All-Ireland Junior Football Final

Always 1 junior football basher, to suggest that was a pure junior game in nonsense. They were excellent points from both teams, conor mccreesh our 15 gave the Glenbeigh fullback a roasting he couldn't lay a glove on him excellent footballer. I do agree Griffin was outstanding, but with our midfielder enda mcwilliams sent off he had so he had a lot of room to do damage. I've seen this rock team beat a moy beat as recently as 3 years ago with the 2 cavanagh's jordan &co in the intermediate championship to label those boys are pure junior footballers is wrong, most of them have spent most of their careers playing good level intermediate football.

rockman1 (Tyrone) - Posts: 6 - 21/02/2017 15:58:03    1959218

Replying To Dellboypolecat:  "Yes if rock got promoted to div 1 they would be senior team . It is wrong system in Kerry"
We have won 37 AI's with our system so I think we aren't doing badly with it

KYTotalFootball (Kerry) - Posts: 280 - 21/02/2017 16:25:32    1959228

i spoke to kerry men and tried to get them to explain the whole set up of their laegue and championship. took a number of explanations to get it right, the kerry gaa men were not fully agreed when explaining to the structure. seemed a bit over complicated. could never understand why they just didnt have three divisions

division 1--- seniors (you play senior championship & senior league)
division 2---intermediate (you play intermediate championship and league)
division 3---junior (you play junior champ and league)

if you won the junior league you are promoted to division above you
if you won the junior championship you are promoted to division above you

if you won the intermediate league you are promoted to division above you
if you won the intermediate championship you are promoted to the division above you

so league & championship both are very competitive as there was the reward of playing in a higher division.

keepherlow (Tyrone) - Posts: 127 - 21/02/2017 16:27:27    1959233

Replying To Soma:  "And won 5 intermediate clubs as well. The story is similar in hurling where Kilkenny and Cork clubs dominate.
Most of these Kerry wins at junior club level were by no more than 2-3 points, it's not as if they are blowing teams away. The exception were Caherciveen who were way too good for junior level but found themselves down there. How long have Glenbeigh been a junior club? Were they recently relegated?"
No they just got beaten every year by either a point or late goal to inferior teams on paper.

However it should be noted those teams Templenoe (Div 2) and Brosna (Div 3) who beat them at the time won the All Ireland Junior which puts the Kerry haters firmly in their box

KYTotalFootball (Kerry) - Posts: 280 - 21/02/2017 16:28:02    1959234

Replying To Soma:  "So presumably performance in the league doesn't affect promotion or relegation, that is done through the championship and so the league is meaningless?
As I understand it Kerry club football is similar to intercounty hurling where league position has no impact on what championship a team plays in. For example this year Meath are in 2B but will play in the Liam McCarthy, Antrim are 2A but will play Christy Ring. I am certain the Kerry club setup is a major reason for their success at intercounty level."
if you get promoted\relegated in the league then that is reflected in the championship.. likewise if you win a championship then you can get promoted up a league.. it means that a team is playing against the same opposition in the league and championship... it sounds in some other counties that the league is ignored and teams can pick and choose what league they are in. No wonder that the GAA has trouble with organising fixtures and avoiding player burn out. The Kerry system of having 34 Junior teams between Junior and Junior Premier is a bit hard to fathom. That's more teams than are in all of Monaghan!

Farney (Monaghan) - Posts: 801 - 21/02/2017 16:30:11    1959238

Replying To hoopman:  "How many of theae winners have been senior teams ?? Wht is a senior team proving having beat dr crokes in the league had they not the bottle to face them in champinship qhat next will ucd drop down to the hogan cup !! Fair play to the rock and i have very little love for the rock but hats off"
What part of 'Championship' and League being totally separate do Nordies not understand?

I think the fact a team can be promoted without even winning its own Championship to a higher tier totally farcical but that's just me

KYTotalFootball (Kerry) - Posts: 280 - 21/02/2017 16:35:55    1959240

Jesus the Tyrone lads seem to have a serious issue with Kerry's club championships!

Have ye lads ever been to places like Glenbeigh, Brosna or Templeone?? Their blink and you'll miss. Some of you seem to think they are actually senior clubs disguising themselves.

Maybe instead you might just give a bit of credit to the fact Kerry club football is extremely competitive at all levels and what's considered junior down here is a match for clubs at higher levels in their own counties??

I mean this is Kerry your talking about, we have the most All-Ireland's for a reason....

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 21/02/2017 16:46:37    1959251

Replying To Breffni39:  "So Glenbeigh/Glencar winning the junior is kinda like say, Offaly Senior hurlers winning the Lory Meagher? Fair play to them all the same."
What a stupid comment

With the way things are its more akin to the Kerry hurlers playing in the Lory Meagher :D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 21/02/2017 16:51:48    1959254

Hard to read all the whinging from a few posters. Dunno how it's run in the north but for any county I've experience of - so I'd say most but open to correction on 'most' - league and championship are separate competitions. So if you win the league that year, you get promoted in the league. If you win the championship then you get promoted in the championship and represent the county at the championship level you have just won. If you win one but not the other, you get promoted in one and stay the same in the other. Divisional teams are interesting, but irrelevant for this argument. The reason G/G are as they are is because they have been promoted in the league to division 1 over the last few years (and have not subsequently been relegated) but have only won the Junior championship this year... so they represent Kerry at Junior level. So up to now they have played Div 1 league and junior championship; 2017 will see them play Div 1 league and intermediate championship.
It's not unfair, it's not rocket science and it is how it is done in all Leinster counties, in Kerry and Cork. I presume (with confidence) it is the same in most other counties.

wicklu (Wicklow) - Posts: 331 - 21/02/2017 16:54:32    1959255

Cavan league and championship isn't the same as other ulster counties. Doesn't matter what league a team is in

FoolsGold (Cavan) - Posts: 2763 - 21/02/2017 16:59:04    1959257

Replying To TheHermit:  "Jesus the Tyrone lads seem to have a serious issue with Kerry's club championships!

Have ye lads ever been to places like Glenbeigh, Brosna or Templeone?? Their blink and you'll miss. Some of you seem to think they are actually senior clubs disguising themselves.

Maybe instead you might just give a bit of credit to the fact Kerry club football is extremely competitive at all levels and what's considered junior down here is a match for clubs at higher levels in their own counties??

I mean this is Kerry your talking about, we have the most All-Ireland's for a reason...."
I wasn't going to bother responding to you on this as I know I'm on a loser even talking to you on it but here goes:
Monaghan, Down and Cavan posters along with the Roscommon posters who started the thread have also queried the set up not just Tyrone posters. I know you have a serious chip on your shoulder about Tyrone but just look through the posts and you will see this.
Have you ever been in Slaughtneil? Enough said.
Maybe instead you might just give a bit of credit to the fact Kerry club football is extremely competitive at all levels and what's considered junior down here is a match for clubs at higher levels in their own counties?? This makes no sense, the discussion is about teams playing Division 1 of Kerry competing against junior / Division 3 teams from other counties - i.e the weakest teams from other counties, teams that this type of competition was developed for. Can you understand that?

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 21/02/2017 17:14:14    1959264

Limerick leagues and championship separate also. I remember our junior b club playing a senior side in division 4.

To understand some of the northern contributors, where league and championship are linked, does a clubs finishing position in the league determine what championship they play in the following year?

m_the_d (None) - Posts: 1099 - 21/02/2017 17:44:10    1959272

Replying To benched:  "I wasn't going to bother responding to you on this as I know I'm on a loser even talking to you on it but here goes:
Monaghan, Down and Cavan posters along with the Roscommon posters who started the thread have also queried the set up not just Tyrone posters. I know you have a serious chip on your shoulder about Tyrone but just look through the posts and you will see this.
Maybe instead you might just give a bit of credit to the fact Kerry club football is extremely competitive at all levels and what's considered junior down here is a match for clubs at higher levels in their own counties?? This makes no sense, the discussion is about teams playing Division 1 of Kerry competing against junior / Division 3 teams from other counties - i.e the weakest teams from other counties, teams that this type of competition was developed for. Can you understand that?"
Thats the point i was making I'm certainly not knocking kerry football in any way, as there was a laois poster who said there were 3 senior championship teams playing in div 3 of there league against junior teams.
I certainly didn't know this i just find it strange the way its set up, but certainly not knocking anyones county.

Yourjoking (USA) - Posts: 706 - 21/02/2017 17:47:53    1959274

Replying To m_the_d:  "Limerick leagues and championship separate also. I remember our junior b club playing a senior side in division 4.

To understand some of the northern contributors, where league and championship are linked, does a clubs finishing position in the league determine what championship they play in the following year?"
It does m_the_d yeah

benched (Tyrone) - Posts: 534 - 21/02/2017 17:51:25    1959277

we have been told by a previous poster that G/G picked to play junior championship... is this true? can you just pick what championship u want to? not much of a level playing field that? if true.

keepherlow (Tyrone) - Posts: 127 - 21/02/2017 17:53:14    1959279

Replying To benched:  "I wasn't going to bother responding to you on this as I know I'm on a loser even talking to you on it but here goes:
Maybe instead you might just give a bit of credit to the fact Kerry club football is extremely competitive at all levels and what's considered junior down here is a match for clubs at higher levels in their own counties?? This makes no sense, the discussion is about teams playing Division 1 of Kerry competing against junior / Division 3 teams from other counties - i.e the weakest teams from other counties, teams that this type of competition was developed for. Can you understand that?"
No chip about Tyrone except to be honest and say there is a culture to yer football I wouldn't be a huge fan of.

I think you'll find it was a couple of Tyrone posters who first started this thing of comparing divisions in the two counties when it's not relevant.

You and others don't seem to comprehend that League and Championship in Kerry are completely separate. It's not that hard to get your head around.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 21/02/2017 18:00:20    1959281

Replying To TheHermit:  "Jesus the Tyrone lads seem to have a serious issue with Kerry's club championships!

I mean this is Kerry your talking about, we have the most All-Ireland's for a reason...."
Have you ever been in Rock in Co Tyrone. I bet it is as small as any of the clubs you list. I've always been confused about the Kerry championships, thanks for explaining.
One thing, Dr Crokes are senior. Do they play the like of South Kerry, Mid Kerry in the senior championship, say in the first round?
Another thing, would it not be extremely difficult to play with players from neighbouring clubs for teams like South Kerry. I mean you could be marking a player one week then playing with him the next. What happens if your marker said something to you............oh I forgot, that only happens in Ulster.

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 21/02/2017 18:08:46    1959288

Replying To neverright:  "Hermit, as a matter of interest, how many Junior football club All-Irelands have Kerry won?"
Are Glencar/Glenbeigh Junior or Junior premier?

The_Fridge (Tyrone) - Posts: 2088 - 21/02/2017 18:16:16    1959293

Replying To The_Fridge:  "Have you ever been in Rock in Co Tyrone. I bet it is as small as any of the clubs you list. I've always been confused about the Kerry championships, thanks for explaining.
One thing, Dr Crokes are senior. Do they play the like of South Kerry, Mid Kerry in the senior championship, say in the first round?
Another thing, would it not be extremely difficult to play with players from neighbouring clubs for teams like South Kerry. I mean you could be marking a player one week then playing with him the next. What happens if your marker said something to you............oh I forgot, that only happens in Ulster."
In general the divisonal sides wouldn't have much trouble with that because as much as their is rivalry between clubs, playing for Kerry is the big prize for everyone and being on a divisional side means your putting your hand up.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 21/02/2017 18:18:07    1959294

Replying To benched:  "It does m_the_d yeah"
Is it two up, two down, or one up, one down.
Is promotion through league only?

If the bottom two sides happen to meet in the championship final, would it also double as a relegation match?

m_the_d (None) - Posts: 1099 - 21/02/2017 18:31:03    1959298