Cadbury GAA U21 Football Championship 2012

Ye Philly Ryan is a very good player he was poor up to the semi (he was taken off at ht in the Leinster final) but had a great game against Cork but he's nowhere near as good as Kilkenny.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 01/05/2012 18:50:16    1164158

Philly Ryan, I couldn't think of his name. Kilkenny is the real deal alright, hope he stays. Hate seeing these young lads in Oz during their prime, i.e. Tommy Walsh. Few of our U21s got a run out with the seniors last weekend in a challenge.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 01/05/2012 19:05:26    1164172

I reckon if tommy didn't go to Oz Kerry would be going for 4 in a row this year, what do you think Ckh?

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 01/05/2012 19:08:13    1164176

Hard to say Clondalkin, he's a huge loss, and more of a threat than Donaghy. Cork were bound to win some time, same as yerselves, as ye were both knocking on the door. The lad would've improved hugely though had he stayed.

Do you think Kilkenny would start for the seniors? good bet for young player of the year!

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 01/05/2012 19:16:09    1164182

the Dublin management would be idiots if they selected Kilkenny for the seniors. The lad not physically not developed yet and the men on that team are physically fine tuned. Bit like our own Donie Smith. Little known of him yet because his from Roscommon but an exceptional talent. Hope he isnt on Senior for another two years though.

Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 517 - 01/05/2012 19:26:20    1164190

100% Ckh he would start for me.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 01/05/2012 19:37:44    1164200

people on this really haven't a clue what it takes regarding strength and conditioning to make a senior panel. i.e Ciaran Kilkenny

Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 517 - 01/05/2012 19:44:26    1164207

If you're good enough, you're old enough. Look at Colm Cooper in 2002.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 01/05/2012 19:52:25    1164214

That statement has been done to death. Colm Cooper, easily the most gifted footballer ever to lace the boots. He shouldn't have played either at such a young age. Could easily have been injured badly. But sure who would care, Kerry got another star along with the spectators. Player Welfare comes 2nd or third every single time just like the topic of Ciaran Kilkenny now. A lad doing his leaving cert for god sake. Easily known few on this have played or been involved in the county set up.

Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 517 - 01/05/2012 20:08:17    1164226

01/05/2012 19:26:20
Ros2013
County: Roscommon

the Dublin management would be idiots if they selected Kilkenny for the seniors. The lad not physically not developed yet and the men on that team are physically fine tuned. Bit like our own Donie Smith. Little known of him yet because his from Roscommon but an exceptional talent. Hope he isnt on Senior for another two years though.
--------------
While you have a point on Smith (he's light looking for senior) have you seen the size of Kilkenny? more than ready for senior football already IMO.

Gaa_lover (USA) - Posts: 3338 - 01/05/2012 20:18:06    1164233

Ros, only a handful can say they played Inter-County football at any level, I don't see what that has got to do with it. But going back to Kilkenny, he's not a small guy, I'm sure he could handle himself alright, plus he has alot more ability than some of the Dublin Seniors.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 01/05/2012 20:18:53    1164235

kilkenny is definatly physically ready to play with the dublin seniors,he isnt goin to get physicaly much bigger,and yes donie smith is an oustanding young player bu hes not now where near as physically as big and strong as kilkenny

slivenamon.lad (Tipperary) - Posts: 6 - 01/05/2012 20:20:44    1164240

No point going on, already fighting a losing battle.

With regard to the real thread we're not too worried about Kilkenny, lthogh he is a brilliant footballer we have the right man to mark him. Looking forward to see Michael Concarr on Donal Smith which will be a key battle. Mcaffrey on Kilroy who is a seasoned underage star at this stage should also be a pivitol match up

Ros2013 (Roscommon) - Posts: 517 - 01/05/2012 20:24:44    1164246

Jason sherlock was 19 in 1995 for the dubs and played a big role in us winning an allireland, whos to say if he stays involved kilkenny couldnt do the same.

AthCliath (Dublin) - Posts: 4347 - 01/05/2012 21:19:59    1164296

To be fair if he is scoring 1-06 and 1-05 in u21 games and we are all raving about him, he is ready for a shot at senior. Smith howeveris not. He needs at least 2-3 years of serious physical development while maintaining his undoubted talent.

Rosfan (Roscommon) - Posts: 778 - 01/05/2012 21:28:11    1164310

Can someone please give me a name of a burned out player cause I don't know of any. I know players who were very talented but get bad injuries and never come back to be the same player. But injuries can happen at any age level, I broke my collar bone playing u 16 and trust me I was the biggest and hardest player on the pitch. To me if your good enough your old enough it's as simple as that. Anyway Kilkenny mite only be available for this summer so we would be mad not to call him up to the seniors.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 02/05/2012 12:14:03    1164493

1164493 Can someone please give me a name of a burned out player cause I don't know of any. I know players who were very talented but get bad injuries and never come back to be the same player. But injuries can happen at any age level, I broke my collar bone playing u 16 and trust me I was the biggest and hardest player on the pitch

Were you any good?

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 02/05/2012 16:01:27    1164781

Unbelievable horse still am.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 02/05/2012 16:31:19    1164828

Check out a video (link below) from the Cadbury All-Ireland U21 Final preview at Croke Park today including interviews with Kevin O'Brien, Dublin U21 Captain, Paddy Brogan, Roscommon U21 Captain, Jim Gavin, Dublin U21 Manager, Nigel Dineen, Roscommon U21 Manager and Shane Guest, Kraft Foods Ireland. This is Cadbury's seventh year as sponsor of the Championship and it continues to go from strength to strength. Cadbury are calling on all Dublin and Roscommon fans to show their support for their county by heading to O'Connor Park, Tullamore on Sunday 6st May at 2pm

http://www.facebook.com/U21GAAFootball

CadburyGAA (Dublin) - Posts: 80 - 02/05/2012 18:18:54    1164925

Hear what both U21 captains have to say ahead of the Cadbury U21 final on Sunday. Videos of Kevin O'Brien, Dublin U21 captain and Paddy Brogan, Roscommon U21 captain on the below link.

http://www.facebook.com/U21GAAFootball

CadburyGAA (Dublin) - Posts: 80 - 04/05/2012 10:22:31    1165834