

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 28/05/2012 19:22:33    1182258

Last i heard its a free country. If Seanie J wants to leave Cavan and play for Kildare, is his choice alone. Cork had 2 Kildare men Larry J and S Fahy and had D Culloty who was from San Fran playing with them in the late 1980s. So Kildare had the short stick back then.

In Kerry, players from the country move to Killarney teams,with little or no success.

I hope Seanie is a sucess, no player deserves to be treated badly by the press, in particular i thought the lads on Sunday Game last nite were very harsh on an amateur player. Kildare are a team i would like to win Sam this year.

kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 28/05/2012 19:30:13    1182263

'Last I heard it's a free country'.
Well that settles that then!

Coylers Elbow (Meath) - Posts: 1075 - 28/05/2012 19:51:52    1182276

This is all wrong! The transfer shouldn't be allowed! I am traditionalist when it comes to transfer matters so before anyone starts asking me who am I to comment when Dublin clubs are tapping up country players I also believe they are wrong and at the time of the eamonn fennell transfer in Dublin I aslo had many a debate on here for the no side on that as well. I am also uncomfortable with the Dublin hurlers policy of playing players from other counties. I do hope this comes to and end now with the huge success and talent coming through from the underage structure within the county. I come from a football upbringing and have never been to a dublin hurling game so don't hold the same gra for it although I love watching hurling from the comfort of the living room.
Seanie Johnston regardless of what the whole story is or isn't didn't grow up dreaming of playing for Kildare football team yet is going to steal somebody elses dream from them by doing so! All the Kildare fans on here who are in support of this transfer need to take a step back and ask themselves what does pride in the lilywhite jersey mean to them as fans? This is another step in the ''win at all costs'' mentality that is not good for our game! This is a misguided attempt by kildare to achieve success for there County! I believe if you are not good enough as a team to succeed in Gaa at the very highest level it has always been about the way you represented yourself as a team and a county. This transfer doesn't say much about Kildare gaa and the people behind this transfer. It is actually on many levels an admission of an inner belief of inferiority by kildare and its management to be openly driving this because they need it! Is there any great pride in that? I don't believe it is a transfer worth fighting for and nor do i believe that it will improve kildare greatly. It is simply a misguided attempt to help achieve some silverware for the county ( or for the managers cv ) but where does it stop and who will benefit from this long term remains to be seen? I don't believe that this is the future we want for our games and imagine what would happen to our great game if the likes of dublin adapted this policy! I would stop going to see dublin play if I say for example Brian Kavanagh was playing in a full forward line with Conor Mortimor and Michael Tierney....no problem with residency here...as a dub where is the pride in that though and I think Kildare as a county need to ask themselves that question!

pigonastick (Dublin) - Posts: 487 - 28/05/2012 19:57:46    1182284

Ok let's get on with football.
But first things first. Not one has complained about your management tapping up another counties player. Why not?
Is kildare so desperate for success that yous are willing to turn a blind eye to this?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 28/05/2012 19:59:52    1182289

thank you kerryrowz no matter if you agree or dont with the transfer.seanie is been treated badly by the media the sunday game panelists last night were tasteless in their comments and they the ones that have benefited most from transfer system hypocritcal alright..davis with the celtic cross because two kildare men transfered didnt hear him coming out to hand back that medal because it went against the 'ethos' putiing the transfer aside for a minute there is a kildare team there that have been working hard for the past 4 or 5 years and are looking to make the breakthrough this year.
after all the knocks they get themselves up and motoring again year on year for another lash at sam maguire. no matter how many times the media portray kildare have 'no natural forwards' they have a never die spirit which i admire.
I hope and would feel that nobody would begrudge one day johnny doyle getting his medal and likewise dermot earley shame if they didnt maybe 2012 might be the year..

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 28/05/2012 20:05:52    1182294

lets see kildare prove the media wrong then lilywhite!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 28/05/2012 20:09:53    1182297

28/05/2012 19:57:46

pigonastick

This is all wrong! The transfer shouldn't be allowed! I am traditionalist when it comes to transfer matters so before anyone starts asking me who am I to comment when Dublin clubs are tapping up country players I also believe they are wrong and at the time of the eamonn fennell transfer in Dublin I aslo had many a debate on here for the no side on that as well. I am also uncomfortable with the Dublin hurlers policy of playing players from other counties. I do hope this comes to and end now with the huge success and talent coming through from the underage structure within the county. I come from a football upbringing and have never been to a dublin hurling game so don't hold the same gra for it although I love watching hurling from the comfort of the living room.
Seanie Johnston regardless of what the whole story is or isn't didn't grow up dreaming of playing for Kildare football team yet is going to steal somebody elses dream from them by doing so! All the Kildare fans on here who are in support of this transfer need to take a step back and ask themselves what does pride in the lilywhite jersey mean to them as fans? This is another step in the ''win at all costs'' mentality that is not good for our game! This is a misguided attempt by kildare to achieve success for there County! I believe if you are not good enough as a team to succeed in Gaa at the very highest level it has always been about the way you represented yourself as a team and a county. This transfer doesn't say much about Kildare gaa and the people behind this transfer. It is actually on many levels an admission of an inner belief of inferiority by kildare and its management to be openly driving this because they need it! Is there any great pride in that? I don't believe it is a transfer worth fighting for and nor do i believe that it will improve kildare greatly. It is simply a misguided attempt to help achieve some silverware for the county ( or for the managers cv ) but where does it stop and who will benefit from this long term remains to be seen? I don't believe that this is the future we want for our games and imagine what would happen to our great game if the likes of dublin adapted this policy! I would stop going to see dublin play if I say for example Brian Kavanagh was playing in a full forward line with Conor Mortimor and Michael Tierney....no problem with residency here...as a dub where is the pride in that though and I think Kildare as a county need to ask themselves that question!

Excellent post. If you haven't they players you don't use transfer market. I doubt very much this would have happened if a kildare manager was in charge. Pride in county jersey.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 28/05/2012 20:11:00    1182301

i doubt that this transfer would of got an article on a paper if johnston transfered pre mc geeney era to kildare or to a weaker county.

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 28/05/2012 20:19:51    1182311

Lillywhite with all due respect that's a load of horse manure. What if its earley or doyles place seannie takes? And he is going collecting his medal while the) sitting on bench?
Or what if it doesn't work out this year and mcgeeney been so desperate for success drafts in 2 or 3 more players?
Where does it end?
100% agree with sunday game panelists. And I've no great liking for any of them as all 3 broke meath hearts on many a occasion. But on this there right.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 28/05/2012 20:20:21    1182312

badmonkey
usa
If you live in a county and play for a club there, you should be allowed play for that county in my opinion
you should also be allowed play for any club you like no matter where you live

Thankfully some opinion's don't count!

TheGateKeeper (Tyrone) - Posts: 2843 - 28/05/2012 20:21:44    1182314

Exactly Kildare lads them two all Ireland's for Cork don't count. Only for the two Kildare lads they would never have won Sam. Sure Larry was the best player in Ireland at the time. A lot of Cork people I talk to say the same thing.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 28/05/2012 20:26:18    1182317

I wonder where all this disgust was when thomas walsh moved to wicklow, the sunday game gave it no airing infact they were full of praise for him, serious double standards

Barrowsider (Carlow) - Posts: 1591 - 28/05/2012 20:27:38    1182320

This transfer is the worst that has ever been seen at ic level and if permitted brings a new low to the gaa.
I said it before the last line of defense is the kildare supporters. They alone can put a end to this. Regardless of yous been traditionally a weaker county. Do yous really want a tarnished success?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 28/05/2012 20:35:46    1182328

People need to get off the their high horse on this matter. Far as i am aware Seanie Johnston was droped off the panel in Oct last year. Agree with the posters, Davis has some cheek comenting on this matter when cork and Larry Tompkins at no 11, and Shay Fahy at 8 broke kerrys hearts for 10 years, and beating Mayo and Meath in the final.

kerryrowz (Kerry) - Posts: 833 - 28/05/2012 20:42:51    1182336

ah sure barrowsider there's double standards right across that organisation called the GAA!
royal its not as if seanie is guaranteed a place it will take a hell of an effort for him to get a spot a lot people say we dont have natural forwards well were not half as bad as some would like to think! he's work would be cut out to get a place thats how mc geeney works.podge fogarty came on v tyrone because he was going well in training and gave him a chance. We all know it is a 20 man game now but at that i cant see seanie coming in until he proves himself.
anyway its looking like seanie migh not be eligable for kildare this year.
i still feel kildare will do well with or without him on the bench.Without seanie we all know they are a very strong panel with earley,conway,lynch and peter kelly back from injuries a lot stonger than last year to call on.

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 28/05/2012 20:43:26    1182337

What is a good footballer like Johnston to do if he is told he is not wanted by his county? In fairness he is entitled to play county football and if not wanted by his own I believe he should be allowed to go elsewhere. I don't like to see it happening but the chances of him playing for Cavan again are poor as Terry Hyland who was part of the set-up to get rid of him is now the manager in his own right !!

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 28/05/2012 20:52:45    1182349

@clondalkindub I don't think him being present on the pitch after the league final was the best idea alright. I was surprised to see it myself but I doubt if that was fully his decision. My own take on it was that Kildare were showing that they'd accepted him into the panel and were supporting his transfer by having him there with them at the end, maybe I'm wrong.

As for the CCCC objecting again, what grounds do they have this time? Like I'm honestly asking the question? I know many people are against it but what are the actual reasons they can object now? If he has proof of residency and neither Cavan or Cavan Gaels are objecting then why can they stop it? It seems to me that it's a case of if all else fails then we'll say it's cause of ethos we can't give it. If it goes to the DRA he'll get it as he's doing everything withing the rules but why drag it out even longer? Regardless of personal opinions on the actual transfer I think most people can see the CCCC have been a joke throughout this whole thing.

kefan (Kildare) - Posts: 498 - 28/05/2012 20:53:30    1182350

Lillywhite I for one don't think yous need him. Yes kildare have struggled in forwards over past couple of years but that's when you look within your own county for them not outside. This year yous seem to have got a solid forward line. So why change it? Mcgeeneys obsession with johnston is bemusing. And that will relate to him playing even if at cost to up and coming players.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 28/05/2012 21:00:30    1182362