Best hurling supporters

toe2hand, you should have a look at your own forum before slating other supporters. All ye seem to do in Galway is put down ye're own players and management.

Faithfull (Offaly) - Posts: 573 - 18/07/2013 09:23:36    1435032

How can you say that about Limerick? of course there isnt a huge crowd for league match look were in division 1b, how many turned up to Dublin/wexford offaly home league matchs in 1b?

A sniff of sucess? sure we had 30 thousand (well over half limerick i was at it ) at the first round even tho we havent won in the first round in 6 years, and an extra maybe 8/9k supporters turn out for the Munster final and were suddenly all rugby band wagen jujmper?? come down to a limerick match and see for yourself before you talk about something you dont have a clue about lads

cop on now and get off yer high horses with out sucess for the last how many years we always bring a massive group of supporters

GreenandWhite13 (Limerick) - Posts: 37 - 18/07/2013 09:55:33    1435055

Wexford!.....End of Discussion!

Snufalufagus (Dublin) - Posts: 8100 - 18/07/2013 10:18:11    1435074

Still love the waterford supporters, they bring so much excitement to the games.

But I think every county has a hard core who will follow through thick and thin, and then a massive bandwagon when the team is going well.

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 18/07/2013 10:20:14    1435075

Hoover78
County: Limerick

Hillman1.

VS Wexford Thurles was practically packed and i rate the Wexford following but there was maybe 5/6k form Wexford and 25-30k from limerick.

Your memory for that days is very different from mine Hillman1, I remember that support being 50/50!

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 18/07/2013 10:34:02    1435082

I have been to Limerick matches I'm in Limerick alot so your wrong there.I have been involved with senior clubs there.
Your honestly telling me that you believe if Munster rugby were playing last weekend that the same numbers would have turned out to watch Limerick?

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 18/07/2013 10:37:19    1435085

kiloughter
County: Galway

Don't know about the support but it was Ollie Baker who scored the goal. Seánie McMahon broke his collar bone in that game alright and couldn't be subbed off as Clare had their 3 subs made. He stood in corner forward and forced the sideline cut that led to Baker's goal.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13704 - 18/07/2013 10:47:28    1435093

If Munster rugby were playing last weekend the same number would have turned out from Limerick. Great fans

pj_mcmanus (Limerick) - Posts: 431 - 18/07/2013 10:53:08    1435097

Pinkie that wasn't me who said that it was hoover

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 18/07/2013 10:54:09    1435098

Best hurling supporters are those who support their team through thick and thin, no matter what county that is. I remember being in Limerick when Dublin beat Limerick in league in 2007 (?) and even though disappointed the Limerick people near me were genuinely interested in Dublin and were asking us questions about different players - obviously they being unfamiliar with them. Was actually thinking about them at end of the match last Sunday. Hope they enjoyed it!

hurlingdub (Dublin) - Posts: 6978 - 18/07/2013 10:57:35    1435101

lads I think its fair to say no county has hurling supporters that fill their home venue unless its a final or a fierce rival were both teams are doing well. Pointing at other counties and calling them band wagon supporters as if that doesn't go on in every county, is just being daft.

Topa_the_left (Antrim) - Posts: 250 - 18/07/2013 11:19:53    1435115

hill16no1man

1435085 I have been to Limerick matches I'm in Limerick alot so your wrong there.I have been involved with senior clubs there.
Your honestly telling me that you believe if Munster rugby were playing last weekend that the same numbers would have turned out to watch Limerick?

id be 100% sure

GreenandWhite13 (Limerick) - Posts: 37 - 18/07/2013 11:29:05    1435125

hill16no1man my most sincere apologies, you seem to have got up in my copy and paste effort!

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 18/07/2013 11:29:12    1435126

Subject matter that could only cause argument , question should have read not counting your own fan,s which county do you rate as best supporters , Id have posted waterford wexford not far behind .

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 18/07/2013 11:32:59    1435130

Outside of my own county, it's got to be Waterford. They've suffered huge disappointment, the economy is in the absolute toilet down there with probably the biggest unemployment rates in the country, and it's a pretty small county with only about 50 clubs. People mention the likes of Cork, while they bring great colour - so they should, they're a gigantic county.

Worst fans for me have to be KK. I know this will provoke a bit of a backlash, but I've encountered an awful lot of dog ignorant KK fans. They get really ratty when the team is under pressure and might look like losing (which isn't too often) and then pretty jeery when they win (which is pretty often). Despite being close enough to Dublin, you don't normally see them bring big crowds to Croker either, which bemuses me as they are so clearly obsessed with hurling down there.

ringo (Wexford) - Posts: 384 - 18/07/2013 11:59:22    1435146

hill16no1man. You must not confuse those that go in their thousands to watch Munster playing Heineken cup matches with Rugby supporters. The vast majority of those would not know how many rugby clubs there are in Limerick or know where their pitch is.
Now take the thousands of Limerick people at the Munster final last Sunday, the majority of them are involved or have been involved with clubs or their children are or have been involved with clubs. Thats the differance. The Green flags over the past few years have been on that bridge whenever they should have, I was very critical myself of the earlier years when it was Munster rugby flags for months. It was great to see the Na Piarsaigh club flags there when they played in Munster also as county champions.

Clubgaa (Limerick) - Posts: 879 - 18/07/2013 11:59:49    1435148

Also to add to my first post, The record for an NHL Game was in 1997 Division 1 in the Gaelic Grounds for Limerick vs Tipp over 17000 turned up for it. This record will never bee beaten. Also their championship game that Summer in Thurlas nearly 50000 attended, I don't think Semple Stadium has been that full since. So Limerick do probably bring the best support to games.

preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 18/07/2013 16:04:12    1435373

With regard to bandwagon jumpers I'm happy to be one.

As you get older and have kids in your life and being involved with sports teams yourself, it's very difficult to get to games. I've gone to see Limerick all over the country in hurling especially between the years of 19894-2000 in the NHL. But other things take over.

Limerick does have people who like all sports and if they want to come and support us that is great.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 18/07/2013 16:06:58    1435378

With the likes of Limerick, Cork, Galway & Wexford there is a massive support often lying dormant. All these people want is a team they can believe in & be proud of. It's not like "choosing" to support Man Utd. They're always winning & you can't just pick your county!

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 18/07/2013 16:34:19    1435393

As for Bad or Disapointing Support for Teams, Kilkenny , Laois and Galway come to mind.
Kilkenny probably is for the fact its a small enough county in population terms and they win so much anyway.
Laois for a traditional Hurling county has been pretty poor nearly all of the time. Does club come before County I wonder there.
Galway, Galway is one Team that definitely should get more support, its a major mystery why they don't. All their Games even last year on the way to the final, there was small enough crowds at them, only 30000 at semi final. I agree with Faithful in a way in his previous post as regards the supporters views on their county Team. It looks like Galway may win a few All Irelands before the crowds start going back.

preddan (Kildare) - Posts: 733 - 18/07/2013 16:37:12    1435395