Very Strong NFL Division Two Group

Don't stoop to clondalkindub's level gammy, let him have his opinion and let our counties get on with their own agendas.

Anyway, I can't see us beating Kildare in a fortnight but we have consolidated our place in Division 2 so its been a successful enough start to the season.

ahsure. (Galway) - Posts: 1572 - 25/03/2012 20:43:01    1136974

Tyronetim

"Top prize for brass neck effrontery goes to this gentleman who came onto the Tyrone website with the first two posts prior to the game last night. The third post is the most he could muster for what most people would consider an embarrassing and shameful gaffe."

georgelee
County: Louth
1135379 Tyrone now putting out a second string. Very very unfair on the other teams in the division.
georgelee
Tyrone put out a statement that they would "Play Fair" for the final 2 rounds but now the put out their subs. What happened to play fair.
georgelee
1136283 Broad smile on my face Rahilly. We will beat Derry and Meath so we as safe as houses. I'm h a p p y I'm h a p p y I' m h a p p y

Tyronetim,

With the utmost respect to you, I think georgelee's "embarrassing and shameful gaffe" as you described it falls a long long long way short of the "embarrassing and shameful gaffe"your fellow county man made in the 2010 Leinster final.

Surely if awards/prizes are being handed out for "brass neck effrontery" then the Tyrone official will win every time.

Have you forgotten what was mustered up by your fellow county man at that time, was there any apology offered back then or one since for that matter, I think not.

squidword (Louth) - Posts: 2897 - 25/03/2012 21:03:50    1137012

Don't be lulling us into a false sense of security now ahsure. You have the home venue so I can't see you letting that go. Besides Galway are our bogey team.

Its only a few short weeks ago that certain people were stating that Kildare were relegation material. He who laughs last etc.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 25/03/2012 21:07:05    1137021

I'd rate division 2 as very weak actually. Tyrone are strong but I think they are being majorly overrated at the moment. Kildare have found their form and in reality are a division 1 side.

Apart from that though we have it in our own hands to be promoted (which we won't) and imo we are not in good shape. Derry and Meath haven't delivered as might have been expected, Monaghan are gone a long way back, Louth have been competitive. The fact Westmeath have a great chance of staying up despite being in total disarray and being hammered out the game in a number of games says a lot about the quality of the division.

Stuckinthepast (Galway) - Posts: 472 - 25/03/2012 21:11:20    1137028

As Tyrone start to gain momentum watch the negative stuff start to come about them from the usual Mexicans in the Yukatan media and GAA.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9702 - 25/03/2012 21:36:54    1137069

Although Westmeath were missing the garrycastle lads and had another few with injuries to contend with 1-12 is not a bad score. From our perspective good win today and will do the confidence no harm. I was very happy with kildares performance. Forwards are doing well and good to see us being more clinical and the goals coming again today. Boltons point was a beaut as was his goal. 3-23 is a serious tally considering Johnny Doyle scored only one of them and good to see Kavanagh, smith, Conway and Flats all hitting form.Thought T'OC was very good, is getting involved on the scoreline to and set up a few also. Hes a very good target man to have and his abilty to pick out someone else in a better scoring position and lay it off is top notch. Johnny worked tirelessly and was everywhere. Mick foley did well in the middle of the park. Hughie had a good game. Think are backs did much better today and our discipline was very good. Shane Connolly good and seems to have gotten his confidence back.You can see the lads are really playing for each other and really wanted the win. Overall impressive performance and hope we can bring the momentum and confidence to Galway. Winner takes all and looking forward to the battle. Come on Kildare!

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 25/03/2012 21:40:34    1137077

Ulsterman

1137069 As Tyrone start to gain momentum watch the negative stuff start to come about them from the usual Mexicans in the Yukatan media and GAA.

most people here have commented on how well tyrone are doing at present from most counties ????

dubbydave. (Dublin) - Posts: 3927 - 25/03/2012 21:53:25    1137096

dubbydave.

1137096 Ulsterman

1137069 As Tyrone start to gain momentum watch the negative stuff start to come about them from the usual Mexicans in the Yukatan media and GAA.

most people here have commented on how well tyrone are doing at present from most counties ????

Lads, Tyrone are being made to look good because of the poor opposition they are playing. They are not a top 4 team in the country and dont forget no team from Division 2 has won the All Ireland as far back as my memory goes (which isnt too far). Yes, they are young, fit and hungry but they havent played anyone of any real worth.

cacsmckilly (Tyrone) - Posts: 1294 - 26/03/2012 10:46:21    1137209

The league started with a double-header of Kildare-Tyrone and Dublin-Kerry in Croke Park. Looking at the tables you could imagine it might finish with the same two fixtures back in Croker again!

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 26/03/2012 11:33:58    1137251

Realistically lads, Division 2 is a weak enough fare. With the exception of Kildare and Tyrone, none of the other six teams would really be entertaining thoughts of pushing for the All-Ireland (maybe Galway supporters would?), and some of them will do well to reach the latter stages of their provincial championships. Galway are in transition and bringing through a lot of U21s, Derry have an injury list as long as your arm, Westmeath have missed the Garycastle men, Meath - well I don't know whats up with them, Monaghan seem happy to make their way to Div 3, Louth have competed well and got good results away to Galway and Derry. Its an interesting division but the overall quality wouldn't be hectic. Division 1 is where the big stuff is

EnolaGay (Tyrone) - Posts: 653 - 26/03/2012 12:03:51    1137277

Have to agree apart from tyrone all others are not at races. Kildare and galway have had jackal and hyde tendency one minute sublime next very ordinary. It must be a concern to both kildare and galway that they could only manage to beat what saddens me to describe as the most disjointed meath team to ever take to field of play by 1 point

Other 5 not really at races. Meath realistically will probably only have 3 more competitive matches this year then off we go again looking for new manager and a few new players too

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 26/03/2012 12:24:59    1137297

EnolaGay

1137277 Realistically lads, Division 2 is a weak enough fare. With the exception of Kildare and Tyrone, none of the other six teams would really be entertaining thoughts of pushing for the All-Ireland (maybe Galway supporters would?), and some of them will do well to reach the latter stages of their provincial championships. Galway are in transition and bringing through a lot of U21s, Derry have an injury list as long as your arm, Westmeath have missed the Garycastle men, Meath - well I don't know whats up with them, Monaghan seem happy to make their way to Div 3, Louth have competed well and got good results away to Galway and Derry. Its an interesting division but the overall quality wouldn't be hectic. Division 1 is where the big stuff is

EnolaGay

Is that not the way league systems work, the higher the division the better the teams get.

Tyrone have been the stand out team for sure, but the reason for that is Tyrone are a top division 1 team playing in division 2.

There are no really real bad teams in division 2, I would say that none of the 5 teams that's now fighting for survival in the division are worse that any of the teams that's coming up into the division, in fact I'd say some if not all are better but the way the leagues work someone has to go down and someone has to come up.

Look at the bottom 4 teams in division 1 Laois, Donegal,Mayo and Armagh, surely Tyrone are a better team than any of these 4 division1 teams, Kildare are better also I would say, perhaps you could add Galway to that list aswell along with Derry.

There's about 6 top teams that'll be realistically contesting for All-Ireland glory, then you've got 10 other teams that'll make the championship worth following in the early stages but as usual they'll fall away one by one when the championship starts to heat up in August and September.

The championship can regularly throw up a few surprises along the way, ofter you'll get the emergence of an underdog, a team no one expected to do so well at the start but has, everyone knows deep down however that they'll be no fairy tale ending for any such team as everyone knows that the big prize will be going to one of only 4/5 division 1 teams at the end of the championship.

THE_SNAPPER (Louth) - Posts: 2019 - 26/03/2012 12:59:31    1137334

I'm sure Kildare and Galway are very happy with their one point wins against Meath. Beating a team with the six best forwards in the country is no mean achievement.

Galway mightn't make an impact in this years championship but will be one of watch next year or the year after. The same might be said for Tyrone but I reckon the guile of M Harte might bring them further. IMO its all or nothing for Kildare this year but alas we'll still be short of the required standard.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 26/03/2012 13:11:09    1137352

Squid - is it too much to ask for you to stick to the point. You clearly have that northern chip on your shoulder.
What's particularly embarrassing is the lack of knowledge here of the Tyrone team. This was probably Tyrone's strongest available team. Conor Gormley, Ricie McMenamin, Stephen O'Neill, Aidan Cassidy and John Devine would strengthen any team. Every one of them would expect to start come championship as Mickey Harte tries to get game time for injured players returning. Anyone with any knowledge of Mickey would know he always wants to win every game irrespective of level or tournament. Hence 11 wins out of 11 this year.

Since you choose to digress - you're right about the Tyrone referee Martin Sludden he did Louth no favours. I'm never off the Tipp board giving it buckets over team selections for the heartache Paddy Russell caused Tyrone. Didn't Mr.Sludden need a Gardai escort off the pitch after being attacked by Louth fans? Following your lead I hold Louth responsible for every misfortune I've suffered there. The guy who run over my Uncles dog in Carlingford in 1989, every Punt\ Euro I lost at the dogs in Dundalk racing and don't get me started on 1957. Maybe should narrow your contempt - blame Dromore - sure Ricie probably put him up to it.
Any sympathy I naturally had to Louth has now dissapated with this kind of whining. Did Louth not get an opportunity to settle it on the pitch the following year against Meath - How did that go? Sure in two weeks time you get a third go - third time lucky. Maybe it'll be time for me to forgive Meath for '96 and move on - what do they say my enemies enemy is my friend. Grow up and get on with supporting your own team rather than harbouring your petty vendetta's. Tyrone can do you no more favours but I'd offer you advice based on the hard learned Tyrone experience - don't let the ref be a factor be much better than the opposition.

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 26/03/2012 13:15:43    1137357

Meath realistically will probably only have 3 more competitive matches this year then off we go again looking for new manager and a few new players too

Speaking of Jeckyll and Hyde, what have you done with the real royaldunne? If you've lost your blind optimism there's no hope for any us!

doublehop (Kildare) - Posts: 4172 - 26/03/2012 13:19:29    1137359

I see Squid is making friends again!

Coylers Elbow (Meath) - Posts: 1075 - 26/03/2012 13:55:30    1137389

Totally agree with Ahsure; Galway have put in a very mixed effort, which you'd expect from a team going through a transition in terms of players and coaching staff. Getting beaten by a disjointed WH and drawing at home with Louth just doesn't suggest this team is quite ready for D1.

Kildare on the otherhand have been much more settled winning all the games you'd expect them to win. I expect Kildare to win by 3-5 points.

That said I am very happy with the effort this Galway team has put in. They've shown a character that was once expected from Galway footballers but has been absent for the last number of years. They've come out, at last, on the right side of a couple of one point wins, and the second half comeback against Monaghan yesterday was very heartening.

D1 next year, and I'll be happy with that.

Gaillimh Abu!

festinog (Galway) - Posts: 3097 - 26/03/2012 14:56:31    1137474

24/03/2012 16:26:09
squidword
County: Louth

1136101 I don't see anything unscrupulous with the Tyrone team selection for the game with Meath.

The team named by Tyrone is a strong team.

Meath won't be halting Tyrone's fine run.

Tim,

The above was posted by me on the same thread georelee posted on.

Are you feeling a bit embarrassed now ?...........no!!

Have a nice day.

squidword (Louth) - Posts: 2897 - 26/03/2012 14:59:02    1137478

Squid
Why would I be embarassed - I didn't do a circle the wagons you did. You also brought in Martin Sludden for goodness sake.
I'm basking in the spring sunshine - thanks.

Tyronetim (Tyrone) - Posts: 1254 - 26/03/2012 17:39:13    1137647

Ah good man Tim.
Use sun screen.
Are yez going to put out your subs against Monaghan too?
They are far more serious outfit than what you played Saturday night.
Monaghan would beat that Tyrone team. Lets hope we see some "FAIR PLAY" on Easter Sunday.
georgelee - One fair gael.

georgelee (Louth) - Posts: 523 - 26/03/2012 18:06:18    1137673