Fair play TG4

A great success for TG4 with 642,000 tuning into the channels live match coverage
of Kerry V Dublin. It was TG4 most watched programme ever to date , which was
brilliant for TG4 and the GAA.
Comhghairdeachas don meitheal ar an gclár.

fainleog (Limerick) - Posts: 598 - 10/04/2017 21:38:26    1978163

Well done to TG4 again tonight streaming the U21 Ulster final. I've no doubt many watched it as it was hard to get to Armagh on a Monday night to support the lads in person. Maith sibh

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 10/04/2017 21:46:20    1978168

Replying To JoeSoap:  "Well done to TG4 again tonight streaming the U21 Ulster final. I've no doubt many watched it as it was hard to get to Armagh on a Monday night to support the lads in person. Maith sibh"
I agree. Tg4 have a great service and it was great to not miss out today.

dstuction (Donegal) - Posts: 1209 - 10/04/2017 21:55:03    1978172

Replying To dstuction:  "I agree. Tg4 have a great service and it was great to not miss out today."
Not my experience. I tried at least 20 times to connect through TG4 with no success. Only for YouTube I would have been rightly shagged.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 10/04/2017 22:27:17    1978177

Replying To Ah_Here:  "Ah sure that's the whole point of it. Can always pick up radio commentry is you're really that bothered.
Great coverage though .. outrageous that seo spoirt is going .."
u cant listen to the radio and watch it on tv as its never in sinc, why is this?

Stmunnsriver (Wexford) - Posts: 2845 - 11/04/2017 08:52:07    1978210

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "Not my experience. I tried at least 20 times to connect through TG4 with no success. Only for YouTube I would have been rightly shagged."
Was on Premier Sports on Mobdro. TG4 stream with commentary in English.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7359 - 11/04/2017 11:05:03    1978279

Fantastic coverage. Surely it has to be in the native language as that what TG4 was set up to promote?

Like most, can get by without ever been fluent. Thanks to TG4 GAA, have managed to add the phrases ' Cárta Buí no Cárta Dubh?' to my Irish vocabulary.....and thanks to Hawkeye, we all know what 'Níl' means. Small steps.

poguemahone (Dublin) - Posts: 365 - 11/04/2017 11:14:32    1978283

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "u cant listen to the radio and watch it on tv as its never in sinc, why is this?"
Different technologies. Digital is always a small step behind FM & MW wheras anyone trying to watch the game last night on youtube while listening to the radio commentary would have seen a difference of almost 60 seconds.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 11/04/2017 11:26:04    1978292

Replying To Stmunnsriver:  "u cant listen to the radio and watch it on tv as its never in sinc, why is this?"
There's always a delay unfortunately, why oh why do they not have a red button with English commentary I will never know. The latest census proves that vast vast majority of people havent a clue what they saying . I have heard tv3 going to bid against them next time for league coverage , hopefully they will be successful

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/04/2017 12:01:20    1978306

Replying To cavanman47:  "I see tg4 are live streaming Kildare v galway.

A bit strange considering that it's essentially a dead rubber if Kildare rest players which could definitely happen.

Why not stream a division 1 game? There's something to play for in each of the 4 division 1 games."
they did stream it,i watched it on their site on my phone.was great.

perfect10 (Wexford) - Posts: 3929 - 11/04/2017 12:09:41    1978308

Replying To royaldunne:  "There's always a delay unfortunately, why oh why do they not have a red button with English commentary I will never know. The latest census proves that vast vast majority of people havent a clue what they saying . I have heard tv3 going to bid against them next time for league coverage , hopefully they will be successful"
Ye hopefully so, this idea that 'TG4 do a great job' is basically just a catchphrase that's caught on and seemingly can't be stopped.

They show the games alright but so does RTE, Sky and Eir sport, only difference is they show the games in English, TG4 shows the games in a language that most people in Ireland don't speak.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 11/04/2017 12:38:56    1978325

You watch a match with your eyes not with your ears.
what language is the commentary in when your at the game ???? How do you ever follow it I have to ask royaldunne and htaem

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 11/04/2017 13:10:26    1978347

The difference is TG4 operate on a fraction of the budget of their rivals.

I don't speak a word of Irish but I couldn't care less about not understanding the commentary and think they do a great job.

benjyyy (Donegal) - Posts: 1422 - 11/04/2017 13:11:14    1978348

Replying To benjyyy:  "The difference is TG4 operate on a fraction of the budget of their rivals.

I don't speak a word of Irish but I couldn't care less about not understanding the commentary and think they do a great job."
To be perfectly honest I don't care too much about commentary either benjyyy, but naturally it's better to watch a game in a language that you do understand rather than don't understand. As for the likes of analysis, I couldn't care less, I almost never watch analysis anyway, I think it's completely worthless.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 11/04/2017 13:38:41    1978371

Replying To Htaem:  "Ye hopefully so, this idea that 'TG4 do a great job' is basically just a catchphrase that's caught on and seemingly can't be stopped.

They show the games alright but so does RTE, Sky and Eir sport, only difference is they show the games in English, TG4 shows the games in a language that most people in Ireland don't speak."
Yeah that's it exactly, I have no idea why people are saying doing a great job while slating RTÉ, sky, and eir. Makes no sense they all doing same job (tg4 camera, and general production below what the others do) but at least vast majority of people can understand the others.

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/04/2017 13:48:01    1978377

Replying To hill16no1man:  "You watch a match with your eyes not with your ears.
what language is the commentary in when your at the game ???? How do you ever follow it I have to ask royaldunne and htaem"
Are you for real? Honestly my 6 year old would tell you the difference. Been at a match you in the moment, watching on tv you need the commentary to enhance the program to make you feel as if you were there. Micheal oheir was the master of this be it radio or TV.
I presume then should tv3 win the rights to league games you will have no problem?

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/04/2017 13:53:11    1978378

Replying To benjyyy:  "The difference is TG4 operate on a fraction of the budget of their rivals.

I don't speak a word of Irish but I couldn't care less about not understanding the commentary and think they do a great job."
Do they do a better job then the others?
Also they get a large chunk of license fee and are heavily subsidised by the tax payer through government grants, is it not fair to those who pay for it to at least have the option of understanding it? Not as the main option but a secondary red button? The cost would be minable, as the technology is already there, cost of one commentator. That's it

royaldunne (Meath) - Posts: 19449 - 11/04/2017 13:57:48    1978384

Replying To royaldunne:  "Are you for real? Honestly my 6 year old would tell you the difference. Been at a match you in the moment, watching on tv you need the commentary to enhance the program to make you feel as if you were there. Micheal oheir was the master of this be it radio or TV.
I presume then should tv3 win the rights to league games you will have no problem?"
It's an Irish language channel with a limited budget. If they had a red button option to have an English commentary it would eat into that budget and they'd probably show less games. Just by pure fluke on Sunday I streamed Premier Sports on Mobdro showing the league final. It had the TG4 stream with commentary in English. They won't show all of TG4s games but could be worth checking out.

I can understand a bit of Irish but watching a game in a different language is fine for me if the streaming is good. Often watch soccer in Arabic on BEIN because the Sky or BT link is poor. Haven't a clue what they're saying but they're enthusiastic !

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7359 - 11/04/2017 14:15:40    1978393

Replying To royaldunne:  "Are you for real? Honestly my 6 year old would tell you the difference. Been at a match you in the moment, watching on tv you need the commentary to enhance the program to make you feel as if you were there. Micheal oheir was the master of this be it radio or TV.
I presume then should tv3 win the rights to league games you will have no problem?"
I hate commentary full stop.
I would much rather they have the option of muting the commentator and just having the stadium atmosphere as sound.
nine times out of ten it contridictes what your eyes are actually seeing.
tv3 is sky sports commentary and analysis they just moved over and sky analysis team are awful they do more pointing at a screen and moving around the studio than talking about the game it's like golf analysis

hill16no1man (Dublin) - Posts: 12665 - 11/04/2017 15:52:49    1978463

Replying To royaldunne:  "Do they do a better job then the others?
Also they get a large chunk of license fee and are heavily subsidised by the tax payer through government grants, is it not fair to those who pay for it to at least have the option of understanding it? Not as the main option but a secondary red button? The cost would be minable, as the technology is already there, cost of one commentator. That's it"
They'd have to pay for a channel to broadcast the English commentary through. I think it's Comreg they'd have to pay.

GreenandRed (Mayo) - Posts: 7359 - 11/04/2017 17:29:02    1978522