Referee admits error...

Replying To legendzxix:  "I haven't commented on the contents of the article."
You have, by omission.

m_the_d (None) - Posts: 1099 - 21/03/2017 21:46:16    1969745

Replying To TheUsername:  "You see this is the very problem, how do you and others have the information of were this man lives and what he does in his private life and share it. Is it any wonder the man has come out about the pressure he's been under. How can games be refer fairly when this is the standard of behaviour.

I find it really appalling to be honest.

Anyway i said my peice, hopefully the game wins in the end."
Well I wasn't aware of his very close St Judes connections until a couple of days after the game but i would have hoped the GAA knew and if they didn't that he would inform them of the situation

Our lads poured your blood, sweat and tears the least they deserve is fair play and unfortunately they didn't get that. 10/11 months down the drain my sympathy is with the players.

Why is he coming out now over 6 months since it happened and not at the time it happened. My only thought is that he hasn't to my knowledge got any big Division 1 game and is trying to get back in the big time

KYTotalFootball (Kerry) - Posts: 280 - 21/03/2017 22:31:56    1969769

Replying To jimbodub:  "Can't wait for #35"
We'll ye are 9 AI's away from 35 at present so you'll be waiting a decent while

KYTotalFootball (Kerry) - Posts: 280 - 21/03/2017 22:35:14    1969771

Yet again it's always an officiating decision or the referee in general that's the problem when Kerry lose a game. I can't wait for the 2017 instalment this summer :)

Dubsfan28 (Dublin) - Posts: 2509 - 21/03/2017 22:35:17    1969772

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "Yet again it's always an officiating decision or the referee in general that's the problem when Kerry lose a game. I can't wait for the 2017 instalment this summer :)"
I think it's fair enough to comment when the referee himself comes out and admits he was wrong. Nobody is whinging at this stage. What's done is done.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 22/03/2017 13:08:48    1969938

One thing that needs to be sorted out is the neck high tackle. It seems to be a real tactic used in the game against a player soloing the ball. It stops one of the most exciting skills of the game in a very cynical and dangerous way and it is used as a tactic for sure. Refs don't seem too bothered about carding players for it early in the game, it should be a black card offense, or a straight red for the more dangerous ones.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 22/03/2017 14:59:58    1970002

Replying To Donegalman:  "One thing that needs to be sorted out is the neck high tackle. It seems to be a real tactic used in the game against a player soloing the ball. It stops one of the most exciting skills of the game in a very cynical and dangerous way and it is used as a tactic for sure. Refs don't seem too bothered about carding players for it early in the game, it should be a black card offense, or a straight red for the more dangerous ones."
Agreed, the problem is how to do decide between an intentional/cynical high tackle and the cases where it is a lazy/half hearted tackle that just catches a player. Not easy in the heat of the moment to make that call.

In fairness, Kerry are giving away a lot of frees and picking up a lot of cards at the minute because of their lack of tackling technique. I can't understand how they are not being coached to tackle properly. It cost us the game on Saturday and most likely the game with Mayo. You can't give away stupid frees when the opposition have players like Dean Rock or Cillian O'Connor.

Contrast this with Cavan's discipline against Mayo.
Its going to be an interesting aspect to the Kerry/Cavan game this week.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 22/03/2017 15:11:32    1970008

Replying To Dubsfan28:  "Yet again it's always an officiating decision or the referee in general that's the problem when Kerry lose a game. I can't wait for the 2017 instalment this summer :)"
LOL. Absolutely blarney waffle for the sake of waffle. Hoganstand.com made an article of the comments. This being a FORUM, people are likely to comment on it.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7870 - 22/03/2017 16:57:38    1970050

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "I think it's fair enough to comment when the referee himself comes out and admits he was wrong. Nobody is whinging at this stage. What's done is done."
Your hitting the nail on the head there GeniusGerr

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7870 - 22/03/2017 16:58:58    1970051

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "I think it's fair enough to comment when the referee himself comes out and admits he was wrong. Nobody is whinging at this stage. What's done is done."
Your hitting the nail on the head there GeniusGerry. The ref's comments seems to have irked some people.

legendzxix (Kerry) - Posts: 7870 - 22/03/2017 17:00:21    1970052

Replying To legendzxix:  "Your hitting the nail on the head there GeniusGerry. The ref's comments seems to have irked some people."
Sure no one likes to hear stories of Kerry not getting a fair crack of the whip, do ye lads not know how this place runs ;D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 22/03/2017 18:46:37    1970092

Replying To legendzxix:  "Your hitting the nail on the head there GeniusGerry. The ref's comments seems to have irked some people."
Because he is being selective with the calls he got wrong due to the incessant talk coming from the big wigs in Kerry at the time. An almost identical challenge was made on Philly McMahon prior to that but due to the timing of the foul on Crowley its being talked about.

Jackeen (Dublin) - Posts: 4097 - 22/03/2017 19:13:17    1970105

Replying To Jackeen:  "Because he is being selective with the calls he got wrong due to the incessant talk coming from the big wigs in Kerry at the time. An almost identical challenge was made on Philly McMahon prior to that but due to the timing of the foul on Crowley its being talked about."
The McMahon one was comparable alright, and it was also missed. It had little bearing on the result though, while the Crowley one was absolutely crucial in terms of where it was and when it happened. I get where you are coming from though.

I think we can all agree that the ref has an impossible job at this stage. The game is so fast now and every player is trying to bend the rules to their advantage. I rarely criticise refs because it's a job I wouldn't do for love nor money.

GeniusGerry (Kerry) - Posts: 2105 - 22/03/2017 19:24:43    1970111

Replying To GeniusGerry:  "The McMahon one was comparable alright, and it was also missed. It had little bearing on the result though, while the Crowley one was absolutely crucial in terms of where it was and when it happened. I get where you are coming from though.

I think we can all agree that the ref has an impossible job at this stage. The game is so fast now and every player is trying to bend the rules to their advantage. I rarely criticise refs because it's a job I wouldn't do for love nor money."
The challenge on McMahon was worse I posted this earlier in the thread..

What about the disgraceful frontal shoulder charge on mcmahon down along the cusack stand o'mahony let the ball pass then complety took him out that was much more premeditated would say it was more a case of he knows he screwed up there and I have to be consistent here and let it go...what comes round goes round and all that..

jacktheDub (Dublin) - Posts: 944 - 22/03/2017 20:26:11    1970130

Replying To jacktheDub:  "The challenge on McMahon was worse I posted this earlier in the thread..

What about the disgraceful frontal shoulder charge on mcmahon down along the cusack stand o'mahony let the ball pass then complety took him out that was much more premeditated would say it was more a case of he knows he screwed up there and I have to be consistent here and let it go...what comes round goes round and all that.."
and what about the phantom 45 that only Gough could see which came less than a minute after Paul Murphy had a stonewall 45 not given, 2 point swing straight away there

KYTotalFootball (Kerry) - Posts: 280 - 22/03/2017 21:10:07    1970156

So petty lads, yiz are like a couple of 5 year olds!!

Its ages ago now, Referee has an impossible job, on Goughs comments, I feel sorry for him.

But these things happen.

Easy for us after 10 replays and slow mo's to say the ref should have done this or that, he has one split second to make a decision. Most of the time they get it right in fairness.

waynoI (Dublin) - Posts: 13650 - 22/03/2017 22:13:41    1970187

Replying To KYTotalFootball:  "Funny how he claims he couldn't see that incident, yet could award a phantom 45 to his club mate seconds after denying Paul Murphy a legitimate 45 at the other end"
Yeah he was somehow able to see that ..He's not the only one though did ye see the free dublin got in the 59th minute last week..Dublin fans think it's pettiness but it's so annoying refs not afraid to upset the silver spooners ..suppose it was a free at the end of the tyrone match too !

royal7 (Meath) - Posts: 156 - 23/03/2017 08:21:42    1970263

Replying To royal7:  "Yeah he was somehow able to see that ..He's not the only one though did ye see the free dublin got in the 59th minute last week..Dublin fans think it's pettiness but it's so annoying refs not afraid to upset the silver spooners ..suppose it was a free at the end of the tyrone match too !"
Calls go for and against

Very questionable goal Kerry got that day

Goal line technology would have proven IMO that the entire ball did not cross the line

Meath only have 1 Leinster this decade thanks to one of the worst calls of all time

Kerry won an AI in 2014 thanks to some very questionable calls going their way against Mayo

Swings and roundabouts

The problem a few of us have is that it's only the bad calls being discussed

Plenty of calls go the other way

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/03/2017 10:25:29    1970291

As I posted yesterday (though for some reason that posts and others were deleted): The GAA has to ensure that referee's appointed for big championship games have no connection with one or both of the competing teams.

If it is a Kerry/Dublin game then the referee should be from Connacht or Ulster. In the same way that if Donegal were playing Mayo, it should be a Munster or Leinster ref.

In no other sport would it be tolerated that an official who lives, works and is a member of a local sports club where one team is based would be allowed officiate a home game involving that team. It's not fair on the official and its not fair on either team.

That is not to suggest Gough was consciously favoring Dublin or anything. But we have all seen in various sports how officials are swayed by unconscious factors such as one team being at home etc, etc - so we know subconsciously these things can happen.

Dublin posters are probably reading this just like they read opinions on issues of the development funding/sponsorship being given to Dublin and think its nothing but sour grapes. But it isn't.

It should be a legitimate concern that referee's being appointed for big games are strictly impartial and have no obvious connections with competing teams. It happens in every other sport, why is it tolerated in the GAA?

Remember also Gough chose to come out and speak about this game publicly, its only right the issue of total impartiality on the part of referee's be raised.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 23/03/2017 10:28:49    1970293

Replying To jimbodub:  "Calls go for and against

Very questionable goal Kerry got that day

Goal line technology would have proven IMO that the entire ball did not cross the line

Meath only have 1 Leinster this decade thanks to one of the worst calls of all time

Kerry won an AI in 2014 thanks to some very questionable calls going their way against Mayo

Swings and roundabouts

The problem a few of us have is that it's only the bad calls being discussed

Plenty of calls go the other way"
Well name the bad decisions that cost dublin any games..yes it does go both ways at times but I've never witnessed any major decisions costing dublin any games ..yes we got one in 2010 and have been given nothing since ..in 2012 dublin scored an attempted goal over the bar was a point but officials signalled wide and ref played on ..then gilroy starts shouting at maurice deegan on sideline play stopped and hawk eye used ..it was the correct decision but do you think that play would be stopped if another county's manager instructed hawkeye be used these are the things that annoy me. Yez play great football but by God yez get some help along the way

royal7 (Meath) - Posts: 156 - 23/03/2017 13:14:28    1970383