No backpacks and large bags in Croker.

This has nothing to do with security, I have been lucky to attend all the main matches in the new Croke Park - my small bag was never checked, how long would it to check bags....

The reality is if another 20,000 people spent 10 Euro at one game on food/drink over the course of a year is avery notable increase in revenue......

Yes we should be careful but we need to be realistic

cuchulainn35 (Armagh) - Posts: 1673 - 20/06/2017 13:01:30    2002484

Replying To Chops:  "For those with kids it leaves the day even more difficult and more expensive. It forces people to buy the "food" and drinks such as water and minerals inside the stadium. Sad day"
There are ways around this. How about instead of Mam or Dad carrying a big backpack filled with everyone's lunch and rainhear etc. each person have their own small bag that fits the required dimensions. It's not like they're saying nobody can bring a bag. Just not a big bag.

GaaGaa78 (UK) - Posts: 285 - 20/06/2017 14:58:37    2002566

Replying To cuchulainn35:  "This has nothing to do with security, I have been lucky to attend all the main matches in the new Croke Park - my small bag was never checked, how long would it to check bags....

The reality is if another 20,000 people spent 10 Euro at one game on food/drink over the course of a year is avery notable increase in revenue......

Yes we should be careful but we need to be realistic"
"this has nothing to do with security". Ok, if you say so then it must be true.

GaaGaa78 (UK) - Posts: 285 - 20/06/2017 15:09:45    2002580

Regrettable to see the extremes to which we have to go to ensure public safety, particularly where large crowds gather. It's symptomatic of the times we live in I'm afraid, and a necessary response to the terrorist attacks on the innocent in Britain, Syria, France, Iraq, Belgium, Afghanistan, Yemen, Palestine, Spain and Libya.

I hope the ban on large bags and backpacks doesn't put an end to the tradition of taking the flask of tea or soup and sandwiches to Croke Park. Of course thousands of people still upkeep the tradition of eating from the boot of the parked car before entering the stadium and take whatever fruit, snacks or drinks into the stadium. People shouldn't feel that they will be forced into paying way over the odds at the privately run shops in Croke Park. The reduction in bag size shouldn't stop people from taking everything they need into the ground. Maybe transparent bags big or small might be a solution. Children take packed lunches to school and they can always take these into the stadium. Times are hard enough for families, especially on match days with tickets, programmes, fuel and travel costs. I know a lot of smart people do this already, as they like to give their children healthy, nutritional food as well as save some hard earned money. Think smart people and save yourself money. Remember, you still have a choice - get smart or get robbed.

Sliotharyslope (Wexford) - Posts: 136 - 20/06/2017 15:42:22    2002618

Replying To GaaGaa78:  "There are ways around this. How about instead of Mam or Dad carrying a big backpack filled with everyone's lunch and rainhear etc. each person have their own small bag that fits the required dimensions. It's not like they're saying nobody can bring a bag. Just not a big bag."
Or just have your lunch before you go to the match
Just a thought

Sorry if that sounds a bit mean but I've had numerous instances with kids, adults and elderly people who all come with their own set of issues. Take old irish people, can they do anything without a cup of tea?? Don't get me wrong, I love having the craic with them but can anyone relate to this:
"Come on Dad, we'll miss the bus"
"Not till I have a cup of tea!!"
OR
"We're late for the match come on, the national anthem is playing"
"I need a cup of tea first, we won't miss anything"
OR
"I'm not even mad we were late, I'm not mad we lost, I'm not mad that we've tried 3 different pubs already and there's nowhere to sit, but now we've found one, tv is on and they're showing a replay of the match. What are you having?"
"A cup of tea of course"
5 mins later waiting at the bar
"They don't serve tea, what will you have"
"Ah don't worry about it, I think I'll just head home!!"

keithlemon (Australia) - Posts: 920 - 20/06/2017 16:14:05    2002634

The problem with this is that security is now reacting to every method of attack that these people deploy. Although after 911 the reaction was to ban drinks coming in based on the possibility of being explosives being mixed in the drink or something. The horrific Manchester murder happened because that group decided to target an event. If the venue had a backpack ban, they would not have aborted the attack but just done something else or attacked outside. Sadly I think if any city or event is going to be targeted , relatively minor security measures like banning /checking bags will not prevent it. As we know from big CP games, there are many areas outside the ground where mass groups of people are assembled. Same with most stadiums, in that they would not necessarily have to get into the venue to cause carnage.

On what it means to the fans. Well I guess its the tradition of making our games a day out for the family. I never bring a bag on my own but with the kids , ye need a full bag of food, wipes, clothes etc. Like the cinema, part of the experience is the food goodies. It certainly helps them embrace the occasion and you are creating the future fans of the game by offering them good experiences. Buying them stuff inside the ground will set ye back a small fortune.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 20/06/2017 16:19:38    2002637

ok can anybody point out to me where they are saying you cant bring bottles of water or sandwiches into croke park?
you can still bring your water,you can still have your tailgate party before,just bring a large backpack.my only fear,and i know this from my past,is tourists often bring their bag on the way to the airport.we should have a warning on every ticket that is printed to say that they wont be admitted.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 20/06/2017 16:22:10    2002639

Replying To perfect10:  "ok can anybody point out to me where they are saying you cant bring bottles of water or sandwiches into croke park?
you can still bring your water,you can still have your tailgate party before,just bring a large backpack.my only fear,and i know this from my past,is tourists often bring their bag on the way to the airport.we should have a warning on every ticket that is printed to say that they wont be admitted."
Sandwiches are fine, according to the croke park website, bottles and even flags are a no no.

Q: What items are prohibited from Croke Park on match days?
Patrons should note that the bringing of alcohol, fireworks, smoke canisters, bottles, glasses, cans, flags, banners, poles, distress signals, laser pointers, selfie sticks and other similar articles or containers, including anything which could or might be used as a weapon is strictly prohibited.

louthman57 (Louth) - Posts: 292 - 20/06/2017 18:51:13    2002716

Hmmm.
As one of the diaspora, some of my visits to Croke Park are day trips sandwiched between flights from/to London.
No backpack isn't impossible, but compared to soccer games in England ( where anyone with a bag expected a search in recent seasons) Croker appear to be going on step further. That said, this could change with the new soccer season.

Whatever the rationale, we're all buying more food once we're inside.

Knoxboya (Monaghan) - Posts: 357 - 20/06/2017 19:07:07    2002725

Replying To Knoxboya:  "Hmmm.
As one of the diaspora, some of my visits to Croke Park are day trips sandwiched between flights from/to London.
No backpack isn't impossible, but compared to soccer games in England ( where anyone with a bag expected a search in recent seasons) Croker appear to be going on step further. That said, this could change with the new soccer season.

Whatever the rationale, we're all buying more food once we're inside."
Knox, as another member of the second generation diaspora, I know what you're saying. But as I said in an earlier post, saw Stone Roses at Wembley last weekend. 90,000 people, loads and loads of rucksacks..........no problem. Now, if you were looking to make a point and/or secure "martyrdom", what would've been a better target, that gig or Dublin v Kildare in a country that isn't even a member of NATO?

We're all entitled to our opinions but honestly lads, I think this is an overreaction on the part of the GAA

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 20/06/2017 19:21:51    2002732

Breaking News ......

3 people badly injured when hit with a backpack in Dublin. Area cordoned off.

Cavan_Slasher (Cavan) - Posts: 10253 - 20/06/2017 19:57:17    2002743

Replying To Cavan_Slasher:  "Breaking News ......

3 people badly injured when hit with a backpack in Dublin. Area cordoned off."
Hey Slasher, nothing compared to the untold misery caused by umbrellas!

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 20/06/2017 20:24:14    2002762

Replying To ballydalane:  "The fact that one of the London attackers lived in Rathmines for 3 years and had Irish documentation was probably a factor also. There are Jihadists living in this country, have no doubt about that."
Yeah there is but they are attacking the countries who they have beef with as a result of middle east been blown to smithereens by armed forces in these countries or the likes of France for their media antagonism, Ireland has remained neutral in all these so called wars.
my point being had this attack have happened in Syria or Tunisia at a concert would they be doing these new safety measures in the gaa?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 20/06/2017 20:38:36    2002769

Replying To yew_tree:  "I think it is very naive to think Ireland is not a target no matter how unlikely it may seem. Someone mentioned we are not an invader...The Philippines have never invaded anyone and what about the 1000's of Christians being murdered out there. Also Muslims are being forced to join or die.

As a security expert said on radio recently, ISIS command know they can never invade or win a war with the west. What they can do however is cause panic and tension in our society. Imagine the world ramifications if poor old little neutral Ireland was hit."
Will these new measures be used in all has stadiums or again will this only be dangerous for croke park like the pitch invasion malarky where they erect a glass screen but yet in thurles last Sunday around 20 thousand people were on the pitch immediately after the whistle it must makes no sense like a pitch invasion isn't equally as dangerous in other grounds.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 20/06/2017 20:42:35    2002770

I guess some people think we should wait til something happens before reacting. its a bag pack, get over it. First World problems at its best

PyatPree (Cork) - Posts: 376 - 20/06/2017 20:43:08    2002772

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "I can probably understand the big bags alright but what's the deal with the flags being banned? Or have they always been banned/restricted but just never really clamped down on it till now??"
You haven't been allowed bring a flag onto the hill for dublin games in about 15 year's

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 20/06/2017 20:44:37    2002776

Replying To GaaGaa78:  "There are ways around this. How about instead of Mam or Dad carrying a big backpack filled with everyone's lunch and rainhear etc. each person have their own small bag that fits the required dimensions. It's not like they're saying nobody can bring a bag. Just not a big bag."
But sure anybody looking to make an attack possible will just carry the device strapped to their body there not stupid they will know bags are not allowed and use another means.

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 20/06/2017 20:48:23    2002779

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Yeah there is but they are attacking the countries who they have beef with as a result of middle east been blown to smithereens by armed forces in these countries or the likes of France for their media antagonism, Ireland has remained neutral in all these so called wars.
my point being had this attack have happened in Syria or Tunisia at a concert would they be doing these new safety measures in the gaa?"
Exactly. Spot on Hill. And we all know the answer re if the same thing happened in Tunisia or anywhere else in the ME. Look at the clowns who colour their facebook profile in a French, Belgian, German, I love MCR flag. Where's their Afghan or Syrian flags when a jet knocks out a school or hospital over there? Nowhere. But hey, their mothers don't mourn like white mothers do. Their kids don't bleed like white kids do. Total f***king hypocrisy of the highest level.

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 20/06/2017 20:51:35    2002782

Replying To PyatPree:  "I guess some people think we should wait til something happens before reacting. its a bag pack, get over it. First World problems at its best"
What about bottles of energiser and 7up as apparently there banned now too so of course it's a money making thing and as always people suffering is used to others advantage of making money

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 20/06/2017 20:52:40    2002783

Replying To hill16no1man:  "Will these new measures be used in all has stadiums or again will this only be dangerous for croke park like the pitch invasion malarky where they erect a glass screen but yet in thurles last Sunday around 20 thousand people were on the pitch immediately after the whistle it must makes no sense like a pitch invasion isn't equally as dangerous in other grounds."
Again, on the money. Pitch invasions = bad, fences = good, preventative. Now remind me, where did that myth get banished?

MedwayIrish (Wexford) - Posts: 2324 - 20/06/2017 20:52:54    2002784