Fair play TG4

Replying To bumpernut:  "You're doing your best to get this thread closed aren't you westbrit"
How?

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7355 - 13/04/2017 22:04:22    1979266

Ah lads take off your union jack sunglasses, TG4 is an Irish broadcast station and should broadcast in Irish, we have spent the last 30 odd years listening to jackeen and cork TV for GAA championship matches yet you don't hear us complaining, all we whinge about is the RTE experts at half time and after the game. Me personally I live TG4's broadcast of games, no matter how good or bad your Irish is you should be well able to understand what is being said, saor cic or cic saor means a free kick, cul is a goal, cuilin is a point, carta dubh, dearg, bui is a black, red, yellow card, reitoir is a referee, etc

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 13/04/2017 22:27:26    1979270

Replying To Laois76:  "Excellent Laochra Gael programme on Tommy Walsh, Kilkenny, last night. Very honest, no clichés. Really enjoyable."
Loved his honesty " You always go for the ball and if you can't see the ball , you pull wherever you think it is "

Jack_Sparrow (Westmeath) - Posts: 1018 - 13/04/2017 22:43:39    1979276

http://www.tg4.ie/en/programmes/laochra-gael/

Link to all the latest Laochra Gael programmes for anyone interested in watching.

I enjoyed Eamonn O'Hara and Peter Finnerty too. Amazing how much O'Hara did for Sligo football from a callow 18 year old until he was 37 or so.

Great credit to TG4 for these programmes and for having new series yearly.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 13/04/2017 22:51:41    1979277

Replying To bumpernut:  "You're doing your best to get this thread closed aren't you westbrit"
I think you will find the only brit hear is you. After all you are one of her majesty subject's.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/04/2017 22:59:55    1979278

Replying To royaldunne:  "I think you will find the only brit hear is you. After all you are one of her majesty subject's."
Ok that was uncalled for, just I hate the usual suspects who no nothing with their attempts at trying to dig at people cause they haven't got the IQ to argue in a coherent manner. I have nothing only admiration for my northern gaa friends, just people with posts like that irritate me.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 13/04/2017 23:09:38    1979281

Replying To royaldunne:  "Ok that was uncalled for, just I hate the usual suspects who no nothing with their attempts at trying to dig at people cause they haven't got the IQ to argue in a coherent manner. I have nothing only admiration for my northern gaa friends, just people with posts like that irritate me."
Fair play to you for saying that RD, it takes courage to withdraw a comment.

We can all get a little heated at times, none more so than myself, over what we're passionate about and we allow things to escalate.

Laois76 (Laois) - Posts: 1270 - 13/04/2017 23:52:57    1979286

Considering some of the stuff Admins have allowed on this thread, I'm surprised my post was not let through. I guess my point against royaldunne re: an Irish language newspaper was too close to the bone, but calling lads West Brits and that is fine. For the record, what I said was print media around the world is suffering, so holding that against the language I find laughable. There's an online newspaper that is doing quite well, tuarisc.ie. But that won't fit the narrative I'm sure.

Anyway I have no idea why TG4 should use their funding for accommodating English speakers. Irish speakers have to deal in English every single day of their lives. It's everywhere. And when there is a service provided in Irish, you get non-speakers moaning about that. It's a 70 minute match and the cost involved in hiring a commentator, the technology involved and facilitating a red button option, why should they go to that effort? They're the ones who were bothered to get the rights and show the match in the first place. Your issue should be with the English language broadcasters not giving a damn about club or league matches. TG4 do a fine job and should be commended for giving people access to games they might not otherwise see. I still remember streaming the U21 All-Ireland final in 2010 when I was on holiday in Spain. A great service then and a great service now.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 14/04/2017 09:57:21    1979327