Kilkenny football

Replying To Spoddgy:  "The question is either the lack of investment in football or more likely why Kilkenny are dog useless at it. It isn't the hardest of sport in the gaa world surely if a team of fit Kilkenny lads took to the field they could be competitive enough?"
And another thing. Your county has put as much, if not more investment, into football as Kilkenny has into hurling, And what have you got to show? Sixty-six years since your last All-Ireland and you have the gall to call Kilkenny men dog useless.

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2470 - 11/04/2017 22:02:31    1978596

Replying To Spoddgy:  "The question is either the lack of investment in football or more likely why Kilkenny are dog useless at it. It isn't the hardest of sport in the gaa world surely if a team of fit Kilkenny lads took to the field they could be competitive enough?"
No, the real question is what difference does it make to you how people in Kilkenny spend their leisure time. I wouldn't dare presume to tell people in Mayo, for example, how they should spend their leisure time, yet Kilkenny people's leisure time should be strictly regulated.

ballydalane (Kilkenny) - Posts: 1246 - 11/04/2017 22:04:56    1978598

Give the Kilkenny Hurlers a month @ Football training I bet the would put it up to if not beat some county teams

Southsham (Limerick) - Posts: 738 - 12/04/2017 09:43:48    1978694

Replying To Southsham:  "Give the Kilkenny Hurlers a month @ Football training I bet the would put it up to if not beat some county teams"
Yeah they'd probably beat Germany at soccer, the All Blacks at rugby, win the Ryder cup, Davis Cup and Wrestlemania too.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12120 - 12/04/2017 10:11:15    1978709

Have a charity game between the Kilkenny footballers and the Cavan hurlers. First half hurling , second half football. I think the score at half time would be 6:21 to 0:03 for the Kilkenny team and the final score would be 6:28 to 1:11 to Kilkenny.

s goldrick (Cavan) - Posts: 5518 - 12/04/2017 10:12:53    1978712

Replying To ZUL10:  "The only reason KK football gets so much negative attention is because their hurlers win so much. How long will it take to run off the Cavan Hurling C'ship. Maybe its over already? And not just Cavan. There are many other counties whos attitude to hurling is no better than that of KK in football, yet just because KK ware winning cups they are being singled out. OR maybe its because the general view on these forums is that its ok not to like hurling but sacrilege not to participate in football."
This is completely wrong. The only reason Kilkenny football gets so much negative attention is because they are the only county that don't compete in the senior football championship and they similarly they are the only county that don't compete the National Football league.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1353 - 15/04/2017 14:46:15    1979561

Replying To bdbuddah:  "This is completely wrong. The only reason Kilkenny football gets so much negative attention is because they are the only county that don't compete in the senior football championship and they similarly they are the only county that don't compete the National Football league."
Thanks for pointing out the obvious. But why do KK get so much attention for not participating in Football andyou choose to ignore that so many counties are likewise in hurling?

ZUL10 (Clare) - Posts: 693 - 15/04/2017 15:09:12    1979570

I always think comparing Kilkenny footballers to non traditional hurling counties is bogus. Hurling is a very specialised game where skills should be developed and worked on from a young age. On the other hand football is a much simpler game. For example I would say if Kilkenny could get together 20 players who Coady discarded from hurling panel in the previous 5 years with a bit if preparation they could beat a few football teams. Kilkenny to me always seem to almost take pride in looking down on football.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1353 - 15/04/2017 16:57:10    1979603

Replying To ZUL10:  "Thanks for pointing out the obvious. But why do KK get so much attention for not participating in Football andyou choose to ignore that so many counties are likewise in hurling?"
Because they are unique in football, they are the only one of the 32 counties is here this us the case. Truth is hurling is a specialised game and because of this it is much harder to spread into non traditional area's.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1353 - 15/04/2017 17:08:41    1979607

HURLING IS THE NATIONAL SPORT OF IRELAND NOT FOOTBALL,Hurling Should be promoted 1st end of story & if Hurling was British or American it would be a huge sport in terms of promotion & revenue,the same cannot be said for football

southerncat79 (Kilkenny) - Posts: 80 - 15/04/2017 18:04:13    1979633

God above..this thread is hilarious!
the hand wringing and angst about Kilkenny football.....from the usual craic thrown around about hurling snobs cos you don't like football to genuine bitterness at a countys sporting preference!
Wish we'd follow suit down here with the rugby.
imagine Paul O Connell and his like with a hurley! Fair play to the cats, for a small enough population there success is awesome...

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1063 - 15/04/2017 18:34:01    1979652

Kilkenny to me always seem to almost take pride in looking down on football.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts:304 - 15/04/2017 16:57:10 1979603

So Kilkenny not only,always look down on football, but take pride in it?

Care to give us some examples of this?

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2470 - 15/04/2017 22:46:26    1979750

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Kilkenny to me always seem to almost take pride in looking down on football.

Care to give us some examples of this?"
Cork has a land mass and population larger than killkenny wexford and carlow combined..
in west cork you would not find a hurl with east no footballs. How the hell can kilkenny play bout games!!!
Even tipp is divided north and south , but it is allso a big county

tonydoranfan (Wexford) - Posts: 550 - 16/04/2017 08:46:48    1979780

Replying To Finsceal:  "Is hurling snobbery actually a thing ? Like if I say that Hurling is a better game than football am I being a snob ? Just asking.."
It's not being a snob it's just being biased. Even if your not biased and not even from Ireland people will just have different opinions on which is better. I prefer football because it's all football up here same as hurling counties prefer hurling.

I like hurling too but to me when I'm watching it looks like two teams whacking the ball back and forth like tennis. Possession is less important in hurling. It's a lot more about winning 50/50 balls. Where as Gaelic, possession is everything and the build up is slow(and boring to some) and looks like basketball at times. But then from a footballing perspective hurling looks like a hit and hope sport at times. It's rare in football that the ball would just be randomly whacked up the pitch for a 50/50 ball but that's how hurling looks because it simply wouldn't work as a hand passing game and a game of constant possession and build up. Plus the blanket defence system doesn't really work in hurling as it does in Football, so both have different codes.

It's similar to how people in other countries might compare rugby and soccer. The sports are very different but you can't say which is better. It's a personal thing. No sport is really "better" than the other, only better in the eyes of the person judging. Football isn't better than hurling nor is hurling better than Football, just opinions at the end of the day.

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 16/04/2017 12:03:19    1979818

Replying To bdbuddah:  "I always think comparing Kilkenny footballers to non traditional hurling counties is bogus. Hurling is a very specialised game where skills should be developed and worked on from a young age. On the other hand football is a much simpler game. For example I would say if Kilkenny could get together 20 players who Coady discarded from hurling panel in the previous 5 years with a bit if preparation they could beat a few football teams. Kilkenny to me always seem to almost take pride in looking down on football."
BD you defend football counties for not playing hurling and looking down on it as 'non traditional sport' more or less indicating that it's beneath them to play a 'non traditional sport'. Fact is hurling is our 'traditional sport' it was the first GAA sport, just because certian counties are football snobs that at every opportunity tell the world hurling is the poorer relation everyone has to believe it. Having coached both sports the fathers that tell me we shouldn't have hurling in our dual club were the guys who s*;t themselves in a football match when the hurlers were willing to get stuck in.

Brian_Coyote (Antrim) - Posts: 346 - 16/04/2017 12:18:10    1979829

Replying To southerncat79:  "U clearly missed the point ,Hurling Is Irish Football is not ,at the start of the GAA Cavan was initially a Hurling County ,Tradition vanishes all to easy"
If your talking about history the north of the country including everywhere north of Tipp had a decent hurling tradition. ..but the rules of hurling north and south of the country were different before 1887. After this Clare (and southern)version was used as the standard hurling for all over the country. Hurling in Sligo/Cavan/mayo etc was played on the ground like Scotland's shinty and you could NOT pick the ball up... hence why today's "All-Ireland" of hurling is just really just an all- leinster and all Munster competition and football is more popular all over the country because this division didn't occur.

The tradition didn't die. The rules changed and it was essentially a different game in the north of the country. So they just stopped playing when the new rules came in.Hurling was two different sports in Ireland before 1887. Simple as that really. Antrim is an exception but a lot of effort was put into Antrim hurling with the Gaelic revival.

GameOfTyrones (Tyrone) - Posts: 469 - 16/04/2017 12:34:09    1979834

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "And another thing. Your county has put as much, if not more investment, into football as Kilkenny has into hurling, And what have you got to show? Sixty-six years since your last All-Ireland and you have the gall to call Kilkenny men dog useless."
they must be football isn't as skillfull as hurling. There are plenty of counties that invest as much as us in football some with bigger populations and they aren't even making any inroads with the football. You would want to remember we have the same population as Louth and have many people who play sports other than football even if it's number one in our county. We have a few hurlers aswell and some dual players. There are Kilkenny men that are able to play football as good as anyone else why can't they be as good as a Waterford or a Wexford or like my mothers county Carlow!

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 16/04/2017 18:38:23    1979913

Replying To Cockney_Cat:  "Kilkenny to me always seem to almost take pride in looking down on football.

Care to give us some examples of this?"
I have met many Kilkenny people who if you started talking about football would tell you they have no interest in the sport. Where as if you talked to a GAA man from a football county who never would have played hurling they would rarely make a point in the same way of putting down hurling.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1353 - 16/04/2017 20:37:06    1979951

Replying To Brian_Coyote:  "BD you defend football counties for not playing hurling and looking down on it as 'non traditional sport' more or less indicating that it's beneath them to play a 'non traditional sport'. Fact is hurling is our 'traditional sport' it was the first GAA sport, just because certian counties are football snobs that at every opportunity tell the world hurling is the poorer relation everyone has to believe it. Having coached both sports the fathers that tell me we shouldn't have hurling in our dual club were the guys who s*;t themselves in a football match when the hurlers were willing to get stuck in."
I'm from a dual club. I certainly do not look down on hurling. I go to quiet a few hurling matches. You give a few kids at a hurling club a football and tell them the basic rules they can get the hang if it fairly easy. Give a few kids from a football club a sliotar and a hurl and they will find it harder, it takes more effort to get hurling going than football. That is the only point I'm making.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts: 1353 - 16/04/2017 20:51:08    1979955

I have met many Kilkenny people who if you started talking about football would tell you they have no interest in the sport. Where as if you talked to a GAA man from a football county who never would have played hurling they would rarely make a point in the same way of putting down hurling.

bdbuddah (Meath) - Posts:306 - 16/04/2017 20:37:06 1979951

So you've met "many" Kilkenny people have ya? There's been Senior Football Championship running in Kilkenny since 1887. There are hundreds of players (at least) involved in football in Kilkenny; from senior down to school age teams. There are hundreds of more people in involved in organising and making sure these games happen. With all due respect, you don't know what you're talking about

Cockney_Cat (UK) - Posts: 2470 - 16/04/2017 23:44:18    1980007