Cadbury GAA U21 Football Championship 2012

I see the Cork manager is not happy that the game is in Portlaois. He says it's to far from West Cork but in all fairness no matter where you have it's going to be far from some part of Cork.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 19/04/2012 18:08:13    1156112

Munster teams love playing neutral games in Munster. THB somewhere like our own Hyde park should have hosted the Cork v Dublin game. on another note Cork were to be missing up to 5 players through injury amazingly they have all recovered for this semi final.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3755 - 19/04/2012 19:10:23    1156153

http://hoganstand.com/Laois/ArticleForm.aspx?ID=166857

dhorse (Laois) - Posts: 11374 - 19/04/2012 19:16:40    1156161

I saw cavan play agsinst tyrone, up there for work and the boss a tyrone man got me the tickets. This Cavan team has to be the weakest team ever to win in Ulster. we saw what Galway did to them last year, and this cavn team is half as good as their team last year.
I would expect Dineen's boys to give this team a serious hiding, Every one talks about Ulster team, but connacht are the holders of the under 21 crown, and we are the connacht champions, and made it look easy. cavan have played against a poor Armagh team who were focused on the senior game against down, a Derry team that didn't start its best players, and a tyrone team (who according their own forum) where more interested in having a few jars after the match then they where in the match.
I expect the Rossies by at least 4 points, and with Shine starting that might be closer to 8 pionts.

Ros Comáin Abú!!!

shineon (Roscommon) - Posts: 12 - 19/04/2012 20:06:45    1156205

Roscommon will probably win by about 12 point minimum, and than beat Cork or Dublin in the final by the same.

I think this Roscommon u21 team should represent Roscommon in the senior racks probably run the All-Ireland tight - isn't that right shineon

Mike_Clitoris69 (Cavan) - Posts: 230 - 19/04/2012 20:24:01    1156221

Im backing a Roscommon and Cork double. Think the rossies have a serious chance to win something and wish them the best of luck to them. As for the dub/cork game. Dublin have an excellent team but they didnt really have any tough competition in Leinster and think that Cork will give them a bit of a hop if Kilkenny can be contained. Some serious players on all four teams and things are looking good for the future in these 4 counties.

Leitrim4conn (UK) - Posts: 24 - 19/04/2012 20:41:05    1156237

Wow no one is giving Dublin a chance. Can I just say it's not our fault that no team (except Wexford) have given us a game. We can only beat what's put in front of us. Kilkenny is our main man but we do have very good players besides him. Keep an eye out for Gary Sweeney very talented forward with pace to burn.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 19/04/2012 20:55:35    1156252

Mike_Clitoris69
spot on, finally a Cavan man with some intelligence, I'm glad you agree with the facts, although 12 might be stretching it, I would be happy with a 5 point win, for I feel that we would have to win by 5 going into a game against Dublin, a 5 point victory would allow the players to feel confident without feeling cocky.

shineon (Roscommon) - Posts: 12 - 19/04/2012 21:01:45    1156257

Dubs to win,Dont rule out ET in Longford.

fredrickwood (Roscommon) - Posts: 2871 - 19/04/2012 21:15:39    1156268

ROSCOMMON v Dublin in the final, and roscommon to win a tight game by 2

shineon (Roscommon) - Posts: 12 - 19/04/2012 21:32:05    1156285

Cork will give Dublin only their second real test this year. The Cork full back line facing young Kilkenny and co will be on a different level to the Westmeath or Louth one.

As for us, I'll admit I did not expect us to win Ulster, but there you go. Did any Rossie fans seriously expect your lads to beat Mayo? That was a handy enough Mayo side, beating Galway was no mean feat. It's a surprise to see both teams at this stage of the competition, but its great to see it nonetheless.

I'm tipping us for a 5 point win. We have one or two injury worries, but hopefully they'll clear up in time.

Sergeant_Slash (Cavan) - Posts: 2182 - 19/04/2012 21:41:10    1156301

Shineon you are a man of great wisdom. You definitely know your football. So I dont think I'l bother travelling on Sat if you think the Rossies are such hot favourites. This has to be probably the greatest Roscommon team that ever came out of Connacht. They will go down in history ahead of the great Kerry, Galway and Down teams.The players must be reading this and saying to themselves this is the handiest passage ever into an All Irl final. I hope you told the Rossie lads that. They will be delighted to hear what you think of Cavan. Sure dident Terry round them up a few weeks ago, no training just a challenge or two.
Yes you are right Ulster is dreadfully weak. Underage is a shambles right across the province, no colleges, no minor teams. We wake up in the middle of the night dreading the sight of a Connacht underage teaml!!!

BreffniDub (None) - Posts: 377 - 19/04/2012 21:49:04    1156305

Clondaklindub,

Nobody giving ye a chance? Are you serious? Dublin are rageing hot favourites for this match & the AI.

It looks like Dublin could win this handy enough. Cork have big injury doubts over 5 of the starting 15, which include Clancy, Cahalane & Donal Og Hognett who are serious talents and easily are the 3 best players on the team.

If the 3 of them are out, I expect Dublin to ease into the final. If the 3 of them are fit, then I think it could be a right close match. Just because Cleary named an unchanged team doesnt mean these lads will be fit for tomorrow & there could be several late changes by 2 tomorrow.

Rebel.Og (Cork) - Posts: 519 - 20/04/2012 08:32:21    1156323

Check out the below link to see brief highlights from the provincial finals and the 'Friday Feature' Q&A with current Cork senior star and former Cadbury Hero of the Future Colm O'Neill.

http://www.facebook.com/U21GAAFootball?ref=tn_tnmn

CadburyGAA (Dublin) - Posts: 80 - 20/04/2012 10:51:10    1156431

"As for us, I'll admit I did not expect us to win Ulster, but there you go. Did any Rossie fans seriously expect your lads to beat Mayo? That was a handy enough Mayo side, beating Galway was no mean feat. It's a surprise to see both teams at this stage of the competition, but its great to see it nonetheless."

Why wouldn't we expecting to beat Mayo? afterall this is the 3rd year in a row to beat them. That Galway side they beat was nowhere near the level of last year & Mayo were very lucky to beat them. You shouldn't sell yourself short! Roscommon,Cavan are where they are because of the fine work done at underaged level these last few years & whoever wins this semi final shouldn't fear anyone in the final.

ispeakwisdom (Roscommon) - Posts: 2487 - 20/04/2012 12:12:40    1156498

shineon signed up last night to WUM the cavan,roscommon fans can't believe how many fell for it.

The_analyser (Roscommon) - Posts: 3755 - 20/04/2012 12:25:48    1156515

If cavan got the same referee as they got in the ulster final, against roscommon, they will hammer them!!can't believe he wasn't wearing a cavan jersey against tyrone, would have made more sense! Anyway goodluck cavan

tyronefan22 (Tyrone) - Posts: 183 - 20/04/2012 12:27:11    1156516

The cork full-back line is ropey when under pressure and Cahalane tends to foul alot. I haven't seen much of Dublin so looking forward to watching this game tomorrow.

Cute_Kerry_Hoor (Kerry) - Posts: 2518 - 20/04/2012 12:35:17    1156528

tyronefan22

1156516 If cavan got the same referee as they got in the ulster final, against roscommon, they will hammer them!!can't believe he wasn't wearing a cavan jersey against tyrone, would have made more sense! Anyway goodluck cavan

Ye were beaten by the better team. Dry your eyes and raise your game.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 20/04/2012 12:41:34    1156533

agree with shineon.. roscommon will teach us a footballing lesson. we had a very handy drw in ulster this year with; armagh,derry and Tyrone. I would also tip Dublin for the other semi, they are a class apart, no one can touch them this year. "Bonnet De Douche"

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 20/04/2012 13:14:46    1156571