O Cinneide comments on 2005 AI Final

What is all with the tit for tat , your county is dirtier than ours boll*x.
Unfortunately football is not like it was in the early Noughties played tough but total attacking football.
Now every team that actually believes they will win Sam has a mean streak about them, especially Kerry, Dub, Tyrone, Mayo.

Kerry have shown that they will play sexy football one day but when means must they will dance with the devil too depending on the opposition.

woops (Kerry) - Posts: 2073 - 23/03/2017 11:40:22    1970336

Replying To woops:  "What is all with the tit for tat , your county is dirtier than ours boll*x.
Unfortunately football is not like it was in the early Noughties played tough but total attacking football.
Now every team that actually believes they will win Sam has a mean streak about them, especially Kerry, Dub, Tyrone, Mayo.

Kerry have shown that they will play sexy football one day but when means must they will dance with the devil too depending on the opposition."
That's a fair comment, why the Dubs suddenly think they're whiter than white and we are some big bad bullies is beyond me.

All part of the myth creation machine going into overdrive to anoint them the greatest thing since a sliced bread chip sandwich I suppose.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 23/03/2017 12:11:50    1970352

Replying To GetOverTheBar:  "Think this thread will turn into a bit of a fiasco to be honest, lets hope not.

For what its worth I think O Cinneide's comments are probably right, Kerry should have certainly done something to 'even the score' that day, or maybe even have started it off the bat to show they weren't going to be 'bullied' for want of a better word, a la Kennelly hit in the AI Final. Tyrone leaned on the players they knew the could and were allowed to.

However I think that particular Tyrone team at that time would have loved that - they were too battled hardened, not sure that it would have affected too many of the Tyrone players on the pitch that day."
Agree Tyrone learned the hard way how to win - '86 final and '95 final Tyrone lost to Kerry who took out tyrones best players very early and Dubs who played with full compliment even after Charlie got sent off and got a legit equaliser disallowed. If Dara C thinks that particular Kerry team would have imtimated Tyrone then they would have been in for a shock - that team were going to win that day no matter what Kerry threw at them. I really like DC as a presenter on TG4 and he was a good footballer but he certainly didn't like the tough stuff!

IrishGael3 (USA) - Posts: 1092 - 23/03/2017 12:15:30    1970356

Replying To woops:  "What is all with the tit for tat , your county is dirtier than ours boll*x.

Kerry have shown that they will play sexy football one day but when means must they will dance with the devil too depending on the opposition."
A bit like ourselves really

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 23/03/2017 12:21:17    1970360

In the 2005 final, each starting full forward line contributed 10 pts. (from play or frees earned).

The Tyrone starting half forward line contributed 8 pts. and conceded 3pts to their markers (T O'Se goal)

The Kerry starting half forward line did not score, had one scoring attempt from 50 m, gave the scoring pass for 1 or 2 points and conceded 1 pt. to their markers (P. Jordan). In two viewings of the video, I did not see any of the Kerry starting half forwards touch the ball inside the Tyrone 45. Maybe I missed something.

tommy58 (Dublin) - Posts: 169 - 23/03/2017 12:54:20    1970375

Replying To El_Torro:  "If Kerry were too soft back then their cynical side has come to the fore now, their tactics when they meet a superior footballing side like Dublin is to try and rough them up to put them off their game, they done the same thing to Michael Murphy and Donegal last year,
Tyrone were well fit to handle themselves back then, not sure about our current squad apart from a few of the old timers,
Kerry at the minute are cynical and referees must be awake to this, what they done to Mayo in the replay in Limerick was pure thuggery."
Kerry were always cynical. Watch the 2000 final between Kerry and Galway. Michael Donnellan taken out by 5 different players. John O'Mahony quotes in his book Donnellan never recovered fully from the injuries sustained that day.

Gael85 (Dublin) - Posts: 1433 - 23/03/2017 13:12:34    1970381

Replying To Gael85:  "Kerry were always cynical. Watch the 2000 final between Kerry and Galway. Michael Donnellan taken out by 5 different players. John O'Mahony quotes in his book Donnellan never recovered fully from the injuries sustained that day."
Says the county that gave us Heffo's 'Dirty Dubs', the '12 Apostles', Charlie Redmond and Philly McMahon!!!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 23/03/2017 14:26:19    1970409

Replying To TheHermit:  "Says the county that gave us Heffo's 'Dirty Dubs', the '12 Apostles', Charlie Redmond and Philly McMahon!!!!"
Charlie Redmond?? Would ya feck off. The 'dirty dozen' were intimidated and Philly is a stereotypical corner back! Remember Ryan from Tyrone? Yes, that type, good tight marker!

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 23/03/2017 14:51:23    1970424

Replying To realdub:  "Charlie Redmond?? Would ya feck off. The 'dirty dozen' were intimidated and Philly is a stereotypical corner back! Remember Ryan from Tyrone? Yes, that type, good tight marker!"
Not to mention the fact that if ye hadn't blaggarded poor Peter Canavan in '95, Tyrone would have won that All-Ireland, probably been happy with their lot and gone away, and Kerry would have gone on to win 5 in a row in the 2000s ;D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 23/03/2017 15:14:40    1970439

Replying To TheHermit:  "Not to mention the fact that if ye hadn't blaggarded poor Peter Canavan in '95, Tyrone would have won that All-Ireland, probably been happy with their lot and gone away, and Kerry would have gone on to win 5 in a row in the 2000s ;D"
Nah Peter was well able to look after himself, Tyrone were lucky we played poorly that day or it could have been a hiding, that was a decent Dublin side :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 23/03/2017 16:00:44    1970461

Replying To TheHermit:  "Funny, I saw Cluxton grabbing Geaney, McMahon swinging an elbow to floor a Kerry man, Kilkenny getting sent off and O'Gara twice involved in nasty incidents, but no your right it was Kerry starting everything."
that is why kerry dublin matches are great

tonydoranfan (Wexford) - Posts: 550 - 23/03/2017 16:20:18    1970469

Replying To TheHermit:  "Funny, I saw Cluxton grabbing Geaney, McMahon swinging an elbow to floor a Kerry man, Kilkenny getting sent off and O'Gara twice involved in nasty incidents, but no your right it was Kerry starting everything."
So you agree that Kerry were the instigators!!! Kerry had 8 players booked to Dublin's 4 that's very revealing. That's smacks of tactical/cynical fouling something Kerry have worked on clever enough to ensure a different player was doing the fouling so no one gets sent off. Also at least 2 of Dublin's bookings were double yellows cluxton reacted after Geaney kicked the ball away to stop a quick kick out and Morley for pulling pulling KilKenny to the ground.

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 23/03/2017 16:53:43    1970484

Replying To realdub:  "Nah Peter was well able to look after himself, Tyrone were lucky we played poorly that day or it could have been a hiding, that was a decent Dublin side :D"
In fairness to Dublin at least they understand the concept of a red card these days ;D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 23/03/2017 18:53:34    1970513

Replying To TheHermit:  "In fairness to Dublin at least they understand the concept of a red card these days ;D"
That was down to the refs people and communication skills which were obviously of poor standard, this is why they brought in the actual 'cards' :D

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 23/03/2017 19:19:35    1970518

Replying To tonydoranfan:  "that is why kerry dublin matches are great"
They were when we were winning them :(

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 23/03/2017 21:56:52    1970556

It is an interesting comment as to when a team should start something on the field of play. At the start of the 1996 hurling final I've often wondered if Limerick should have gone all in at the throw in after George O'Connor hit Sean O'Neill. It was as though Wexford were laying down a marker.

It seemed to work for Meath against Mayo in the 96 football final. In the modern games I think there are too many cameras to show what happened and starting a fight may not be good if you want to play in the next round.

But all that said & done, I think Tyrone were just slightly better than Kerry in those years (2003-2008). Out of all the wins from the Ulster sides in my lifetime, Armagh in 2002 was my favourite as you could see it meant so much, pitch invasion etc. But the way Tyrone evolved their game upwards from 2003 to 2008 was good to watch as they relied less on strength and more on skill and some of the scores they got from Mulligan, O'Neill, Canavan & co are rarely seen in today's game.

slayer (Limerick) - Posts: 6480 - 24/03/2017 10:12:19    1970623

Replying To slayer:  "It is an interesting comment as to when a team should start something on the field of play. At the start of the 1996 hurling final I've often wondered if Limerick should have gone all in at the throw in after George O'Connor hit Sean O'Neill. It was as though Wexford were laying down a marker.

It seemed to work for Meath against Mayo in the 96 football final. In the modern games I think there are too many cameras to show what happened and starting a fight may not be good if you want to play in the next round.

But all that said & done, I think Tyrone were just slightly better than Kerry in those years (2003-2008). Out of all the wins from the Ulster sides in my lifetime, Armagh in 2002 was my favourite as you could see it meant so much, pitch invasion etc. But the way Tyrone evolved their game upwards from 2003 to 2008 was good to watch as they relied less on strength and more on skill and some of the scores they got from Mulligan, O'Neill, Canavan & co are rarely seen in today's game."
To be fair, Tyrone were great to watch (in the classic sense) and put up huge scores in the 2003 championship and before, they just ground out the results in the semi and final. This is overlooked so often.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 24/03/2017 10:30:37    1970634

Replying To Breffni39:  "To be fair, Tyrone were great to watch (in the classic sense) and put up huge scores in the 2003 championship and before, they just ground out the results in the semi and final. This is overlooked so often."
They were very good to watch and I don't really get the negative association some people have around that team. Pat Spillane went way too far with his comment on 'puke football'. They certainly had the better of Kerry around that time but I do think Harte was the main factor there. The counter attacking style was tailor made for playing that Kerry team and we never got to grips with it at all. I'll never forget that semi-final in 2003. The Kerry lads were like rabbits in the headlights every time they went forward.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 24/03/2017 10:55:46    1970645

Don't mind Spillane, that Tyrone side were top notch, would love to see a hypothetical game between the present Dublin side and that Tyrone team.

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8592 - 24/03/2017 16:00:55    1970742

Replying To realdub:  "Don't mind Spillane, that Tyrone side were top notch, would love to see a hypothetical game between the present Dublin side and that Tyrone team."
Guarantee one thing if that game took place , wouldn't finish with 30 men on the pitch , neither team ever take a backward step

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 24/03/2017 16:09:21    1970746