Padraic Duffy's plan

Replying To arock:  "A majority of the CPA and GPA players are against these changes for once maybe people will listen to the players and for once put them first. The competitions at Inter-county are bizarre - just try explaining it to a non-GAA person and each time they make a minor change it becomes even more surreal. These changes are quite frankly going to make us a laughing stock and rightly so. League/Round-Robin format is the staple diet competition in most other sports and a knock-out competition is the icing on the cake. We need to focus on that basic fact and change it. We also need to play club leagues/championships regardless of missing Inter-county players. We all have examples of a championship match being postponed because one Inter-county player (probably number 35 on a 36 panel) is on "Inter-county duty"."
Surely the system is for each club to vote within their own county firstly? So every county board should know by now what way they have be told to vote by the clubs? No?
Or do they congress delegates make up their own mind on the day and vote how they like?

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 23/02/2017 10:45:08    1959795

Replying To TheHermit:  "Listen I read Duffy's pitch as regards his 'super 8' idea. Inherent to his argument throughout was that, whatever about the imbalance in games played per county in the provincial system, the aim of the Super 8 was to ensure that come the All-Ireland series all 8 are setting off on the same foot.

Now from my reading of that, what he is arguing for is FAIRNESS. Grand, good, but then the proposal explicitly gives 1 county, Dublin, the advantage of 2 home games. Now I ask, where is the FAIRNESS in that???? In what other proposed competition around the world would such an advantage to one team be tolerated?!

If it proposed Kerry played 2 games in Killarney or Mayo 2 in McHale Park, the ink wouldn't be dry before the thing was thrown out.

I hope it doesn't pass because it is inherently unfair from that perspective.

And for those who say, ah sure look Dublin always got to play in Croke Park, that's not the point.

This is an new initiative and its being pitched to the Congress delegates as a way of leveling the playing field.
But in reality its just about keeping a cash cow going to the determent of the rest of us.

Same BS arguments that they used to shove the SKY deal through: 'oh this will give Irish people in the UK the opportunity to watch our games', yeah if there willing to pay £300 a year for SKY SPORTS!!"
It's not really about fairness.

There's still differences to the route to the last 8 depending on which provinces you're from.

There's no improvement in fairness at all. The quarterfinals on right now are as fair as any group stage would be.

The whole fairness issue is completely empty rhetoric designed to get this through.

Whammo86 (Antrim) - Posts: 4241 - 23/02/2017 10:49:35    1959797

Replying To opa01:  "To me this proposal is all about money.

In my opinion, it's the lobsided nature of the Provincial Championships that is holding a lot of counties back. Ulster is too competitive compared to the other provinces and the weaker counties in all provinces will get 2 championship games every year where they'll usually get well beaten.

The current tinkering at the edges will make no material difference other than making the stronger counties stronger and weaker counties weaker - the GAA should be all about inclusiveness not just money as the hierarchy seem to believe.

If a proper revamp of the Championship were to happen the Provincial Championships would have to be separated from the AI series or counties would have to be moved to other provinces (like hurling) to even out the number of counties. But my preference is for 8 groups of 4 based on National League standings with every group having one team from each division.

The Div 4 team could then have 3 home games in the group stage, Div 3 team 2 home games, Div 2 team 1 home game with the Div 1 team playing all group games away. The National League would then become important again (for Championship seeding) and be a really good competition.

Top 2 teams would qualify for the last 16 while bottom 2 teams would drop into second tier competition. The 2nd tier competition would need to have a level of importance with QF through to final being played in Croker. Last 16 games at a neutral venue. This way all counties are guaranteed 4 championship matches every year with at least two being winnable. Group games could be run over last two weeks in May and all of June. The last 16 through to final of both competitions played through July and August freeing up the rest of the year for the clubs. Top teams in each group to play second-placed teams from another group.

This year you could have a group of Roscommon, Down, Tipperary and Westmeath. All four teams would believe they have a realistic chance of qualifying in the top two.

New U20 competition could be run on the same basis and same timelines with players only allowed to play one or the other making this a much more attractive competition and removing some of the burnout period in the early part of the year where players are playing McKenna Cup, McGrath Cup etc plus Colleges plus National League plus U21 Hastings Cup plus U21 championship on wet pitches."
it won't work

if you continue to ignore hurling, it will NEVER work

manfromdelmonte (UK) - Posts: 541 - 23/02/2017 11:00:28    1959805

Replying To manfromdelmonte:  "it won't work

if you continue to ignore hurling, it will NEVER work"
Not ignoring hurling - it would have every second week available to it same as football. I just don't know enough about it to comment on the Championship structure.

opa01 (Cavan) - Posts: 503 - 23/02/2017 11:26:15    1959819

The present system 4 quarters will increase to 12 games if Duffy proposals go through.
That at least would at another month of games to what we already have.
So condensing the provincials would be a waste of time if we going to add a month to the quarters. What rightminded CB are going to vote for that unless there is a big financial carrot dangled before them which there will be. Because it's always about money.
I really don't think it's Pauric Duffy job to restructure the championship and if the motion is defeated in my opinion there should be calls for him to resign

Awwwwnow (Cavan) - Posts: 1050 - 23/02/2017 11:38:54    1959824

Firstly nobody can deny, the end of the football Championship would be exciting. Dublin V Kerry in a packed Killarney, or Tyrone inviting Mayo to Omagh etc during the months of July or August. It would be good for the sport and good for the economy. It would improve the football championship product and make it very marketable. This is likely the reasons why the CPA suggested it would be unfair on hurling, because in reality we all know, we would be guaranteed some cracking football matches during the summer. If the GAA were honest about there motives, people may have become sold on the idea. However the reality is they have tried to package it up as improving weaker counties, and solving the club player problem. How on earth does the 8 elite teams playing the best games of the year, whilst maintaining the same old structures beforehand improve the likes of Antrim, Wicklow, Leitrim etc?! How does increased matches amongst the elite improve the fixture problem in those counties?! Yes stopping replays and bringing forward the All Ireland finals will help, but that still brings most of the elite counties to the beginning of August before clubs get a free run. During the Quarter Final round robin, county managers will not be allowing much club action, whilst that is being played off. I have a fear this plan is to ensure the elite play off at the end of year, because the main motivation is not weaker counties but money. Guaranteeing these matches in front of sell outs, pretty much guarantees increased TV money and sponsorship. This needs to be voted down at Congress and a better solution put in place, because if passed, the bigger counties are going to be given a free road to steam ahead of the rest, the gap will become unreachable.

sam1884 (UK) - Posts: 999 - 23/02/2017 11:39:42    1959825

Replying To moc.dna:  "There are only three reasons for young lads going to the USA, 1/ emigrating to get work, 2/ students going on J1 visas to experience the States & what is seen as a right of passage & 3/ club players who go to work illegally, have the craic or are good enough to get paid for going out, all leaving because of the "closed Gaa summer season" for the Inter county players. Lads are sick of no games for two months in the Summer.. You stated that one of the reasons that club C'ship is called off or differed is due to all these club lads going to the States, that is a misnomer, the only reason club C'ship is put off is because of the various counties participation in the All Ireland series & your support for the Super 8 is only going to exacerbate this."
First of all it doesn't matter what I think, it'll have no bearing on the result

The point is those lads are going to go the States no matter what, the IC schedule has no impact on that and clubs aren't going to play their championship games without them. There were loads of counties who were eliminated long before September that still couldn't get their big games ran off before October is proof of that

The Super 8 system will have the season done by the end of August which is an improvement over what we have now, I personally think the Bank Holiday in August would be the optimal end date. I think tiered championships are the way forward for Football. Players all round the country give their all trying to win Intermediate and Junior County Titles, why the disdain at IC leveI can't understand.

KYTotalFootball (Kerry) - Posts: 280 - 23/02/2017 12:17:43    1959842

It was said on local radio that Mayo as well as other Connacht counties are backing the super 8 proposal, I am totally opposed to it but here would be an amendment to it, after the provincial finals we will have 12 teams, 4 provincial champs, 4 runners up, 4 qualifiers, now if the 4 provincial champs had a playoff game ie Munster v Ulster and Leinster v Connacht and the same with the 4 provincial runners up, then the winners progress to the super 8 so in theory you would have 2 provincial champs, 2 provincial runners up and 4 qualifiers. The reason for this is Mayo, Dublin, Kerry and Cork will easily be included every year in the super 8 either as provincial champs or runners up, if the provincials had to play a knockout game before the super 8 I bet you those 4 counties would vote against it. The plan is for money pure and simple, they see those 4 teams making it every year so actually there is only 4 places available and without a doubt Tyrone will be there, it does nothing for weaker counties

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 23/02/2017 12:20:57    1959843

I think it's nothing more than another red herring of a proposal, just some trivial shite to try and distract us from the real issues for another little while. The issues I'm referring to specifically are the poor treatment of club players and the poor championship structure which a lot of players want significantly changed.

Htaem (Meath) - Posts: 8657 - 23/02/2017 12:57:25    1959856

Do county boards have a say in this or is it simply the club delegates? I see mayo county board made a statement that they are backing it? Same in Tipp. Does that mean that by default all clubs in both countys will be backing it or can the club delegates decide to do what they like on the day?

unclegerry (Mayo) - Posts: 1222 - 23/02/2017 13:03:35    1959861

Replying To unclegerry:  "Do county boards have a say in this or is it simply the club delegates? I see mayo county board made a statement that they are backing it? Same in Tipp. Does that mean that by default all clubs in both countys will be backing it or can the club delegates decide to do what they like on the day?"
Read a report that in Limerick the football board simply recommended approval for all motions - it was accepted without any other questions or comments!

73forever (Limerick) - Posts: 89 - 23/02/2017 13:52:20    1959877

Replying To riverboys:  "It was said on local radio that Mayo as well as other Connacht counties are backing the super 8 proposal, I am totally opposed to it but here would be an amendment to it, after the provincial finals we will have 12 teams, 4 provincial champs, 4 runners up, 4 qualifiers, now if the 4 provincial champs had a playoff game ie Munster v Ulster and Leinster v Connacht and the same with the 4 provincial runners up, then the winners progress to the super 8 so in theory you would have 2 provincial champs, 2 provincial runners up and 4 qualifiers. The reason for this is Mayo, Dublin, Kerry and Cork will easily be included every year in the super 8 either as provincial champs or runners up, if the provincials had to play a knockout game before the super 8 I bet you those 4 counties would vote against it. The plan is for money pure and simple, they see those 4 teams making it every year so actually there is only 4 places available and without a doubt Tyrone will be there, it does nothing for weaker counties"
Yeah Cork and Mayo were very easilywinners or runners up last year.

Skelling (USA) - Posts: 289 - 23/02/2017 16:35:55    1959943

Westmeath reject Duffy plan tonight seemingly by big Margin

jobber (Westmeath) - Posts: 1459 - 23/02/2017 22:14:23    1960071

It's a good idea. It gives people more matches between the best team which is what people want to see.

Juts because it doesn't solve all of the GAA's problems doesn't mean it isn't a worthwhile idea.The GPA and CPA are being very childish about this.

uibhfhaili1986 (Offaly) - Posts: 1296 - 24/02/2017 05:41:51    1960105

This a champions-league type scenario that will be a boon to the the top county teams and and an absolute disaster for everyone else. It is a kick in the teeth to the majority of counties who have no hope of qualifying for the "super 8" or whatever the hell it will be called. It lets all club players know exactly where they stand - that the GAA does not give a s***e about them. This will ultimately lead to an elite professional competition for the top counties and the death of the GAA in the rest of the country.

Gaillimh_Abu (Galway) - Posts: 996 - 24/02/2017 09:04:08    1960134

Replying To Awwwwnow:  "Surely the system is for each club to vote within their own county firstly? So every county board should know by now what way they have be told to vote by the clubs? No?
Or do they congress delegates make up their own mind on the day and vote how they like?"
GAA "Democracy" is a misnomer as you point out each club has delegates and they vote for County boards to accept/reject motions/proposals at congress. Each county in turn sends county delegates/representatives to congress as do the provinces and also special units like the GPA and others. So as you can see a club member has little or no influence on the final outcome at congress. Delegates are free to vote whichever way they wish and even though say Mayo approves the motions - the county delegates are free to vote which ever way they see fit. And it is not a simple majority required it is 60% which is a lot. IMO they are just tinkering and tinkering and not really dealing with the issues at all.

arock (Dublin) - Posts: 4898 - 24/02/2017 09:46:13    1960144

Replying To uibhfhaili1986:  "It's a good idea. It gives people more matches between the best team which is what people want to see.

Juts because it doesn't solve all of the GAA's problems doesn't mean it isn't a worthwhile idea.The GPA and CPA are being very childish about this."
How is it a good idea.It will kill club football in these Counties.Take Mattie Donnelly as a prime example if Tyrone are in this super 8 he can not play for his club, a small club who depend on Donnelly for a few vital league games, he will be rulled out all summer.

This proposal is ill timed,when there is such a fuss about club fixtures can the GAA not look at a solution in an overall context that could offer a decent solution to club and County.

At the end of the day all the GAA is after is extra revenue from these games.But unfortunately quite a bit of this revenue is being ill-spent,the cost of running teams has gone crazy and will continue to rise if the money is available to spend, in effectively over training teams. In addition the money being spent on Pairc Ui Chaoimh and Casement certainly has no relevance in the development of gaelic games,these stadiums are being built mainly as concert venues or for the Rugby world cup.

Effectively the GAA is a grass roots organisation but unfortunately the top brass in the GAA are loosing their way.

ifindoubt (Donegal) - Posts: 133 - 24/02/2017 11:47:35    1960190

Just as a more general observation, does anyone else get the feeling that the GAA is really now reaching a serious crisis point in its history?

The club situation has been allowed to fester for years and it is now coming to a head with the emergence of the CPA. You get the sense that if something is not done to acknowledge the club player's plight, the nuclear option of a CPA conducted, nationwide club players strike looms into view.

There has been a constant cacophony for meaningful inter-county Championship restructuring over the past five years. Despite this any proposed initiative has been meet with fierce opposition. On the one hand the 'weaker' counties rejected last year's proposal for a two-tier system and though there seems to be more support for the newly proposed 'Super 8' format, this will, in practice, only further the division line between the top and bottom.
In fairness to the GAA, any prospect of Championship restructuring has to surmount the hugely divergent and vested interests of Provincial Councils and County Boards, Clubs and the Media.
The problem is significant: how do you structure a season which gives club players regular games, does the same for inter-county players, has enough high profile/high quality matches to ensure prominent media coverage, retains the provincial set-ups and at the same time ensures a level playing field.
It is a huge issue, but it is now coming to crisis point because Croke Park seems hell bent on forcing through their own plans and while (as in the case of the Super 8) they might have gotten County Boards and the Media on board, they have ignored the voices of club and county players.
There seems to be no appetite for Croke Park, the provincial councils, the GPA and CPA to sit down together and trash out a workable and long term solution. Yet we all know this is the only way the issue will ever be resolved.
If I could use an analogy from our recent history, the Peace Process floundered for several years because all parties were not included in the talks . Nothing meaningful could be done by just negotiating with the SDLP and the UUP. Eventually both Governments realised that unless SF and the DUP were brought in from the cold there could never be a lasting peace agreement.
Croke Park may not like the GPA or the CPA but they have to acknowledge their co-operation is essential if the restructuring issue is to be resolved.

The statement of the Tyrone players last night also raises the third major crisis issue; the spiraling expenditure on county set-ups, the huge sponsorship and funding disparities between the likes of Dublin and the rest and the ever increasing reality of professionalism or at least semi-professionalism.
It seems like we have already reached the point of no return. Akin to the statesmen of Europe who sleepwalked into the First World War in 1914, the GAA seems to be unaware that they are on the cusp of destroying one of their core ethos - amateurism.
The specter of professionalism will destroy what the GAA is.
I know in my heart it will mean the death of my own county's tradition in game, the Kerry's of this world will never be able to match the Dublin's or Cork's in a professional era, let alone how the likes of Roscommon, Clare etc can cope.

I don't know maybe I'm just being overly pessimistic, but I can't shake the feeling we are at a huge cross-road right now.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 24/02/2017 12:38:49    1960203

This whole issue of some counties in the top table and the rest not being able to catch up has been brewing for the past 50 or 60 years but had come to a head back in 2001 when the qualifiers were introduced, people were conned into believing that this would help weaker counties giving them more games, an odd team or 2 got more games but in the next few years they went nowhere, we all accept that it gives stronger counties a 2nd chance to win Sam, the imbalance should have been sorted out before the 2000s we had plenty of chances to do so at Congress but nothing was done, after the introduction of the qualifiers teams got more professional and outrageous money was and still is being spent by some counties and this has widened the gap between the elite counties and the average counties, the weaker counties haven't a hope, the counties have said they want to keep the provincial championships and if this is kept separate to the All Ireland championship it will destroy it so both have to work together, the GAA have to put a cap on spending and try to find a way to improve the championship while keeping the provincial championships, the super 8 won't do this, what I can see happening is Kerry, Cork, Mayo and Dublin putting out weak teams (fringe players) in the provincial champs while keeping the big guns for the super 8, it will make a mockery of the provincial championships, it's bad enough as it is

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 24/02/2017 13:35:04    1960220

Replying To witnof:  "Hold on. Louth, Westmeath and Leitrim have never been strong contenders no matter the format, and most likely never will. So lets stop blmaing the formats for their problems or lack of success.

No format will make a weaker county stronger.

Secondly the arguement that the proposed pool takes up extra Sundays and leaves club players twiddling their thumbs. I call BS on this. Every year 24 counties are finished in the championship by the time the Q-Finals start first weekend of August. YET they still cannot or will not run off their local county champtionships. They wait to September and October.

This is also, for me, why the CPA makes no sense. The problems are often within the counties, blaming the 'GAA' or 'Croke Park' is often an easy excuse."
Spot on witnof, The elephant in the room so to speak, the issue that nobody seems to be addressing in the Club v County debate is the inability of counties who are long out of the championship to run off their own internal championships in a timely manner.

lilywhite1 (Kildare) - Posts: 2991 - 24/02/2017 14:05:02    1960229