All Ireland U21 Football Championship

Fair play Longford, worked very hard 1st half

But were eventually dismantled by an emerging super star

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 22/03/2017 22:19:24    1970193

Replying To realdub:  "Good win for Donegal alright, Sligo beating Roscommon must be a surprise? Con O'Callaghan knocked in 2 goals and a few points tonight, good showing after his exertions in the AI Club Hurling championship!"
Donegal have to be favourites after tonight's win, plus that extra game should stand to them.

KingdomBoy1 (Kerry) - Posts: 14092 - 22/03/2017 23:04:10    1970213

Replying To MuckrossHead:  "FT Donegal 0-18 Tyrone 0-09

Tyrone ended the game with 13 players"
Certainly wasn't a dirty game though. Hard and fair I think you will agree? Fair play to Donegal, better team on the night. Good luck for the weeks ahead

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 22/03/2017 23:08:09    1970216

I was at the donegal tyrone game this evening. Very poor conditions, and both teams did well to keep moves from breaking down. We were worth the win tonight, Tyrone's defense was not as strong as it was the last night out, that was the big difference.

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 22/03/2017 23:09:41    1970217

Replying To realdub:  "Good win for Donegal alright, Sligo beating Roscommon must be a surprise? Con O'Callaghan knocked in 2 goals and a few points tonight, good showing after his exertions in the AI Club Hurling championship!"
Sligo is a shock, but Roscommon' stock is down a bit after a few great years. Just read they have never won a provincial u-21, hard to believe... but they have some big challenges ahead

WestsideWarrior (Galway) - Posts: 24 - 22/03/2017 23:32:56    1970223

I don't think Sligo's win was that big of a surprise. They have had a couple of decent minor teams in recent years plus young Cawley has impressed for the seniors. Good win for them tonight.

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 22/03/2017 23:43:55    1970226

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Donegal have to be favourites after tonight's win, plus that extra game should stand to them."
I would agree

realdub (Dublin) - Posts: 8596 - 22/03/2017 23:49:15    1970227

Replying To jimbodub:  "Fair play Longford, worked very hard 1st half

But were eventually dismantled by an emerging super star"
Spot on there Jjimbo.

This kid is some talent - both Football and Hurling.

We have a gem in Con.
Has to get a run out with the Seniors

Fionn (Dublin) - Posts: 3733 - 23/03/2017 00:30:31    1970238

Replying To KingdomBoy1:  "Donegal have to be favourites after tonight's win, plus that extra game should stand to them."
Ha ha!!!

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 23/03/2017 01:29:33    1970242

https://m.oddschecker.com/m/gaelic-games/gaelic-football/all-ireland-u21-football-championship/winner

All prices are here. Look no further

Donegalman (None) - Posts: 3830 - 23/03/2017 01:35:15    1970243

Longford gifted Dublin the 2 goals in the second half which was ultimately the difference. Small crowd from Dublin, greatly outnumbered by Longford supporters!

keeper7 (Longford) - Posts: 4088 - 23/03/2017 02:04:03    1970245

A Kerry man and a Dub telling us Donegal should be fav's after winning a replay........pull the other one lads!!!!

panamasam (Australia) - Posts: 2782 - 23/03/2017 02:14:27    1970246

Replying To TheHermit:  "Kerry in cruise control all game tonight, finished 1-18 to 0-7.

Limerick were giving Cork a load of trouble and were still leading into the second half, but Cork got two goals to put a gloss on it, 2-10 to 0-10.

So as expected its a Kerry/Cork final in two weeks.

Still hard to judge where Kerry are at, not hugely impressive against Clare and swept Waterford aside with little fuss.

Cork will be an entirely different animal."
Limerick denied a blatant goal preventing penalty at a crucial stage in second half. Limerick were also missing 2 or 3 crucial players. But Limerick are finally starting to put effort into underage football that was neglected for over a decade so its starting to produce.

blackspot91 (Limerick) - Posts: 1055 - 23/03/2017 06:46:25    1970251

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Certainly wasn't a dirty game though. Hard and fair I think you will agree? Fair play to Donegal, better team on the night. Good luck for the weeks ahead"
Very little between the teams until half time and really Tyrone should have been ahead after kicking some poor wides just after the goal. The second half was very strong however and we deserved to go through. Tyrone have some nice footballers though, especially the two wing backs and is expect a few will get the call up in the coming weeks to senior. Don't see any new quality forwards in that team though and that would be a concern for Tyrone.
Big question for Rory Gallagher now for Sundays game and will be pick the u21's again. With Cavan next Wednesday that would be 5 games in less than three weeks!

Tir Conaill Abu (Donegal) - Posts: 1671 - 23/03/2017 07:45:46    1970256

Replying To realdub:  "I would agree"
Aw here lads. We all know your real thoughts. That it's between yourselves. And sure wouldn't it be great to see another ding dong battle between the country's two best teams. All that tradition, etc etc etc.

Lockjaw (Donegal) - Posts: 9151 - 23/03/2017 09:25:30    1970274

Replying To Fionn:  "Spot on there Jjimbo.

This kid is some talent - both Football and Hurling.

We have a gem in Con.
Has to get a run out with the Seniors"
Serious talent

He should have a big say this year

He'd have been playing in the league but he was off making history with Cuala

I'd have him close to starting in Leinster

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20600 - 23/03/2017 09:57:31    1970283

Ah Kingdom my old friend. There was a time when us simple Donegal folk would have fallen for that oul guff from ye cute boys. Those days, when we were naive innocents, askng directions to Croke Park, are long gone & we are now as cute & hard bitten as the rest of ye.

How are the uncles by the way? Did they winter well?

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 23/03/2017 10:34:15    1970295

Fantastic second half performance last night. There isn't much to dislike about our young lads coming through. They give everything for the cause and some lovely footballers to boot. Very exciting and I hope Rory decides to give them a rest this weekend so they can focus on Cavan next Wednesday.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 23/03/2017 10:35:42    1970297

Replying To Lockjaw:  "Aw here lads. We all know your real thoughts. That it's between yourselves. And sure wouldn't it be great to see another ding dong battle between the country's two best teams. All that tradition, etc etc etc."
Spot on Lockjaw. Sure everyone is waiting on the inevitable battle of the last 3 minor all ireland champions against King Con and Co. No point other teams taking part...

Mobot (Donegal) - Posts: 459 - 23/03/2017 10:40:27    1970300

Replying To keeper7:  "Longford gifted Dublin the 2 goals in the second half which was ultimately the difference. Small crowd from Dublin, greatly outnumbered by Longford supporters!"
Midweek in Longford, hardly surprising the Dubs were outnumbered by Longford fans is it? I work till 6, would never have made it. A lot easier for locals to make.

GaaGaa78 (UK) - Posts: 285 - 23/03/2017 10:55:35    1970310