Referee admits error...

Replying To royal7:  "Well name the bad decisions that cost dublin any games..yes it does go both ways at times but I've never witnessed any major decisions costing dublin any games ..yes we got one in 2010 and have been given nothing since ..in 2012 dublin scored an attempted goal over the bar was a point but officials signalled wide and ref played on ..then gilroy starts shouting at maurice deegan on sideline play stopped and hawk eye used ..it was the correct decision but do you think that play would be stopped if another county's manager instructed hawkeye be used these are the things that annoy me. Yez play great football but by God yez get some help along the way"

Dublin were rewarded a free in against Kerry, when a Kerry defender handled the ball in the small square on the ground

That's a penno by the way. Dublin instead were awarded a free in - could have easily cost Dublin the game.

Mayo were allowed to tactically foul Dublin the entire game without punishment as highlighted using several example's on the Sunday game

This tactic played a big part in Mayo winning that game. It was an illegal tactic that they used to their advantage without punishment

Cork defender handled the ball on the ground preventing a certain goal, No penno.

Could have easily cost Dublin - Dublin only pulling away in the 2nd half

Kerry were awarded a free out after a blatant foul from behind on Jack McCaffrey at a vital stage, Kerry from that free missed an easy opportunity to take the lead when DOS pulled his effort to the right

Could have easily cost Dublin the game

Kerry were awarded a goal, that if goal line technology existed could have easily been disproven IMO

Dublin got on with it and won the game, but again could have easily cost Dublin, as Dublin only won by 2pts

So there's a number of examples of decisions that went against Dublin that could have proven to be vital

But all bar one, Dublin got on with it and turned the tide despite the error.

And there lies the greatness of this team.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/03/2017 13:37:59    1970393

Replying To royal7:  "Well name the bad decisions that cost dublin any games..yes it does go both ways at times but I've never witnessed any major decisions costing dublin any games ..yes we got one in 2010 and have been given nothing since ..in 2012 dublin scored an attempted goal over the bar was a point but officials signalled wide and ref played on ..then gilroy starts shouting at maurice deegan on sideline play stopped and hawk eye used ..it was the correct decision but do you think that play would be stopped if another county's manager instructed hawkeye be used these are the things that annoy me. Yez play great football but by God yez get some help along the way"
Why wouldn't they use technology if it's there to be used?

Gilroy had a right to make that known.

On that note.

Dublin hurlers when beating Galway in the Leinster Final had 3 scores that were incorrectly awarded to the advantage of Galway

Only to be over turned by Hawkeye

If those 3 incorrect decisions by the umpires weren't overturned it could have been a totally different game.

Gilroy had every right to question it, if the officials want to act on it, that's their business and if you want to go with an almost conspiracy theory approach, well there's not much sense to be discussed with you.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/03/2017 13:47:52    1970395

The Hawkeye official alerts the referee to review an incident if he feels the umpires are wrong.

Whatever Gilroy was doing on the sideline is immaterial.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 23/03/2017 14:12:40    1970400

Decisions go for and against all teams in games. This has happened in every single game of football that has ever been played.

It is comical bordering on farcical to see grown adults complaining about all the decisions that go against their team that cost them while simultaneously ignoring the decisions that went for them in those same games.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 23/03/2017 14:14:22    1970402

Replying To MesAmis:  "Decisions go for and against all teams in games. This has happened in every single game of football that has ever been played.

It is comical bordering on farcical to see grown adults complaining about all the decisions that go against their team that cost them while simultaneously ignoring the decisions that went for them in those same games."
It's almost getting awkward now.

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/03/2017 14:33:35    1970414

Replying To waynoI:  "So petty lads, yiz are like a couple of 5 year olds!!

Its ages ago now, Referee has an impossible job, on Goughs comments, I feel sorry for him.

But these things happen.

Easy for us after 10 replays and slow mo's to say the ref should have done this or that, he has one split second to make a decision. Most of the time they get it right in fairness."
Well said.
Nothing new about what he said either - I say it to players on the field, you can't blow what you don't see and you can't see through players. Refs work hard to get into positions to see all the play but with the amount of movement on the pitch something will get missed. God be with the good old days of catch and kick, it would have been easy to see everything but then again neither were there very many rules.

zinny (Wexford) - Posts: 1805 - 23/03/2017 15:54:29    1970456

Hawk-Eye wasn't introduced into Gaelic Games until 2013.

Kurt_Angle (Dublin) - Posts: 567 - 23/03/2017 16:21:45    1970470

Replying To zinny:  "Well said.
Nothing new about what he said either - I say it to players on the field, you can't blow what you don't see and you can't see through players. Refs work hard to get into positions to see all the play but with the amount of movement on the pitch something will get missed. God be with the good old days of catch and kick, it would have been easy to see everything but then again neither were there very many rules."
It always balances itself out

That's the issue for some lads

Not being able to recognise that, and realise that they've had plenty of favourable calls that have gone their way (even in the same games that they are giving out about)

Also for some... they are getting into conspiracy theory territory here!

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/03/2017 16:23:04    1970471

Replying To MesAmis:  "Decisions go for and against all teams in games. This has happened in every single game of football that has ever been played.

It is comical bordering on farcical to see grown adults complaining about all the decisions that go against their team that cost them while simultaneously ignoring the decisions that went for them in those same games."
Well said Mes. The most successful county in Ireland and still they feel hard done by. The sense of entitlement is off the scale.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12121 - 23/03/2017 16:25:34    1970472

Well said Mes. The most successful county in Ireland and still they feel hard done by. The sense of entitlement is off the scale.
Breffni39 (Cavan) - Posts:10989 - 23/03/2017 16:25:34

In fairness to them it's not just them. Although they're doing a fair amount of crying over split milk alright!

I stand on the Hill for most Dubs games and hear the same idiot's giving out about every single free against Dublin or any 50/50 call that goes against Dublin. They're all cut from the same cloth. Idiots.

The amount of abuse given to referees in all team sports is ridiculous. People need to grow up and accept that you get some decisions and don't get others.

MesAmis (Dublin) - Posts: 13718 - 23/03/2017 16:41:38    1970478

Replying To Breffni39:  "Well said Mes. The most successful county in Ireland and still they feel hard done by. The sense of entitlement is off the scale."
Couldn't agree more , even at club level , I stand on the opposite side of the pitch to my own club supporters at minor games this year , as I cant stand the blinkered bullshi7 that passes as supporting your team. Now we all get passionate that's fine but 60 mins of
STEPS STEPS STEPS
A REF AROUND THE NECK
A JESUS REF THEIR KILLING HIM
OPEN FIST REF FOR F--K SAKE
WIDE WIDE F----NN WIDE ah ah ah ah REF F--K SAKE

That's every sunday , ref is only getting out of the car and you hear ah jesus this fuc7er hates us
Think theres a few like that on here , don't break party lines

Damothedub (Dublin) - Posts: 5193 - 23/03/2017 17:26:55    1970498

Replying To jimbodub:  "It always balances itself out

That's the issue for some lads

Not being able to recognise that, and realise that they've had plenty of favourable calls that have gone their way (even in the same games that they are giving out about)

Also for some... they are getting into conspiracy theory territory here!"
For the top teams, it invariably balances itself out. However, in Gaelic, as indeed in most sport, the weaker teams tend to get all the bad calls. As a supporter of the strongest team around, you may have difficulty accepting this but, believe me it is true. Even the so-called top refs. act as if only one set of players will foul when a strong team meets a weak team.
I accept that everybody - players and ref/linesmen make mistakes every time they go on the pitch. However to listen to ref. spokesmen you would think that it was unbelievable that a ref. could make a mistake.

neverright (Roscommon) - Posts: 1648 - 23/03/2017 17:47:19    1970502

Never in a million years was that a black card against the Tyrone player, shocking decision by the referee. Mayo player commits the same offence 5 mins later and gets a yellow??? Mmmmm.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 26/03/2017 15:20:26    1971162

Replying To Ulsterman:  "Never in a million years was that a black card against the Tyrone player, shocking decision by the referee. Mayo player commits the same offence 5 mins later and gets a yellow??? Mmmmm."
Treu but then again look at the pillow fight at the end! how could any sane person ref that!!

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4897 - 26/03/2017 16:39:44    1971190

Replying To arock:  "Treu but then again look at the pillow fight at the end! how could any sane person ref that!!"
To be fair ref evened it out.

Ulsterman (Antrim) - Posts: 9706 - 26/03/2017 16:42:36    1971193

Watched the laois/Longford game and the Tyrone/Mayo games. The contrast in the application of the rules was shocking, it was like two different sports. In the lower division game the ref allowed zero physical contact, seemed to never have heard of the new advantage rule and missed about 5 massive decisions in the game (equally bad for both sides).

catchturnscore (Longford) - Posts: 149 - 26/03/2017 17:22:33    1971254

I listened to the Tipperary Louth match on Tipperary FM, and they made out that Louth got the majority of decisions in their favour, and they assured the listeners they weren't biased.

Is it true, or was it 'hometown' broadcasting?

m_the_d (None) - Posts: 1099 - 26/03/2017 18:37:06    1971319

Replying To m_the_d:  "I listened to the Tipperary Louth match on Tipperary FM, and they made out that Louth got the majority of decisions in their favour, and they assured the listeners they weren't biased.

Is it true, or was it 'hometown' broadcasting?"
The ref gave Tipp a penalty, and Black carded two Louth players, hardly Favouring Louth, was he?

PK57 (Louth) - Posts: 1656 - 26/03/2017 19:07:38    1971346

Tipp FM reckoned there should have been another black and a red for louth.
I did find it amusing though. Every time louth tackled hard, 'it was a foul', and most times louth won a free it was 'soft'.

m_the_d (None) - Posts: 1099 - 26/03/2017 19:29:55    1971368

The head was nearly taken off cilian O connor near the end of game today with Tyrone and Ref did nothing, yet he was giving out yellow and black cards for nearly nothing early in the game.

culmore (None) - Posts: 1398 - 26/03/2017 20:22:05    1971421