Seanie Johnston sitting on the Kildare bench

Its the same as it was. Mcgeeney knows he will not win anything with the current set of forwards( even tho the guy who came on was fantastic) so instead of concentrating on the talent he has at his disposal he transfers in others from other counties. Its a sad reflection of the management and there inability to work with emerging talent. Rather bring in talent than create it. Shameful stuff

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/05/2012 14:32:58    1164665

Vinny Murphy played hurling for Kerry. But he was living there for a good while before being picked.

Real Kerry Fan (None) - Posts: 2957 - 02/05/2012 14:33:20    1164666

Jackeen

1164658 Yes but doesn't Ryan o'dwyer live and work in Dublin. I may be wrong though?

Liam is stating that it doesn't happen in Dublin or Kerry regardless. Turns out Dublin and Kerry are the same as any other county, who knew?!?!

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 02/05/2012 14:35:35    1164669

How am I trying to wind up? I said more on my post but the admin left it out , it was about mcgeeney , I'm not having a go at Kildare more Johnston and mcgeeney.

clondalkindub (Dublin) - Posts: 9926 - 02/05/2012 14:35:48    1164670

Sure the Dublin hurlers have 3 or 4 lads from other counties. Think the Darcy one is a bit unfair seeing as he grew up in Dublin and did a big commute from Dublin to Leitrim for the years he played with them.

ringo (Wexford) - Posts: 384 - 02/05/2012 14:37:09    1164674

My only wish was that we would have the best six forwards in AI. Then and only then could we challenge for the big one....The Division Three title.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 02/05/2012 14:41:08    1164680

this sentance of seanie will set up a 'new precedent' he is not the only nor he wont be the last to transfer to another county, larry tompkins from kildare didnt set up new precedent when he moved to cork and we all know it was because he fell out with kildare management.
its funny how the gaa feel it might set up new precedent for other transfers just because sj transfer gets alot of media attention. why didnt they feel other transfers of years that have gone by could set up precedent non got a reaction they just turned a blind eye and rubberstamped most. and then when a transfer like this comes up they only realise then the transfer rules are probably outdated and bring in a motion and congress that was never really thought about and there left with seanie's case to deal with and a lot of unhappy london footballers aswell.

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 02/05/2012 14:44:46    1164685

lilywhitemagic

Play the ball not the man. there was absolutley nothing wrong with the post in which I adressed you on this thread, but it seems that like a cuple of your county men, you assume that because its a post from someone from Meath that it cant be genuine.

Jinxie (Meath) - Posts: 6342 - 02/05/2012 14:46:14    1164686

so i assume you felt the same when banty brought back geraghty royal 'shameful stuff' he took the place instead of bringing in young emerging talent?me geeney putting in young eoin doyle at the galway game and
bringing in fogarty to a high intense match like that in croker instead of puttin in earley shows he believes in the talent.

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 02/05/2012 14:50:01    1164688

oh the post jinxie that you believe johnston will look very very silly.

lilywhitemagic (Kildare) - Posts: 1693 - 02/05/2012 14:52:59    1164693

2 things

First of all Vinny was living and working in Kerry and I was referring to their football team not hurling. Hurling to be honest doesnt concern me.

Incidentally, Ryan O'Dwyer is living and working in Dublin
You cant compare atall
I used Dublin and Kerry as Jackeen mentioned them in her post. Have a look and see.

Regarding Declan Darcy, Declan Darcy was born and raised in Dublin! Do people still think he was a Leitrim man???
He is a dub, born and raised. His Da is a Leitrim man.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 02/05/2012 14:54:43    1164694

Can't recall if it was 87 or 88 I remember a guy in croke park waving a white flag with traitor emblazoned on it every time tompkins or fahy got the ball.
Times have changed but it was wrong then and its wrong now. No outside players. This is mcggeneys fault. He sought players not only sj but others. Disgraceful. No matter what county does it.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/05/2012 14:55:28    1164695

BTW anyone saying I have it in for Kildare or am anti Kildare is wayyy off!
I have a soft spot for Kildare. Had some great battles with them down the years. Have huge time for Kildare.

Think the SJ thing is absolutely disgraceful though.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 02/05/2012 14:56:21    1164696

Actually Seanie looked quite worried. Photo must have been taken after Padraig Fogarty scored his three brilliant points. Probably thinking how he was going to get a place on such a class team !!

St.Conleth (Kildare) - Posts: 1700 - 02/05/2012 14:56:38    1164697

royaldunne

1164695 Can't recall if it was 87 or 88 I remember a guy in croke park waving a white flag with traitor emblazoned on it every time tompkins or fahy got the ball.
Times have changed but it was wrong then and its wrong now. No outside players. This is mcggeneys fault. He sought players not only sj but others. Disgraceful. No matter what county does it.

The heralded and legendary "Micko" was the worst of all at this carry on.

Liamwalkinstown (Dublin) - Posts: 8166 - 02/05/2012 14:57:41    1164699

He wouldn't have been good enough to make the Kerry footballers at that stage Liam, thats why he never got a game, not for the ideological reasons you are suggesting. It would and does happen in Dublin and Kerry.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12116 - 02/05/2012 15:00:27    1164701

Lillywhite. How is that same? Geraghty one of the greatest players of all time is a meath man through and through. Didn't take anyones place as he never started. Surely earley would be of same good older players past there best but worth 10 minutes. Not TRANSFERRING in a player from another county shameful stuff.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 02/05/2012 15:00:30    1164702

Is the whole point of this argument not that SJ does not live of work in Kildare but just chose to go and join their squad or did McGeaney go looking for him? That's what I mean when I say nobody wants this type of stuff spilling over Lily. Would you be happy if someone from Kildare wanted a transfer to Dublin. I know I wouldn't be happy if it was the other way around and it's not just posters from dub and Meath that have condemned this. It's across the country. I also believe many Kildare folk are of the same opinion.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 02/05/2012 15:02:06    1164704

Liamwalkinstown you do realise what you're after doing yea? You are his best friend now and he has nothing against the Dubs and always liked them and he'll wish you well in the Leinster Championship.

sedico (Kildare) - Posts: 1682 - 02/05/2012 15:02:15    1164705

royaldunne

Can't recall if it was 87 or 88 I remember a guy in croke park waving a white flag with traitor emblazoned on it every time tompkins or fahy got the ball.

So who else did he seek? Aside from the rumours about Niall McNamee and Brendan Murphy which had no substance, and Shane Supple; who McGeeney denied approaching, name one other player he has gone after? Also bear in mind Seanie Johnston has come out and said he approached Kildare and not the other way around, like many want to believe.

He has provided evidence to show he is living in Kildare, and more evidence than is needed, or asked for when your average Joe Soap player is transferring between clubs in different counties. Why should it be one rule for him and another for everybody else. He's been put through a lot with this and seems determined to get the transfer through, nobody in power has the balls to make a decision over it though.

I don't think he'll walk into the team, I'm sure he knows that himself more than anybody.

Something like this will be far from the end of the GAA. I'd nearly love to see him get this transfer, purely to give the proverbial two fingers to the people who are messing him around in all of this.

if_in_doubt (Kildare) - Posts: 3685 - 02/05/2012 15:06:11    1164711