Which One Hurt The Most

Replying To yew_tree:  "Oddly enough it's not a final for me although last year hurt alot. Walking up the Ennis road out of the Gaelic Grounds after that reply in 2014 was the worst. Was like a funeral with thousands of Mayo fans walking up the road in silence. No doubt plenty of more to come."
2014 probably has to take it although neck and neck with 1996 final loss. I made the first match in Croker against kerry but I was back in England for the replay I had to leave the pub straight away after the final whistle not the usual craic after a loss drown sorrows and get on with life that day I could stay and listen to them go on about it so I left. The missus came home to find me sitting in the dark no lights no TV just sitting there sulking never had did the like before or since!

Spoddgy (Mayo) - Posts: 660 - 16/02/2017 13:16:27    1957419

Replying To janesboro:  "was at that -we beat wateford in the hurling semi in the 2nd match"
Ya that was a great game, I was hoping Waterford would go on an win the All-Ireland that year (nothing against Limerick, I just always thought Waterford were the best team I've seen never the win an All-Ireland and 07 seemed to be their great chance).

But Limerick totally ambushed them, Waterford were shell-shocked and every time they fought their way back into the game, Limerick went up the other end and stuck the ball in the net.

I was on the Hill and the Limerick fans were going mental. There was this young fella, he must only have been about 12, and he was running up an down the steps beating his bohran and screaming at the Limerick fans to keep shouting.
Twas like something from Braveheart with the highland clans reeving themselves up before they swarmed down to slaughter the English at Stirling Bridge!!

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 16/02/2017 13:41:01    1957426

Replying To TheHermit:  "That's called Karma for ye boys and yer cheering and ole ole-ing in the last 10 mins of the 2001 semi-final!!!"
How many All Irelands since and that bothers you?

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 16/02/2017 13:50:36    1957433

Replying To janesboro:  "For a total rock bottom feeling it was Limerick 08. Had thrown away a big lead to Wexford before that but still would expect Meath football to dispense of Limerick a hurling county. Absolutely hammered in a Round 1 qualifier. The absolute pits.

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts:362 - 16/02/2017 12:22:36 1957401

yeah remember that at one stage we lead 4-11 to 0-3 and ye got 4 goals to finish the game at 4-3,"
I never held it against your lot either and I'm usually a begrudging grump. Was disappointed not to see you push on and win a Munster after that or at least do Cork in that 2010 qualifier.

RoyalBadger (Meath) - Posts: 571 - 16/02/2017 13:52:11    1957435

Never as disappointed leaving Croke Park as i was last year losing to Mayo. Went down with so much hope and optimism of not just beating Mayo, but reaching an AI Final.

95' a close second, i was only a pup in 95 but i remember the feeling when Paddy Russell blew and gave a free out and robbed us of at least a replay.

TakeyourPoint. (Tyrone) - Posts: 133 - 16/02/2017 14:01:21    1957439

Replying To TheHermit:  "Ya that was a great game, I was hoping Waterford would go on an win the All-Ireland that year (nothing against Limerick, I just always thought Waterford were the best team I've seen never the win an All-Ireland and 07 seemed to be their great chance).

But Limerick totally ambushed them, Waterford were shell-shocked and every time they fought their way back into the game, Limerick went up the other end and stuck the ball in the net.

I was on the Hill and the Limerick fans were going mental. There was this young fella, he must only have been about 12, and he was running up an down the steps beating his bohran and screaming at the Limerick fans to keep shouting.
Twas like something from Braveheart with the highland clans reeving themselves up before they swarmed down to slaughter the English at Stirling Bridge!!"
Well described.. it's games like that one make supporting Limerick bearable!
cos to be honest its usually a horror story!..

but thats what makes the GAA great. u support where you're from..occasional highs and crushing lows!

skillet (Limerick) - Posts: 1066 - 16/02/2017 14:07:58    1957441

Ballymun a few years ago, although a number of them got their hands on a county Celtic cross a few months later

Also made that AI final win all the sweeter, but yeah Ballymun losing wasn't pleasant

jimbodub (Dublin) - Posts: 20601 - 16/02/2017 14:10:45    1957442

1993 Eamon Morrissey point to draw the match. Lost replay. That team was better than the team that won All-Ireland in 1996.
1991 when DJ took about 10 steps and scored a goal it hurt a lot, but I don't whinge about referees ;)

Pinkie (Wexford) - Posts: 4100 - 16/02/2017 14:17:59    1957443

We had never won a qualifier match and had never beaten our arch rivals Roscommon at home in the championship, 2003 round 2 qualifier two points up in the third maybe fourth minute of injury time and Roscommon scored a goal, game blown up after the kickout : Leitrim 1-11 Roscommon 2-9

Still waiting to beat them at home in championship too mind

leitrim4sam (Leitrim) - Posts: 645 - 16/02/2017 14:35:49    1957448

Plenty from the past but recently there has to be 2 and a bit, the bit was the announcement in 2014 drawn game when everybody was on Drumcondra Road that the replay wouldn't be in Croke Park but Limerick no disrespect to Limerick, the others are the replay v Kerry, refereeing ruined the game in my opinion the sending off that should have happened to the Kerry defender but didn't was a joke, the clash of heads of O'Shea and O'Connor didn't help, the other one was the 2015 replay v Dublin, Jim Gavin studied the drawn game carefully and got his match ups perfect and figured out how best to play Mayo must have been in bed sleeping for the week leading into the replay, got nothing right, it's an awful thing when people in the stands can spot problems early on yet the management don't either see it or ignore it. From the past 1996 replay v Meath, the 1998 defeat to Galway, 1999 to Cork, defeat to Fermanagh in Sligo in the qualifiers in early 2000s, this could take all day !

riverboys (Mayo) - Posts: 1389 - 16/02/2017 14:35:55    1957449

Replying To TheHermit:  "2008 All Ireland Final v Tyrone, I think that was still the toughest one to take overall.

In 2005, I always felt throughout the game that Tyrone were just that bit better than us on the day. However, in 2008 I really thought it was there to be won. We put ourselves in a great position and then at the start of the second half we gave away a really cheap goal which gave the Tyrone lads that bit of belief to mount a charge.
Still with 6-7 minutes to go the momentum had swung back towards us. Declan had a brilliant goal chance and if that rattled the net it was all over - but it just went inches to the left of the Hill 16 goal. In fairness to Tyrone they saw it out strong and our belief just seemed to wilt with that goal spurred.
I actually was looking through my match programme collection over Christmas and was looking at our line up that day, the starting half forward line was bare bones, so that cost us too.

I guess the result hurt most because there was all this lazy, cheap guff about Kerry not being able to beat Ulster teams back then. It was used so much by the 'hurlers on the ditch' brigade to denigrate the amazing achievements of a team that has and will go down as one of the greatest of them all IMO. That defeat of course just added fuel to that fire. In those few years we just always seemed to be on an upward curve when Tyrone were getting knocked out and when they were back in final then, we just seemed to have peaked and been on the way down.
I would have beat my life on Kerry beating them in 04/06/07 or 09 but we just never crossed paths.
Ah well sin e, its history now I suppose.

In fairness as miserable as I was that night, I ended up in Flannerys meeting a girl who would end up being my girlfriend for the next 3 years, so look I have to thank Brian Dooher and co for that at least!

2011 was almost as bad, not so much that it was Dublin just because we were in such control with 7-8 mins left, to an extent that the Dub fans around me where patting me on the shoulder and saying well done ye have us now.
F*ckin Kevin Mcmanamon and his 20 steps!!!! :D"
Yerra Yerra we all know 47 is the one that hurts you the most. The greatest All Ireland ever and yis were beat out the gate.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12122 - 16/02/2017 14:37:30    1957450

The one's that stand out for me would be Meath v Wexford in 2008 Leinster championship, Galway v Meath in the 2001 All-Ireland final, the hammering Offaly gave us in the 1997 Leinster Championship final and the worst of all was the 1998 Leinster final v Kildare.

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4122 - 16/02/2017 14:42:18    1957452

Replying To RoyalBadger:  "How many All Irelands since and that bothers you?"
It does because I was only still a young fella and it was only my 3rd time in Croke Park, I had got a new Kerry jersey for the game and had to endure the brave Meath fans jeering and laughing at us coming out.
If only ye knew then what hell Meath were on the cusp of, no one enjoyed the 2009 semi-final win more than me.
Karma's a B*tch ;D

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 16/02/2017 14:53:29    1957459

Mostly Ulster finals that hurt the most for me:

'89 replay v Tyrone, I was stupidly optimistic after the drawn game, outclassed on the day
'93 v Derry, a horrible wet day
'98 v Derry, Joe Brolly
'04 v Armagh, this one stung as they had a hold over us but we'd pushed them all the way the year previous in the AI semi final. Absolutely schooled on the day

And the last 3 final defeats have stung badly too, but especially Tyrone last year.

Plenty of other bad defeats over the years but obviously the 2014 All Ireland final stings as I really feel that team had 2 All-Irelands in them and we let Kerry out smart us, we were a bit flat and that's always disappointing when you walk away feeling like that.

Nothing really compares to the ones mentioned for me.

JoeSoap (Donegal) - Posts: 1432 - 16/02/2017 15:01:43    1957460

There are two that stick out and both were two game series.

1.) 2004 All Ireland semi final. Better side on both days but lack of natural forwards killed us on both days.
2.) 2008 Ulster Final. While the drawn game was an excellent game we should have won it. Had enough chances. The replay is a case of us beating ourselves. No free taker that day haunted us badly.

gotmilk (Fermanagh) - Posts: 4971 - 16/02/2017 15:01:46    1957461

Replying To Breffni39:  "Yerra Yerra we all know 47 is the one that hurts you the most. The greatest All Ireland ever and yis were beat out the gate."
The only thing that beat us that day was the referee, keeping the game a contest just for the Yanks when Kerry were threatening to be out of sight.

TheHermit (Kerry) - Posts: 6354 - 16/02/2017 15:10:43    1957464

Replying To TheHermit:  "The only thing that beat us that day was the referee, keeping the game a contest just for the Yanks when Kerry were threatening to be out of sight."
70 years later and you still can't take your beating. Weapons grade hurt there.

Breffni40 (Cavan) - Posts: 12122 - 16/02/2017 15:37:40    1957471

Here is my top three or is it bottom three that I have nominated:

3). v Carlow in the Leinster Championship in 2011. Louth had never lost a championship match to Carlow. They won the previous ten matches against the barrowsiders. They were winning by three points with five mins to go. Carlow kicked the last four points of the match to win a deserving one point game in Portlaoise.

2). v Meath in the Qualifiers in 2002. This was a lovely summers Sat evening throw in at navan. There was no health and safety back the. Over 22,000 people crammed in to the ground to watch this amazing match. Louth were winning by four points with time nearly up and the Royals scored two late goals. Meath were really the comeback kings back then. That's the last time Meath beat Louth in Navan.

1). v Meath in the Leinster Final in 2010. Enough said. Meath remind me of my first love. They have broken my heart on my occasions.

OLLIE (Louth) - Posts: 12224 - 16/02/2017 15:52:28    1957481

Replying To OLLIE:  "Here is my top three or is it bottom three that I have nominated:

3). v Carlow in the Leinster Championship in 2011. Louth had never lost a championship match to Carlow. They won the previous ten matches against the barrowsiders. They were winning by three points with five mins to go. Carlow kicked the last four points of the match to win a deserving one point game in Portlaoise.

2). v Meath in the Qualifiers in 2002. This was a lovely summers Sat evening throw in at navan. There was no health and safety back the. Over 22,000 people crammed in to the ground to watch this amazing match. Louth were winning by four points with time nearly up and the Royals scored two late goals. Meath were really the comeback kings back then. That's the last time Meath beat Louth in Navan.

1). v Meath in the Leinster Final in 2010. Enough said. Meath remind me of my first love. They have broken my heart on my occasions."
I always got the impression Meath are nearly your second favorite team. You always seem to talk very highly of Meath which I always found surprising, considering the rivalry (often bitter) between the two teams.

32_4_1 (Meath) - Posts: 4122 - 16/02/2017 16:13:37    1957492

2014 All Ireland Final V Kerry & 2016 Ulster Final V Tyrone.

These two hurt, not because we lost but because of the way we lost. If you lose having left everything on the field then there can be no complaints but in both these games , timidity & a lack of ambition cost us the big prize.

MuckrossHead (Donegal) - Posts: 5028 - 16/02/2017 16:17:08    1957497