Just wondering what your thoughts are on this. If we lose to Kildare on the 12th having had what will hopefully be a great challenge match, and having to go into the qualifiers with some stronger teams, do you think this would be enough to bring dublin that step further this year? Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 02/07/2009 13:38:21 329837 Link 0 |
Lots of people say Dublin need to get to the Qualifiers, Myself i think its harder to win the All Ireland through the back. Unfortunately Dublin have just come up against better teams in the Quater and Semi Finals paddyogall (Mayo) - Posts: 5110 - 02/07/2009 15:02:29 329931 Link 0 |
Dubs need a real challenge in Leinster in order to determine weaknesses and have them addressed before Knockout starts. Leinsters been far too easy or too long and hasn't done them any favours. Kildare should be good enough to put it up to them, and win loose or draw the Dubs will get stronger as a result. This could potentially be the big challenge they need to go on and claim Sam. If its not us I hope its them. derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 02/07/2009 15:10:46 329948 Link 0 |
Jackeen tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 02/07/2009 15:11:20 329949 Link 0 |
derfil1 tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 02/07/2009 15:24:43 329965 Link 0 |
Derfil you speak a whole lot of sense. And I think that Leinster as a whole will benefit from our match on the 12th. Sick of hearing the standard of football in Leinster is muck! Toma007, NO team plan to lose so you didn't really contribute anything to my post but thanks anyway. Paddy, the jurys out with me on that one cos Tyrone went through the qualifiers to claim Sam as did Kerry so it's dooable. The best year in recent times we had to win sam was when we through away our lead to Mayo in 06. Sickened wasn't even the word I'd use to describe the feeling on the hill. I NEVER want to feel like that again. It's all very well losing when you're not good enough to win like last year when Tyrone thrashed us but throwing away such a lead cos you didn't have the fight....AWFUL! Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 02/07/2009 15:25:51 329971 Link 0 |
Dublin know what they have to do.They have no plans of losing any match squidword (Louth) - Posts: 2897 - 02/07/2009 15:29:29 329980 Link 0 |
Toma007 - whats it 2 defeats in 100 years ...... JJ1 (Kildare) - Posts: 547 - 02/07/2009 15:37:39 329999 Link 0 |
You beat us in 98 for the first time i think in 72 years nearly 100 tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 02/07/2009 15:42:03 330007 Link 0 |
Thats funny tomoo, cos I remember beating you in Newbridge in 95, then again you are probably only a fairweather supporter who never heard of league matches Willie Nelson (None) - Posts: 972 - 02/07/2009 16:01:08 330036 Link 0 |
Not going to go through the stats tomaoo7 but I think your wrong. derfil1 (Kildare) - Posts: 1612 - 02/07/2009 16:02:22 330041 Link 0 |
Good man jackeen!no doubt you'll find it a positive if they lose!you should be the spin doctor at the weekly press conferences! jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 02/07/2009 16:07:41 330048 Link 0 |
tomaoo7 JJ1 (Kildare) - Posts: 547 - 02/07/2009 16:24:46 330069 Link 0 |
derfil1 tomaoo7 (Dublin) - Posts: 5896 - 02/07/2009 16:30:22 330076 Link 0 |
Sarcasm Johnny1951? And it's good woman by the way! :-) Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 02/07/2009 16:45:30 330095 Link 0 |
I feel that the only way we've going to win Sam at the moment is by the back door. Leinster Champs wait 4 weeks to next game and with the media as they are the Dubs would be once again blown up to be favourites (as in 3 recent years). We NEED to get some more tough games in, and beating kildare (if we do) is just not good enough preparation for AI Qfinals.... Laughing.Gravy (Dublin) - Posts: 404 - 02/07/2009 17:02:35 330123 Link 0 |
That's what I think too laughinggravy. I'll have me lovely long nails bitten to the quick if we have to go through the back door tho! Who could we be likely to meet if that happens? Almost anybody right? Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 02/07/2009 17:09:57 330137 Link 0 |
Yes i definitley think it would benefit us greatly! Sure look at tyrone and kerry over the last few years. Both coming through the backdoor on a few occasions and winning sam or at least reaching the final on other occasions! ConnollyDub (Dublin) - Posts: 2007 - 02/07/2009 17:14:32 330143 Link 0 |
Lads ye are having a laugh!its funny to think that if ye do lose we will have to read the posts about what a good thing it is.Its always easier to go through the front door!and in fairness,are you seriously comparing the squad ye have to the ones tyrone and kerry had when they went through the back door?i always give an honest account of where my county is at,please could you try and do the same. jonny1951 (Mayo) - Posts: 1431 - 02/07/2009 18:37:28 330264 Link 0 |
No, there are 3 or 4 teams in the qualifiers who beat Dublin, how would that improve ye? Redfoot (Cork) - Posts: 388 - 02/07/2009 19:41:12 330314 Link 0 |