Wexford Hurling thread 2024

Not sure about McDonald starting… think a fast inside forward is the way to go to drag Burke out from the square

OpenStandWall (Wexford) - Posts: 72 - 04/05/2024 12:31:05    2542795

The quality of hurling in the minor game so far is excellent. We're still producing players.

Using the ball with intelligence and working hard. Hopefully more of the same later on

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2751 - 04/05/2024 13:47:30    2542809

I'm guessing there's no black card at Minor level? Because the second last free-in we got there was about as cut and dry a black card as you could get

I'm also guessing that real Galway Minors didn't show up against Kilkenny, Brian Callanan has been doing some damage inside although they seem a little bit dependent on him

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 285 - 04/05/2024 14:08:56    2542812

Replying To ExiledInWex:  "And how ironic your last post it:
Purpleandgold72: "Are we not the new Offaly already..?""
I apologise. You are obviously more than welcome to post here. And I was probably a bit premature to label us as the 'new Offaly'. However, looking at the results over the last 3 seasons, we are heading that way. Cusack Park in '22, Westmeath and Antrim in Wexford park last year, Offaly in the league in February and last week in Belfast. If we lose today, the pressure is really on. You'd hope we have enough to get a result against Carlow but the reality is that is another game that will have been targeted by the opposition and could be a real battle for us. If we do go down, how will we react? It could be a massive blow to the game in Wexford.

Purpleandgold72 (Wexford) - Posts: 203 - 04/05/2024 14:31:26    2542816

That escalated quickly.

Those two missed goal chances haunting us

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2751 - 04/05/2024 14:35:38    2542818

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "I'm guessing there's no black card at Minor level? Because the second last free-in we got there was about as cut and dry a black card as you could get

I'm also guessing that real Galway Minors didn't show up against Kilkenny, Brian Callanan has been doing some damage inside although they seem a little bit dependent on him"
We are very dependent on Callanan until Harry Holmes is available in the forward line. Holmes is the best we have on this panel but hasn't been involved yet due to broken wrist. Will be back for next game.

galway19 (Galway) - Posts: 696 - 04/05/2024 14:46:26    2542819

Think a 10 point win there really flatters Galway, I know they hit a good few wides late on and we went out of it in the second half but we butchered four goals chances and they didn't butcher one

Plus can't for the life of we work out why their first goal was allowed to stand, once the referee blows the whistle, that's it, can't decide to play advantage after the fact

Also can't understand why Galway's #7 wasn't sent off if Oisín Moore was sent off

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 285 - 04/05/2024 14:52:09    2542821

Replying To ElGranSenor:  "I'm guessing there's no black card at Minor level? Because the second last free-in we got there was about as cut and dry a black card as you could get

I'm also guessing that real Galway Minors didn't show up against Kilkenny, Brian Callanan has been doing some damage inside although they seem a little bit dependent on him"
Was thinking the same. The exact tackle the black card was brought it for.

Scoreline absolutely flattering Galway. The first goal that opened the floodgates shouldn't have stood. Ref played advantage, blew the whistle, Galway lad put it in the net, and the ref let it stand. Shocking decision, even the Galway lads around couldn't believe he gave it. Butchered a few great goal chances and their keeper pulled off a wonder save, as well as a few great ones too.

I know they lost well in the end but I wouldn't be too discouraged by that performance at all. Now for the seniors.

Fulgrim (Wexford) - Posts: 236 - 04/05/2024 14:53:02    2542822

Wasn't that much between those two teams, we missed 3 or 4 goall changes and gifted them two. Bit galway deserved their win

hunting (Wexford) - Posts: 962 - 04/05/2024 14:55:01    2542823

Not sure if it's my eyesight but Jesus when us and Galway wear our home jerseys it's hard to tell the two apart from the back

OpenStandWall (Wexford) - Posts: 72 - 04/05/2024 15:07:48    2542827

Replying To Fulgrim:  "Was thinking the same. The exact tackle the black card was brought it for.

Scoreline absolutely flattering Galway. The first goal that opened the floodgates shouldn't have stood. Ref played advantage, blew the whistle, Galway lad put it in the net, and the ref let it stand. Shocking decision, even the Galway lads around couldn't believe he gave it. Butchered a few great goal chances and their keeper pulled off a wonder save, as well as a few great ones too.

I know they lost well in the end but I wouldn't be too discouraged by that performance at all. Now for the seniors."
Yeah, there's definitely a team with talent there, hard to work out how Galway lost to Kilkenny by so much but I'm guessing that KK might have got a run on them like Galway got a run on us today

ElGranSenor (Wexford) - Posts: 285 - 04/05/2024 15:12:55    2542829

8 point loss I predict unfortunately

Lockerroomboy (Wexford) - Posts: 445 - 04/05/2024 15:40:19    2542833

What an awful kit Wexford are wearing, and why? With Galway wearing white shirts and maroon shorts, why aren't Wexford wearing their 'home' jerseys and white shorts?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2484 - 04/05/2024 16:12:22    2542839

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "What an awful kit Wexford are wearing, and why? With Galway wearing white shirts and maroon shorts, why aren't Wexford wearing their 'home' jerseys and white shorts?"
Baffling isn't it.

Bon (Kildare) - Posts: 1929 - 04/05/2024 16:43:15    2542841

I've said it before and I'll say it again. There's no way we have 6 forwards better than Mac.

He's making one of the best full backs ever look like a juvenile

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2751 - 04/05/2024 16:45:42    2542843

Shoulder to shoulder. Absolute joke. This isn't under 7s

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2751 - 04/05/2024 17:11:46    2542848

Concannon can hit a fella on the top of the head and it's grand though

Doylerwex (Wexford) - Posts: 2751 - 04/05/2024 17:13:33    2542849

Fair play Wexford but surely this result must make it more frustrating to be a yellow belly. There seems to be only 2 types of performances, brilliant and crap and nothing in the middle

LohansRedHelmet (Clare) - Posts: 2506 - 04/05/2024 17:33:18    2542855

Well done Wexford. No complaints.

Trump2020 (Galway) - Posts: 2144 - 04/05/2024 17:34:58    2542858

So so proud. Answered the critics and then some. Jippo's return really shored up the defence, did Galway create any goal chances? We probably don't realise that Rory O is one of our best ever players. His work-rate is off the charts.

What a difference a week makes

beano (Wexford) - Posts: 1425 - 04/05/2024 17:38:22    2542859